We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Duke of Richmond, Guernsey excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What can I say 4 of us stayed at the Duke of Richmond for 4 nights at the end of March 2014. Almost everything was superb decoration, staff, food only gripe the pool is not covered and therefore not in use, other than this I cannot fault the hotel from arrival to departure the hotel staff couldn't do enough. We had a look around on arrival and in the Restaurant was greeted by Orlando, he gave us a very informative and good humoured tour of the dining area, terrace and pool area. Can't fault the hotel décor, bedrooms and lounge area all excellent. Would stay here again.

Hotel is at the top of a hill but is only about a 15 minute walk from St Peter Port.

Just a couple of things about Guernsey it still has the old UK licensing laws and Oatlands Village is not how it is described on the glossy brochure very disappointing

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Bob N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. We were very pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed the unique décor of our hotel, well-appointed bedrooms and elegantly styled resident’s lounge and it will be my pleasure to pass your lovely comments on to the whole team and of course to Orlando.

I am sorry that you were unable to use the swimming pool during this stay but hope that you will return to visit us when it is open, between May and September.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just perfect, rooms were lovely, staff super friends especially the restaurant staff....... And the food was just lovely.

Great idea to give guests a drink voucher too, so after a hard day working away you could enjoy a quick pint!!!

I shall be back and will certainly look forward to returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gartree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Gartree,

I would like to thank you for posting these delightful comments on our TripAdvisor page. It is extremely rewarding for all of our team to know that everything from the comfortable rooms and delicious food to the friendly and helpful service creates a memorable and enjoyable experience for our guests. I was very happy to read that you liked the idea of complimentary drink vouchers for our corporate guests like yourself to help one to relax and unwind after a long day in the office!

We look forward to welcoming you to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time business or pleasure brings you back to our beautiful island!


Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the moment we walked into the door to the moment we left, the staff were amazing! So friendly and very helpful! Top marks!

The hotel was delightful. Quirky in a good way. We stayed in room 500 which was lovely and quiet too at the end of a corridor - always good for us!

The food was tasty and well presented, both at lunchtime and in the evening.

Loved reading the little booklet re the owner of hotel and why it is decorated as such. Interesting.

We will definitely be returning. A breath of fresh air to receive such service by highly trained staff!

Room Tip: Room 500 - end of a corridor and quiet with nobody stomping on your head!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmymarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Barmymarny,

Thank you for the kind comments you shared with other travellers on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your experience so much that you are thinking of coming back! My team and I were very pleased that you liked the quirkiness of the hotel décor and found the room allocated to you lovely and peaceful. It was also great to note that you read The Red Carnation Hotels story booklet and found it interesting.

I was happy that you had an opportunity to dine in The Leopard Restaurant and that you found our food delicious and well presented. It will be my great pleasure to complement our truly amazing team on the helpful and efficient service you have given us top marks for- they will be very happy to hear that!

We look forward to your next stay with us and if I can assist with any of the arrangements, please contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed for one night at this lovely friendly hotel. Amazing little touches that you just don't get in the larger chain hotels. Rooms really tastefully furnished and bed linen and towels gorgeous. Lovely helpful staff who cant do enough for you - early check in no problem and so much attention to detail. Only regret is that the stay was only one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear KeaneUK,

I would like to thank you for posting this amazing feedback following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found our rooms to be tastefully decorated and appreciated the high quality of bed linen and towels. It makes me very happy when guests like yourself, even after a brief stay, comment on the friendliness of our team, their attention to detail and their genuine desire to make our guests welcome and comfortable in our hotel.

I will be very pleased to pass on your kind to all of our staff, who are always very motivated by such fabulous reviews!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another, hopefully longer stay so you can enjoy all that Guernsey has to offer.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed four nights in this ugly-looking, but very comfortable hotel.

The service is pretty amazing, starting with emails and phone calls as soon as you book, wanting to know if there's anything they can do prior to your arrival. I asked if they could arrange for us to check in at 12 noon instead of the specified 2.30 - yes, they'd do their best. You want fresh fruit in your room? No problem - what sort of fruit? And they delivered on everything they promised.

Our room was a good size, with a view over the town to the sea. But it was hideous to look at - unless you have a passion for black and white flock wallpaper and black chandeliers. If restrained chic is the look you're after, avoid room 304.

Breakfasts were OK, but nothing to write home about - apart from the wonderful Guernsey butter. We didn't try eating there in the evenings. We preferred to try out the other restaurants in town.

When we were checking out we mentioned that we were sorry we'd missed visiting Victor Hugo's House. Well, you've still got time before your flight, said the staff at the desk, and promptly booked us a slot for an hour later (you can only go on pre-booked tours), and showed us exactly how to get there.

It's a pleasant 7 or 8 minute stroll down into the centre of St Peter Port, but a tiring 12-minute climb back up the hill.

But definitely the best thing about the Duke of Richmond are the friendly staff and the quality of service. It's just a shame that all their literature brags about it so much - it speaks for itself. And talking about their literature I was frankly fed up to the back teeth reading about the saintly Bea Tollman, owner and founder of the Red Carnation chain that owns the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in this clean, well maintained and excellently run hotel. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much bother. We arrived at 10am (well before the listed 2pm) check in and the girls on reception provided us coffee and croissants while our room was prepared. They sited us in a room near the lift as I had a plaster cast on my leg at the time. We always found a parking space although at busier times this may become an issue. It is situated at the top of the hill in the town BUT if you are happy to walk then this is not a problem.
Not a cheap option but well worth the expense. The bed linen was so nice my wife asked for it to be changed daily, which it duly was, as she loved the fresh sheets.
A very pleasant stay and if we return to Guernsey this would be our preferred hotel.
As a side issue if you want to visit all the island museums go between April and October as outside these times a number are closed to visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Ian_d,

Thank you for finding time to post this fabulous feedback on TripAdvisor. It is always wonderful to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and having read your review I was very pleased to share your kind comments with all of my team. They were delighted to hear that you found them very attentive and helpful, our rooms spotless with impeccably clean and fresh bedlinen.

We hope that next time you are on the island we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by the friendliness, warmth and professionalism of all of the staff, which started before we even got inside the hotel and continued for our whole stay.

The room was extremely clean and very comfortable and lacked for nothing. We thoroughly enjoyed our cocktails in the Leopard Bar and the food we had was outstanding. We'll remember the fabulous Chateaubriand for a long time.

Our thanks and appreciation go to all of the staff - thank you for giving us a very memorable time. It wasn’t just a stay; it was an experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Jon W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was great to read that your experience with us left such memorable and lasting impressions thanks to our friendly and professional team! I was delighted to share with my colleagues that you have given us top marks for outstanding meals and cocktails you have enjoyed in our Leopard Bar and Restaurant. It was also extremely motivating for our Housekeeping to hear that the comfort and impeccable cleanliness of the bedroom contributed to your wonderful experience in our hotel.

It will give me enormous pleasure to thank all of our hotel team for their friendly welcome and warm hospitality you felt whilst making your booking and throughout your stay and I am sure they will be thrilled that their efforts have been so appreciated.

We hope that now you have found your new home away from home in Guernsey we will have pleasure of welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you are on the island.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £106 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing