We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ducal residence indeed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A ducal residence indeed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We chose the Duke of Richmond for a short break holiday to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. What a good choice it was! We had difficulties initially in finding the hotel - not the hotel's fault at all - due to Guernsey's almost complete failure to show any street names on walls or to provide signposts at junctions. About an hour after leaving the airport in our hire car (and the exchange of a few harsh words regarding map-reading!) we found the hotel, recognising it from the on-line photographs. Shelley in Reception did a good job in soothing our frustration and arranged an up-grade to a superior room for us. It was spacious and well-appointed with glorious views to the left of the harbour and of Sark. We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food and service so much that we returned again and again. We had the best mussels we have ever eaten, here - thanks to the chef who cooked them simply and to perfection. Breakfasts were huge, with a very wide choice, and the bacon in particular is worth sampling. Olga and her staff made everything special, and I hope the management know what a gem they have in their Maitre d'Hote.
Guernsey is a beautiful island. Flowers everywhere, hydrangeas as big as dinner plates, and local people who are more than willing to exchange a few words and offer welcome to tourists, make this a wonderful place to visit. We enjoyed the Guernsey Museum, and the Candie Gardens, the Occupation Museum and a visit to Bruce Russell Goldsmiths place near the airport , where the gardens are as beautiful as the jewellery.
Having started with a complaint about the lack of signage, and I do hope the Guernsey authorities will address this in the future, I will finish with a word of praise for them. Thank you for the FREE car-parking available all over the island, including the busy town-centre and sea-front car-parks.
If you are considering a trip to Guernsey, you could not do better than stay at the Duke of Richmond.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    148
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
109
417
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

At last finding time for this must do review. It was my wife’s idea to take our first visit to Guernsey at the end of May, initially we found it difficult to decide on a location etc and were not encouraged by some other hotel reviews then we came across The Duke of Richmond and never looked back. From ease of booking arrangements (Thanks to Shelley) and very good nights sleep from the word go to their last minute rescue at the port, having forgotten our travel documents as we were about to board the Condor Express home. We chose to book one of the superior rooms which was very comfortable and agree absolutely with other reviewers and other guests we met, that service here was always very pleasant. The breakfast menu had a great deal of choice and dinners, where both food presentation and taste were excellent, offered very good value – You just could not help dining at the hotel most nights. Location turned out to be just right also, with views over town and sea. On your doorstep is the Guernsey Museum and lovely Candie Gardens making the 10 minute walk to/from port and town a delight. It suited us to travel as foot passengers from Weymouth on this trip leaving our car in the care of Condor (£35 for 7+ days) which worked very well. Although we hired a car for 2 days we felt the buses were ideal for getting around, with all services starting from St Peter Port. Leave enough time for at least a day each in Herm and Sark where the tranquillity and views are stunning. Many thanks to all at The Duke of Richmond for making us feel so relaxed and at home. Best wishes from Pam & Rick

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyTravelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRAWLEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Anyone visiting the beautiful island of gurnsey the one hotel i would recommen is The duke of Richmond hotel.
Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel you will get in the Duke of Richmond hotel, from bar,resturant to room service .
Well done to managent and staff for making my stay so pleasant

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MANNY96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

For anyone thinking of visiting beautiful Guernsey in the Channel Islands, The Duke of Richmond Hotel is a must stay. We stayed in this Hotel a couple of years back and found it to be perfectly located, just a short strole from St. Peters Port. We found ourselves returning this May to visit friends and family and was amazed that this Hotel is still only 3 star and not 4 star deluxe which it truly deserves.

It offers guests an elegant yet stylish stay. The decor is subtle and the rooms are spacious for long stays.It offers extremely friendly and attentive service from staff and the food, especially the Breakfast is delicious, well presented and most definately great value for money.

Two names to remember when visiting this Hotel is the Head Waitress, Olga and the Bar Manager, Orlando. Better service than these two offers are truly hard to find, especially coming from a Globe Trotter like myself.

Hope you enjoy your stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel!

Johnny & Benita Da Silva

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnyandBenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monalahy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

We have just returned from a short break to Guernsey and stayed at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. What a fab place.Service and food were excellent and the rooms spacious and comfortable. great value for money.We have been to guernsey several times and love it there. First time at the duke of richmond but def not the last!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank MonalahyLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed here in April and had the most amazing time, the staff were the best they treated us like friends the minute we walked in the door and nothing was too much trouble, check in was quick and easy and the porter helped get us and the luggage up to the room quickly. The room was clean and modern but just a little bit small for the two of us the bed was very comfy but again a little bit small but this would be my own very small moan with this near perfect stay. We have already booked to go back and we can wait. Guernsey is a great place to visit and I would recommend this as a great weekend short break island.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulupurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Very happy to recommend this one. It is a good value establishment. The chef is superb providing wonderful food - presented as a work of art. Much cheaper for eating than most hotels. The staff, without exception treated us as valued guests and I cant wait to return.
A jazz festival coming up at the end of October and they are offering well priced package deals.
If you want to eat elsewhere other than the wonderful hotel, the staff are happy to suggest other places and to book for you and help with taxis etc.
Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gentlelady1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing