We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, clean, good location and very relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Peter Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean, good location and very relaxing”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

In late July and early August we stayed at Ilex Lodge for the third time in six years. We absolutely love coming back to the apartments and it feels like a home away from home. The apartments themselves are spotlessly clean, light and airy, the clean and tidy part being thanks to the friendly and helpful on-site housekeeper Carol (to whom special thanks. She never moaned at our requests for extra bin liners and the like and she always has a smile on her face!). The kitchen is very well equipped, with a good-sized fridge (with freezer compartment), a microwave and a dual oven. There was easily enough cutlery, plates, etc for a family of four. The bathroom is a good size, with separate shower and bath and the bedrooms are quite large with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The lounge/diner is also perfectly large enough for a family of four (and I heard the lounges are being extended over the winter). We never got under each other's feet! The TV has Sky Freesat, so plenty of channels and there's a DVD player. There's also free WiFi. Handily, there's also an iron and ironing board, a hairdryer, a small hoover and even an umbrella (not that we ever needed that)!
The apartments are also ideally located, off a quiet street with an hourly bus connection to St Peter Port (the harbour and main town). There's a small convenience store around 5 minutes' walk from the back of the apartment grounds (you have a key to the back gate) and it took me around 15 minutes to walk to the well-stocked Waitrose closer to the centre of town. We've never felt any need to hire a car, as the bus services across Guernsey are excellent and inexpensive.
There were a number of families with young children staying at the apartments while we were there, but there was really very little noise, considering that. It can get a bit raucous around the swimming pool, but that's to be expected with excitable younger children! The new swimming pool at the front of the apartments was excellent. It's heated and felt more like a warm bath, even on the fresher days and first thing in the morning. Our only observation was that there's no shallow end, as such (it's around 1.5 metres deep throughout), so our young son who's not too confident in the water needed a rubber ring, as he didn't like not being able to stand up without being submerged (!), but once he had that, he was in the pool every day too.
The gardens surrounding the apartments are very pleasant, with well-arranged flowers, shrubs and trees and plenty of picnic-style tables. It was a very relaxing end to the day, just sitting and reading in the gardens by the pool. Despite the apartments being full while we were there, there was never any difficulty finding somewhere to sit outside.
So all in all, I would recommend Ilex Lodge to anyone looking for a pleasant and relaxing holiday and an ideal base near St Peter Port for travelling around (I'd also recommend the short ferry trip to Herm Island). Shops are within walking distance and the bus into the town centre (the 51) leaves from the end of the path at the back of the apartment grounds. My wife and I and my children all consider it to be one of our best holidays and we will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Besniku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for making your third visit to Ilex Lodge and for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review. Great for other visitors wishing to stay with us. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Ilex Lodge apartments in July.

The apartments are in a small residential street, about 20 minutes walk from the centre of St Peter Port or half an hour to the Castle (Well, that's how long it took me).

We found the apartment we had ideal for the 3 of us (my wife and I and out 17 year old son) for our week's stay.

It's not huge, especially the lounge, but it was clean, smart and comfortable.

Carol, the housekeeper, was really friendly and helpful and the presence of a bath warm swimming pool was a big bonus (One day my wife and I went to Sark and my son stayed and lounged around the pool), we swam most days for a while at least.

There's a Waitrose about 10 minutes drive away (probably 30 minutes walk, but who wants to walk carrying shopping?) and a rather sparsely stocked 'convenience' store about 15 minutes away.

There's reserved parking for one car per apartment, but when we stayed (out of School holidays, admittedly) there were always free spaces.

The other guests were mostly quiet with a mix of couples and families, but I guess that's the luck of the draw, like anywhere.

There's a huge washing line to dry stuff off (including my dive gear!) which is handy too. We only had breakfast and the odd sandwich in the apartment, eating out most of the time, but there was a good cooker and sufficient, it seemed, stuff to keep a basic meal if you wanted to.

We had a lovely week in Guernsey and a good part of that was the convenience and relaxed comfort of the Ilex Lodge apartment.

If I had to find faults, the lounge was rather small, with the TV behind the front door (too low down for comfort) and the shower was disappointingly low in pressure (But I spent a fortune having a really high pressure shower at home, so many will find it fine, I suspect - There was always plenty of hot water).

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, get a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Ilex Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ilex Lodge and took advantage of the heated swimming pool. We agree with your comments regarding the size of the lounge and TV and you will be pleased to know that over this winter six of the apartments will be extended to give a larger lounge/dining area and to add an ensuite shower room to one of the bedrooms. If you want to see what they will look like we carried out the same work at Del Mar Court over last winter and images and floor plans can be viewed on our website. Hoping you can return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The apartments were very clean and well equipped. The pool was clean and water warm. The garden area was a pleasant place to relax. The only drawback was the location for guests without transport as there is only one bus an hour to and from town centre and it is a good 20 minute walk. Otherwise, could not fault the accommodation, facilities and ease of booking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guernseyjuly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. What a shame there was a road closed so the nearest bus stop was further away than usual. Normally the buses stop at the end of the drive by the back gate - only a minutes walk from the apartments - buses stop every 30 mins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were very lucky to have a week of sunny weather during our stay at Ilex Lodge. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the freesias and cake very welcome when we arrived. There was only 2 of us in a 2 bed apartment so ample space, the living area may be a bit cramped for 4 people but as it is probably only used as a base this shouldn't be a problem. The kitchen was well equipped compared to many places that we have stayed in. The bedroom was spacious. I found the bed a little hard, but having said that - I slept really well! The outside of the accommodation reminded a little of holiday camps I went to as a child, but was enhanced by the truly beautiful flowers and shrubs. The flowerpot by our front door was very colourful and full of flowers.
The outdoor pool was lovely & warm and we always ended up having it to ourselves, even though there were lots of other people staying. Carol was helpful and the cabin full of leaflets and brochures meant we needn't have bothered with the Tourist Office!
We decided not to hire a car, so tried to get fit with the walk into St Peter Port (and Waitrose) - little steep in places but we knew that beforehand. Our first visit to Guernsey - we used the buses and "Tasty Walks" brochure to explore the island, Sark and Herm and it was all so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Guernsey and your stay at Ilex Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to review and your comments. Over this winter six of the ten apartments will be extended to give a larger living area plus the addition of an ensuite shower room to one of the bedrooms and changing the facade of the building giving more spacious accommodation for family groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is our second visit to Ilex Lodge and we enjoyed it even better than the first time, if that is possible. We received a very warm welcome from Carol ,the housekeeper, who was really kind and helpful throughout our stay. The new swimming pool has really enhanced the complex and as the weather was very sunny for most of our week, we were able to take full advantage of this. The surroundings are very pleasant with a well tended lawn and colourful plants dotted around. The apartments are really homely and kitchen suitably equipped. If you love Guernsey, as we do, this is an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: There are two levels to apartment access, obviously those with mobility problems should opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
So delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again and thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Basic accommodation, but a good size, with all the necessities provided, and spotlessly clean. Cots and booster seats were provided, and the kids loved the warm pool. Walkable to town, and with a car was a perfect place to base ourselves. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restrelaxdrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I hope you are able to stay with us again in the future. Over this winter we will be extending apartments 1 to 6 giving them a larger living room and an ensuite shower room. The same work last year at Del Mar Court gave the apartments a Gold Award and so we hope the same for Ilex Lodge. Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our apartment was spotless and very well equipped; and the beds were very comfortable. Outside the swimming pool was lovely, with a nice surrounding area. Being in blocks of up and down apartments there was a potential for noise, but we heard very little. The small local shop is an 8 min.walk via the rear exit, and the bus stop and pub are less than 5 mins. However GREAT CARE is needed when using this way out, as the alley ends in a blind exit onto a very busy road with no path. The only downside was that the nearby pub (La Couture) was ' spartan ' and didn't do any meals, so there was nowhere to go for a comfortable drink or meal within easy walking distance. Each apartment has allocated parking so for car users it is a good base, but car parking is not easy in St. Peter Port, so bus or walking is probably the best option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank droob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMarCourt, Owner at Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments

Property: Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments
Address: Ilex Lodge Maurepas Road, St Peter Port GY1 2DS
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilex Lodge 4 Star apartments provide you with all you need for a quiet break or family holiday. To the south, which receives the sun from early until late, is the sunbathing terrace where the new heated swimming pool is located and lawn with sunbeds and picnic tables and BBQ area (for disposable bbq use). To the rear of the apartments is a large grassed area with a children's play area. Each apartment has a lounge/diner with LCD TV & DVD, 2 bedrooms with oak furniture giving 1 x twin bedroom and 1 x double with kingsize 5' bed (152cm), family bathrooms with bath and separate shower and fully equipped kitchens. (New for 2015 - some apartments will be extended to include ensuite shower room to the double bedroom plus larger living area) Ilex Lodge is situated in the Parish of St. Peter Port, inland from the busy town centre and harbour area. Tucked away behind residential properties in its own grounds it gives a peaceful and tranquil setting for your holiday. Ilex is surrounded on three sides by lawns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ilex Lodge Self Catering Apartments Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing