We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights over our 42 second wedding anniversary here and have to say we were very impressed. The food was excellent and the staff were fautless. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left the Island with wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DodgyDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear DodgyDrew,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback with other travellers following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. We were very happy to learn that you were very impressed with your experience at our hotel, which left wonderful memories of your 42nd wedding anniversary!

Our team and I were delighted you found our food excellent and the service faultless!

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you all to our hotel next time you decide to have a holiday in Guernsey!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are so many times that I fully intend to write a review after a good experience in a hotel and restaurant but never get around to it. On this occasion however the staff and overall stay were so exceptional I really do have to take the time to say what a wonderful time we all had on our recent stay. My wife and I decided to take advantage of the great weather and as previous visitors of Guernsey we decided to pop over with a couple of friends. All four of us could not have been more impressed with the amazing service from everyone in this beautiful hotel. We have stayed in other hotels on the island but this was by far the best. The room with its sea view and balcony overlooking the sea was amazing (well worth paying the little extra), the bar and restaurant were warm and welcoming. The food was amazing and the glass walls allowing you to see the chefs preparing the meals was a nice touch. The sunny terrace where we all enjoyed the most delicious afternoon tea was a real pleasure. A special mention to the lovely Carmen in the bar who 'makes the best mojitos in the world' (according to my wife). Many of the other guests were equally impressed by her cocktail making skills.She even took the time to give us all a spontaneous cocktail making class where we happily experimented with different drinks. I look forward to going back!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a sea room with balcony (third floor). Well worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Dermott D,

I would like to thank you for your amazing comments following stay with us earlier this season. I was thrilled to hear that you and your friends had a memorable weekend, having enjoyed your comfortable sea-view room, delicious food and expertly mixed cocktails. It was very motivating for all our team to learn that we have exceeded your expectations in all areas and that you would love to come back to stay with us again. I was delighted to hear that you loved friendly and attentive service from all our team and will be very excited to pass on your compliments to Carmen, who ensured you had a lovely time in the Leopard Bar, enjoying our cocktails and mixing your own!

I hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you all back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel the next time you decide to visit our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have just returned from spending four wonderful nights at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was such a warm welcome on arrival, and this continued throughout our stay. All the staff were friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was fantastic, with a view over St Peter Port. All the meals were excellent, and it was a real treat to be able to watch the chefs cooking..such professionalism under such pressure. Our anniversary was highlighted by the hotel with champagne and a delightful chocolate platter. Such a surprise, but most gratefully received. We felt very spoilt from start to finish, but I have to say this was thanks to all the staff who made us feel so welcome. Always referring to us by name, and always happy to help. The little things that make such a difference and make you want to return time and again! We have stayed in many hotels throughout the world, but this was certainly the most memorable for all the right reasons. Will definitely be trying some of the other hotels in the Red Carnation portfolio. Once again, many thanks for a fantastic time. I will certainly never forget my silver wedding anniversary.Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Angela P,

What a fantastic review and such lovely memories of your silver wedding anniversary at our hotel. It is always very motivating for our team to learn that their warm welcome, friendliness and delicious meals in the beautiful settings of the hotel created an unforgettable experience! It was also wonderful to read that you loved your room and enjoyed all the meals you had in The Leopard Restaurant and so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary Champagne and chocolates.


I sincerely hope that you will have an opportunity to try some of our sixteen sister Red Carnation Hotels in the UK and abroad and that we will be seeing you again next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!


Yours sincerely,



Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights over the weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. The room was clean and comfortable with a robe, slippers and complimentary toiletries, coffee and water. Breakfast was very good, and afternoon tea was delicious. Best of all were the staff - welcoming, friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherrieTrifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Sherrie Trifle,

I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor users following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. Our team were delighted to read that you found your room clean, comfortable and full of useful little touches, like plush robes, slippers and luxurious toiletries.

It was also great to learn you enjoyed our popular afternoon tea (thank you for posting a beautiful picture of it) and breakfasts.

Most of all, I was very pleased with your kind comments about the team, who love to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond next time you decide to visit our island!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I only stayed at this hotel for one night and by the end, I wished I was staying for longer. All of the staff were extremely friendly when we checked in and they provided complimentary iced tea at the desk.
Our room was fantastic. There were no faults. We stayed in room 410 and I would 100% recommend it. It had an amazing view of the town and it was so spacious.
Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, we had drinks at the leopard bar. All of the bar staff were so friendly and made great cocktails.
Breakfast was also amazing. There was a small buffet for cold dishes such as fruits and cereals. Then you were given a menu of all of the hot dishes provided.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone, even it is just for one night. Everyone is so welcoming and even the other guests are friendly. It is in a great location and I would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamgj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Hamgi123,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to share your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other TripAdvisor users. My team and I were delighted to hear that even such a brief stay left you with wonderful memories of our warm welcome and friendliness!

It is wonderful you had an opportunity to stay in our luxurious Penthouse suite, spacious and beautifully appointed, with panoramic views of St Peter Port.

I have passed your kind comments to our Bar team, whose cocktail making skills you enjoyed, and also to the Kitchen and Restaurant for their delicious breakfasts!

We would like to thank you once again for recommending The Duke of Richmond Hotel to other travellers and hope you will be staying with us again very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

2 nights in May - absolutely excellent. The staff were great, some really nice touches. When we went out for a morning run we came back to bottles of water and towels set out "for runners and walkers". Lovely room, breakfast very good, everything we needed laid on, everyone was very kind to us. Will go back.

Room Tip: Our friends in the Herm suite had an even better room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningManGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear RunningManGo,

I would like to thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding for our team to know that they succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

Attention to detail is very important to us and we are very happy to learn that our guests, like yourself, appreciate the little touches in our rooms and public areas. I was also delighted that you also enjoyed our breakfasts.

We hope that you will be coming over to Guernsey again very soon and next time may decide to try one of our Seaview Balcony rooms or Junior Suites to make the most of your stay!

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and honestly couldn't fault anything. One of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are amazing the food is superb. The rooms were equipped well and very comfortable. Will definitely return and recommend .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Debbie J,

Thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel for your recent stay and recommending us to other TripAdvisor followers.

How very motivating for all of our team to learn that we made you feel very welcome with our friendly and attentive service. It was wonderful that you found the food in The Leopard Restaurant superb and your room comfortable.

We would like to hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you and your friends to our hotel over this holiday season!

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £106 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing