We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cloughey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When we arrived the receptionist gave us a very warm welcome, she give us our room key and said that if we would like to upgrade we could do so. As we were visiting relatives they also accompanied us to our room which was first class but not big enough so we asked to look at other rooms, this was no problem as the young man who had brought are bags went off and returned with 3 room keys, he took us to the rooms and we decided to take room 212 which was big and well presented. During our 4 day stay the staff throughout the hotel were excellent nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed our breakfast with plenty to choose from (hot and Cold). We also invited our relatives back to the hotel for a evening meal the night before we were due to leave and everyone praised the staff. The menu had a full selection of food, Fish Steak etc- the Lamb and Lemon soul were fantastic. When we go back to Guernsey again we will defiantly stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the large park beside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback with other travellers following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. We were very happy to learn that you were very impressed with friendliness and warm welcome from our staff. I was also delighted to read that having seen some of our bedrooms you found them all first class and that the elegantly presented superior room you chose was spacious and comfortable.

It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the lamb and lemon sole you had in our Leopard Restaurant was very much enjoyed by you and your relatives. I was also delighted to commend our Restaurant team for their excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    152
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
110
428
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me, my wife and our 2 year old had a fantastic little break at this lovely hotel. We had a huge room with a king size bed, and they knew we were with a baby and provided a cotbed aswell. The food was excellent, our baby was very fussy at breakfast and sfaff offered different options of breakfast for our baby. A big Thank you to Nuria who was so attentive to our baby boy. We will stay there again if we visit Guernsey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Eacp,

We were delighted to receive this fabulous review following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I will be very happy to share with our team that you and your lovely baby son found our family rooms spacious and comfortable. Our chefs are always very pleased to hear that the food they thoughtfully prepared is of excellent quality and that breakfasts are appreciated even by our youngest guests!

I will be very happy to pass your kind comments to Nuria for her attentive and friendly service.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming your family to our hotel next time you decide to have a holiday on our beautiful island!


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The room, the attention to detail and the whole hotel was amazing, and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. And tea at the Old Government House Hotel, the other hotel of the Red Carnation Group is a must!

Room Tip: Junior suite with sun patio is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priordate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Priordate,

Thank you for your wonderful review which I was delighted to share with our team and am pleased that their attention to detail and friendly efficient service ensured that you had a memorable visit.

I am sure my colleagues at our sister hotel, the OGH, will be delighted with your lovely comments about their afternoon tea, which is indeed extremely popular amongst visitors and islanders alike!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights as a part of a tour.
The room was a reasonable size and was clean, tasteful and comfortable. It contained a large bed, two chairs and coffee table as well as two small desks.
The bathroom is a reasonable size and has a combined shower and bath.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
The hotel is in a reasonable location in St. Peters port and a short walk to Candie Gardens, the museum, Victoria Tower and not far from the Centre of town and the water front.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear TonyB,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to share your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other TripAdvisor users. My team and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel whilst touring the Channel Islands.

It is wonderful that you found your room clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. It was also very motivating for our team to learn that you enjoyed their pleasant and helpful service.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you for another memorable stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel or that may decide to choose some of our sister hotels in Europe, South Africa or Florida.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The first reason I chose was because I saw it's dog friendly and I wanted to visit it with my best friend Izo (small shihtzu dog).
Even before arriving the hotel, I could feel that our stay at The Duke of Richmond hotel is going to be one of those unique stays that we will probably remember for long time.
After booking we got email with our special request for the room and for my dog (bed, treats, food, bags, etc).
The ride from London to Weymouth was not easy (long!) and then ferry to Guernsey. The hotel is located few minutes by car from the ferry area..
When we entered the hotel the receptionist were very happy to see us (not fake ones as many other hotels) and within few seconds they remembered all our names (I was with my 2 friends and their dog as well).
They treated Izo (my dog) as he was one of the guests in the hotel (took picture of him and created door sign for him). And explained us about the hotel and the Island.
The room was very big, comfortable and got everything needed. Bed was so welcoming that I didn't want to leave it in the mornings.
Breakfast was divine and memorable and was tailored for everyone's taste (i would only add variety of cheese to make it Perfect).
During all stay the entire staff were very friendly (how do they manage to have so many happy employees?!) and we felt so welcomed there.
Outside of the hotel there's a big park (cambridge park) where I could walk with Izo in the morning.
On my titles I mentioned personalized because it felt that they thought of every little detail to make the stay very pleasant so we felt that we get amazing return for our money.
If you ever thinking of going to Guernsey, there's not doubt that your desicion should be The Duke Of Richmond Hotel which is now place on my top 5 worldwide hotels. (I wish i could duplicated this hotel and staff to a warmer place which was the only thing that was annoying on our stay- the weather).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ido8all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Ido8all,

Thank you for posting this amazing feedback on TripAdvisor! Needless to say, your best friend and one of our cutest four- legged guests has also made a great impression on our team and Izo’s pictures have taken a prominent place in our social media! We are always delighted that our guests and their pets enjoyed their stay with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful and peaceful place between Cambridge Park and Candie Gardens that makes us an ideal choice for guests with pets.

It was also wonderful to read that you loved your spacious, uniquely designed room with its comfortable mattresses and luxurious bedding. The chefs and restaurant staff were very pleased that you enjoyed our delicious breakfasts and your comments about offering a wider selection of cheese to complete our otherwise perfect buffet are very useful and will be happily taken on board. I was delighted that you appreciated attention in detail and friendly, unobtrusive service from our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First visit to Guernsey, disappointing weather and much messing with delayed ferry services etc etc. So - thank goodness for the Duke of Richmond Hotel! The staff, the accommodation, the food (in particular, breakfast to die for) - everything about the place was designed to give us a luxurious and relaxing stay. Don't be put off by the somewhat uninspiring frontage of the hotel; inside, where it matters, it is a delightful place to spend a few days. If ever we go back to Guernsey, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelshart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Yelshart,

I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor users following your recent stay with us. Our team were delighted to learn that despite disappointing weather you found a peaceful and happy retreat at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed our delicious food and comfortable and luxurious bedrooms.

Most of all, I was very pleased with your kind comments about the team, who love to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond next time you decide to visit our island!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

With friends, we planned an England trip around a wedding on the Channel Island of Guernsey. We had no idea where to stay, but the happy couple suggested the Duke of Richmond Hotel. After some research, we decided to go for it. What a wonderful choice! Sumptuous rooms and wonderful amenities (including breakfast) for a very reasonable price. Delightful food, a great bar and stunning pool. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. And the property is absolutely close to everything. Although it has a pretty primitive work out facility, they have a sister property with a wonderful spa and day privileges at a local gym, so it's all good. If you plan a trip to Guernsey, this is the place to stay. If you never thought about Guernsey, think about it. A truly stunning setting to relax, with charm, quiet times and an incredible history. I plan to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but if you go for an upgrade to a King room, you will be amazed at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear FoxChapelTom,

Thank you for finding the time to post these amazing comments on TripAdvisor! It gave me the greatest pleasure to share your kind comments with our team who were delighted to learn how much you liked the hotel and that you are planning to come back.

I was very pleased to read that you found our rooms sumptuous and comfortable and that you enjoyed the cosy and welcoming atmosphere in The Leopard bar. Our team and I were very happy with your comments about our delicious food, friendly, efficient service and the stunning setting of the hotel, conveniently located for those wishing to explore the island.

I was also very glad you had an opportunity to use the facilities of the spa of our sister hotel, The OGH.

We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing