We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the Easter weekend. Rarely in a hotel are we treated as people, and this hotel is brilliant at. Customer Service is superb, as was Easter Sunday lunch. We will be back, and thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paulnpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear paulnpauline,

How wonderful to read your glowing review following your stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel over the Easter weekend. My team and I were delighted to learn that your experience has left so many warm memories and that you enjoyed Easter Sunday lunch with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond next time you decide to visit our island!

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is excellent. We came here 5 years ago and liked it, but the refurb and rejuvenation of services has made this an amazing place to stay, if old or young or with dogs. Rooms are beautifully decorated and bathrooms nice and new with great power showers. We also stayed here (instead of OGH), because of the park opposite which is lovely to walk dog first/last thing. Parking opposite is handy although only 4 spaces can be limiting. Main plus point though is the quality of staff, all brilliant and we felt really looked after. If pushed to pick one I would give top award to Carina in the dining room. One last comment (although won't give it away for others) was the surprise "notification" for the dog - probably the best touch of any hotel I have stayed in. Compared to lots of average hotels, this hotel stands out of the crowd and should be picked without hesitation. Thanks all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank BournemouthCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear BournemouthCowboy,

Thank you for this glowing review following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel that left you with such lovely memories! I was very pleased to read that you had stayed with us a while ago and came back to experience our Hotel after the amazing transformation it has undergone with Red Carnation. I was delighted that you found your room beautifully decorated and the bathroom of a high quality.

It is wonderful that not only you, but also your dog felt welcome and looked after throughout your stay. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by the greenery of Cambridge Park and Candie Gardens, which many of our guests with dogs appreciate so much.

It will be my pleasure to pass your “top service” award to Carina who truly deserves it, being so friendly and attentive and also to all our team for providing a brilliant service.

We would like to thank you once again for recommending The Duke of Richmond Hotel to other travellers and hope you will be staying with us once again very soon!



Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Duke of Richmond and loved it.

Was there for 4 nights in early April 2014. The staff was helpful from the moment I pulled up juggling 3 bags. My room couldn't have been better - beautifully decorated, beyond comfortable (sofa, easy chair, desk, breakfast table with 2 side chair which I rearranged to take advantage of the great view of the Channel in the distance).

Loved breakfast in Leopard Bar & Restaurant - good food, beautiful decor, great views, staff was friendly and accommodating - recognized me on the second morning and asked if I wanted a double latte. Went out of their way to make sure everything was to my liking.

A short stroll to the Harbor through beautiful gardens and charming streets. I'm a runner - ran to the Castle and Aquarium ... a nice loop.

Would have liked to spend more time and explore. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear John M,

I would like to thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding for all of our team to know that they helped to make your stay with us a memorable one.

We are indeed so lucky to live on such an idyllic island and we all love to ensure that our guests are able to share it with us. The next time you visit our Concierge team will be delighted to recommend places to see and visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel for another enjoyable and memorable stay!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have recently returned from a two night stay at the hotel and we can't rate the hotel highly enough. The rich splendor of the reception was an indication of the unique, luxurious decoration and attention to detail throughout the hotel. Our room was wonderful - extremely comfortable and very spacious, especially when compared to a London hotel. We were fortunate to have a balcony on which to enjoy the lovely view of the bay. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the hotel and the quality of the breakfast was excellent. Without exception all of the staff were extremely courteous and committed to ensuring that our short stay was very special. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Diana H,

Thank you for finding the time to post these delightful comments on TripAdvisor! It gave me the greatest pleasure to share your kind comments with our team who were delighted to learn how much you liked the hotel. They are truly our greatest asset and one of the reasons for our hotel’s success!

Thank you for complimenting us on the quality of breakfasts. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so we are very happy to offer a variety of healthy choices for our guests to choose from, whether they decide to opt for a Continental or full English breakfast.
We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I don't know what is required for a hotel to have 5 stars, but for me, staying at the Duke of Richmond was a five star experience. We stayed in a junior suite which was beautifully decorated and which had a very spacious terrace on which we could sit and relax. Everything was spotlessly clean and both bedding and towels were of a very high quality. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - this hotel clearly spends time on staff training - and both we and our two dogs felt very looked after. (Our dogs were presented with home made doggy treats and very plush beds which put ours at home to shame. Shortly after arrival we were given a specially made doggy door hang with a picture of our dogs, to indicate whether we were in or out of the room). There is some reserved parking outside the hotel and also parking controlled by a parking clock next to the hotel. We didn't have any particular problem parking but at very busy times, I think this could be a potentially problem, although the staff will do their best to help out. This is a truly fabulous hotel and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Chocolateloverlondon,

Thank you for the great feedback you shared with other travellers on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was wonderful to read that you felt you had received a five star service from our team, who were thrilled with your comments! Our team and I were delighted you found your Junior Suite comfortable and it also gave us the greatest pleasure to ensure your dogs were not left out and their bedding and treats were of the highest quality for their utmost enjoyment and comfort as well.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you all to our hotel next time you decide to have your holidays in Guernsey!


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the duke for four nights and it was a lovely experience. The room was gorgeous, breakfast delightful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the room didn't come with an iron, the bathroom was very small and felt a bit outdated, and on the day of my departure the staff were not as professional as expected. The overall experience was still very good though and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Petals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Petals88,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback following your recent stay with us at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted that you felt that you had a lovely experience and that you found your room comfortable, enjoyed breakfast and found our team friendly and helpful.

I was however very disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your bathroom. We have an ongoing maintenance programme and I will ensure that this bathroom is looked at as a matter of priority. We have irons and ironing boards available for our guests and I am sorry that it was not made clear to you that these could be requested at any time during your stay. I have asked our Reservations team to make a note on your guest profile to ensure that, should you return to stay with us again, we place these in your room prior to arrival.

I was also very concerned that you did not feel that the team were as professional as expected when you checked out. As a Red Carnation Hotel we place enormous importance on our staff training so it is all the more disappointing to hear that your last impression of the hotel was not a good one. Please rest assured that I will be discussing this with the whole team to ensure that the high standards of service that we pride ourselves on are maintained at all times.

Guest feedback, negative as well as positive, is very important to us as it is only through comments such as yours that we are able to ensure that our guests leave us having had a truly memorable experience. I hope that this will not put you off returning to The Duke of Richmond Hotel and I look forward to being welcome you back again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my first trip to Guernsey and the team at the Duke of Richmond made it memorable. The island itself is beautiful and the Duke of Richmond hotel is a gem. My room was tastefully decorated, in a traditional style, whilst the bathroom and the facilities were modern. I had the pleasure of dining twice at the restaurant and the food was delicious (in particular the cheesecake). Breakfast was lovely too but the thing that really stood out was the attentive service by the team there. Thank you Duke of Richmond, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Tony L,

Our team and I were delighted with your wonderful comments following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. It has made us all very happy to read that you were impressed with your elegantly decorated bedroom with its modern facilities and the attentive, friendly service offered by our team. Our chefs were very pleased that you enjoyed their delicious food and particularly the cheesecake, one of our best-selling desserts created by Mrs Bea Tollman, Founder and President of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for what we hope will be another memorable and relaxing experience!


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £131 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing