We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Party of four of us stayed last week, in two superior rooms. The rooms were spacious, superbly decorated to a high class, beds as comfortable as you could wish for and truely King size. Decor throughtout the hotel was to a high standard and can be described as quirky. Service and staff were top notch, while not always a fan of dining in a hotel, the menu and food were superb.Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Shelia W,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. It is wonderful that you found our superior rooms very spacious, comfortable and superbly decorated and I was very pleased to read that you liked the high standard of our unique, quirky interiors and that you enjoyed dining in The Leopard Restaurant. It will be my pleasure to share your compliments about the excellent service they gave you with the whole team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel and hope your next stay will be as memorable as this one.


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Duke of Richmond over the Easter weekend on a getaway from London. We booked transport with the hotel directly which I would highly recommend anyone doing, it is very convenient and the best way to get an introduction to Guernsey on the way. The arrival was fantastic warm friendly and made us feel like old friends returning. We dined in the hotel on both night and I can assure you it is a fantastic experience not to be missed, Guernsey itself is a lovely island with some great walks and local shops to explore. The coastline is very rugged and the hotel Manager Lukas gave us a great recommendation for a fantastic walk and a great little hidden pub right on the coast. The room was amazing too filled with special Easter goodies as well, the view from the balcony was of the island which was brilliant to wake up to every morning

Do yourself a favour and have a drink in the bar too, it is quaint and beautifully decorated with an amazing cocktail and wine list, something that is not found everywhere on the island.

We will definitely be back, it was an amazing and relaxing experience which we both cant wait to repeat.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony its brillian to enjoy a coffee to start your day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Uktotheworld,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to share your experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel over Easter with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you received a very warm welcome from our team, which was a great introduction to a relaxing and enjoyable break in our beautiful island. I was delighted to share with my team that you felt comfortable in your Sea-view balcony room; enjoyed dining in The Leopard Restaurant and were impressed with the cocktails and wine available in the bar.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to escape the city!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went last Saturday with my daughter and grand-daughter for afternoon tea. It's been a long time since I've visited the hotel and what a lovely place.
Once seated in the airy and bright conservatory, we had ample time to choose which tea to order and the choice of teas (for a coffee drinker) was interesting. I choose the spiced apple, the others choose earl grey and fruity berry. It was a bonus to find that the teas were leaf and not any bagged varieties in sight! The waiter who brought the food explained what the sandwiches were and the nice selection of cakes plus scones, jam and clotted cream,. A very pleasant and relaxing afternoon, with perfect company. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the overall service was excellent.
I would definitely recommend a visit for the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank 62Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear 62Penny,

I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and for recommending us to other Trip Advisor users. We were thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with your family in The Leopard Restaurant and that you found it a pleasant and relaxing setting for all of you. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly and attentive service which I will be delighted to pass on to the team.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to our Leopard Restaurant for another enjoyable experience!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one week at The Duke of Richmond hotel.
The room that had been allocated to us was not really suitable for a stay of 7 days and, to be fair, the front of house manager, Jo, sorted things out very quickly and we moved to a bigger room.
Overall it is an excellent hotel with good, efficient and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and the several dinners that we had during our stay were also very good.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite an old building and therefore rooms do vary in size. Prior to making a booking, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrmulbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here on a tour of the Channel Islands in May. Hotel is beautifully appointed, service is attentive and personal and staff very obliging. Any request was dealt with effortlessly and efficiently. Being a part of the Red Carnation Group of hotels it fulfilled their high standards perfectly. Service and food in the restaurant and bar are great and the breakfasts were extensive and efficiently served. The walk from St Peter Port to the hotel up the hill through gardens offers lovely views over the harbour. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmondsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Richmondsontour,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to post your review following your group stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a great time in Guernsey and that your experience at our hotel exceeded all your expectations.

It is very encouraging for all our team to read such a fantastic feedback, and I know the team will be delighted to learn that they were able to ensure that you had a enjoyable stay. I was also very please to read that you enjoyed dining in The Leopard Bar and Restaurant.

We hope that next time you decide to visit Guernsey; we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel for another relaxing and enjoyable stay.



Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place to stay for a long weekend! Quirky, and the little touches like the jelly beans and homemade ice tea really make it stand out. Staff were helpful and attentive and the breakfast was lovely. We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjp222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Tjp222,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you found us to be a great hotel to spend a weekend. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the small touches, such as jelly beans and our iced tea and will be very pleased to pass your kind comments to all of our team.

Thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great service. Funky boutique hotel. Can't quite figure out what the decor is Lots of glass and chrome with some Leopard theme though out with the odd full coat of armor thrown in. Upgrade to the junior suites well worth the extra cost. Can't think of anything you would for want for within this price range. 3rd stay and will definatley be back.

It's a bit of a hike into town. great going as it's all down hill so just 10 minutes but prepared for some exercise to the climb back up. May not be good for those that are less energetic. Only reason I give it 4 stars vs 5.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Grahambda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Grahambda,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you enjoyed great service from our team and are planning to stay with us again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time business or leisure brings you back to Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
830 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £112 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing