We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in Guernsey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First stay in Guernsey”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A recently refurbished hotel with a strange fascination with leopards. It was a corporate booking so I had certain expectations and they were pretty much met. The decor was clean, fresh and interesting - if a little bizarre in places. Staff were friendly at reception, the bar and restaurant. Being January, I gave the outdoor pool a miss! Food and drink were reasonably priced given the quality of the hotel. Whilst the menu wasn't as extensive as some, the food was good value, well cooked and nicely presented. If I have a criticism of the hotel it's that a standard double was quite cramped, even though I was on my own. Not much space in the room and limited flat spaces / storage. I would certainly use it again though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickinstilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mickinstilton,

I would like to thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel for your recent stay in Guernsey. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you would consider returning next time you are on the island! I was very happy to share your kind comments about our nicely presented and delicious meals, attentive and friendly service with all of my team.

I have noted your comments about the size of the classic room you stayed in and will ask our Reservations team to make a note so that they can suggest a more spacious room for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel, which we hope will soon become your new home away from home in Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    157
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
445
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful hotel within easy walking distance (10 minutes downhill) of the harbour. Huge attention to detail in the public rooms and bedrooms. Lots of individual touches in the decor and presentation. Small but luxuriously appointed room - we had a view onto the road rather than opt for the more expensive sea view. Excellent breakfast with continental or full English whichever you prefer. Had afternoon tea as part of the deal - this appears to be a very popular treat for the locals and no wonder - multiple types of international teas and more cakes and scones etc than we could manage. Service in the restaurant was first class, though we didn't eat there at night. What really makes this hotel stand out is the friendliness and attention of the staff, without exception excellent and attentive and helpful. Will certainly return if here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Laticsdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to share your comments about our excellent breakfasts, delightful choice of teas and cakes for our afternoon tea and also the well- appointed bedrooms where every little detail ensures the utmost comfort of our guests with my team.

Most of all, I was pleased to read that in your opinion what singles the Duke of Richmond Hotel out of other local hotels is our great staff attentive, welcoming and friendly!

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island.



Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We returned to the Duke of Richmond over Xmas while visiting our family in Guernsey. This is a superbly run hotel in the Red Carnation chain. From the time we arrived we were welcomed as repeat guests. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. When we reached our room there were chocolates and a welcome letter.

We love sitting in the Leopard Bar in the early evening. The drinks menu, especially the martini list is very enticing. It is a wonderful place to relax at the end of a day and catch up on the newspapers while enjoying a drink

This time we were there on Xmas morning and the staff had left two Xmas stockings on our door, filled with little knick knacks and chocolates. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a large choice of freshly prepared dishes. The kippers were amazing. We had booked the Xmas lunch for our family and once again the staff worked really hard to make sure everyone had a great time. The Xmas meal was excellent and though it may seem a little expensive to some people the cost was comparable with most hotels for a festive Xmas dinner. Many of the staff worked 12 hours on Xmas day and they were still smiling and attentive at the end of their shifts.

We are very well travelled and have visited hotels all over the world, but I cannot think of another hotel that comes close to this one for its exceptional service.

With our family living in Guernsey we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BriKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear 1BriKat,

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Duke of Richmond hotel over the Christmas period. It was wonderful to read that you, having travelled a lot, ranked the service from our friendly and professional team so highly! Our staff were delighted to learn that you found them exceptionally helpful and welcoming; our breakfasts being of amazing quality and our Christmas lunch and festive dinners deliciously cooked!

Thank you for your great comments about the ambiance and cocktails of our Leopard Bar. It has indeed become one of the most popular spots in Guernsey to enjoy a variety of cocktails and drinks skilfully prepared by our expert mixologists!

It will give me and my team enormous pleasure to welcome you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to come over to Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

we spend three days in the island, and instead of the weather and the channel this lovely island envolved us with the best service ever! What a crew! they were attentive to any of our desires - definitely we were spoiled! wonderful bed; confortable room and amazing breakfast. We have to comment about the restaurant - excellent service

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Rodrigo_M,

It was a great pleasure to read this glowing review following your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond hotel and to learn that you had an exceptional stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very motivating for all our team and it is wonderful to read, that our well-appointed rooms, delicious breakfasts and comfortable beds have left such lasting and memorable impressions.

We remember you mentioning that Guernsey, has become one of your favourite places to visit and maybe to settle one day, so we very much hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel next time you are in Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

That an excellent night..... superb food, great band and excellent staff. Would recommend a visit just for the staff experience - they are so friendly and professional.

Also had an excellent weekend at this same hotel in August to celebrate my husband's 70th Birthday. Had a time to remember with personal waiter service for special meal on the balcony of our own suite. Food and service were excellent - we could not have asked for better. The staff even provided a card and birthday cake !!!!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the Alderney Suite for a special weekend. Private Balcony overlooking pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Shazcards,

It was a real pleasure reading this fabulous review following your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to share with my team that we succeeded in making your stay memorable with our personalised, friendly service, delicious food and fantastic band we had on New Year’s Eve! Your comments were especially valuable to us as you have chosen to visit us again after your husband’s anniversary stay in August.

We hope that we have become a real home-away from home for you in Guernsey and that we will be seeing you and your husband again very soon for another relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Visited over New Year to see a family member on the island so spent 3 nights in this hotel. I was impressed at every opportunity with the quality and service but in order to give you insight so you can decide if it's right for you I'll use 3 words to describe each aspect.

The Staff - genuine, warm and helpful
Decor and communal areas - plush, considered and tasteful
Service - high standards, well trained and conscientious
Rooms - luxurious, comfortable and spacious
Food - local, quality and cooked to high standards

I read another review that said this should be a 5 star hotel, having stopped in 5 star hotels I can just about see why its not, but it's certainly as close as you can get and good value.

2 final notes - 1. The beds are huge and very comfy and 2. You have to eat at Le Petit Bistro

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sam_W,

Thank you for taking time to post this thoughtful review following your recent stay with us. It was extremely motivating for our team to learn of how highly you rated our service, which you found genuine and attentive, and our food deliciously prepared.

I was glad to read that you were impressed with the hotel’s unique interiors, luxurious furnishings and comfortable bedrooms.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to the Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you are on the island.



Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was of the opinion that OGH was the best hotel on Guernsey but the Duke of Richmond" is a strong contender. Our "King Room" was sumptuous and they appear to have thought of everything. As with the OGH the standard of staff training is of the very highest leading me to feel that you could take the entire staff to London's finest hotels and they would fit the bill seamlessly. The staff went the extra mile on all fronts. We can't wait to go back which says it all I guess...

Room Tip: Our "King" room had good sea views as did many other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Terryamies,

Thank you for finding time to post this amazing review on TripAdvisor. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy the fabulous public areas of our hotel and elegant, well-appointed bedrooms where every tiny detail has been thought through for the ultimate comfort of our guests. I am delighted that your stay has left such a lasting impression on you and very pleased to add that our staff, who you complemented for their friendliness and efficiency were very pleased to read your comments!

We hope that next time you are on the island we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
643 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing