We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing - a taste of bygone days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing - a taste of bygone days!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We were a group of 5 ladies and arrived on the weekend of the Guernsey first Literary Festival. Such a treat for us as we planned our trip as a result of the famous Potato Peel Pie book that wehad read in our book club. The book inspired our trip to the Island. The hotel was busy on our arrival but we were welcomed warmly and given a super tour of the hotel and introduced to our rooms. We did have a few initial problems in that our beds were made up as doubles rather than twins, but this was very efficiently and quickly sorted by the staff. The food was excellent. The service was also very discrete and also excellent. We were really looked after and our lovely waiter even organised for us to have our books signed by the author who was speaking in the hotel during our stay. Pool and spa were beautiful. It felt like good old fashioned service. Tea in the lounge was served on beautiful Wedgewood china. Drinks were served by the glorious pool. The room was spotless, beds comfortable and imaculate bed linen was very much appreciated from some very discerning Surrey ladies!! Nothing was too much trouble and Olaf was totally charming. We will definitely return, probably bringing our other halfs next time! Thank you for a wonderful weekend and for your lovely island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 120 - great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Kingies4, Thank you so much for your kind review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist with the book signing. The team will be delighted to hear your comments and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Guernsey and the OGH very soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    126
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
137
615
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is an excellent hotel in every way. The staff were friendly and polite and did everything they could to enhance our stay. The hotel was quiet (no awful, noisy, late functions that some hotels provide) and the room was comfortable, individual and 'homely' , while the dining room was spacious and quiet (no vacuous 'music'). Food was of a high standard with plenty of variety and room service was fast and efficient. The total warmth and friendliness of the hotel is a rarity these days and we congratulate the quality of management. We love Guernsey and we will be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Horace16, I was delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the OGH. It is always a pleasure for me to be able to share comments such as these with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that your stay was enhanced by the level of service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the OGH in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at this charming hotel, having moved out of another on the Island that we did not like. What a gem it is, the service in particular in the restaurants was fantastic and the food delicious, best crab we have ever eaten!
The main restaurant was full both nights and the food and beverage manager offered plenty of alternatives.Luckily for us he called us whilst we were outshopping and advised he had managed to squeeze us in. As i said the food and service was phenominal. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated.
We will deffinately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book the restaurant early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear tan066, Thank you for your kind review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend the OGH to others. It will give me great pleasure to share your kind comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were looking for some where to spend Christmas, which was very traditional, and the OGH lived up to and even exceeded expectations. We booked into a room with a balcony and it was very spacious and comfortable. The staff at the OGH were welcoming and made our stay most enjoyable. Christmas Eve we were greeted with a glass of mulled wine and we had carol singing in the lounge area which had a log fire

Christmas morning we were greeted with a stocking full of presents hanging on our door, which was a lovely surprise The leisure facitlies were excellent, we had a very relaxing time in the spa, preparing ourselves for a wonderful 4 course Christmas Dinner.

We would thoroughlly recommend this wonderful hotel and are looking forward to our next trip which is booked for June.

Special thanks go to Andrew (General Manager) and Harry (Guest Services Director) for welcoming us to your wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolsterstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Bolsterstone, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas celebrations with us and that the team lived up to and indeed exceeded your expectations. We are all very much looking forward to seeing you again next week.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

From the moment we arrived at the OGH we felt as though we were staying with really good friends. We have travelled all over the world and this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff are so friendly and efficient and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Unfortunately, the first room we were shown had a restricted view. As soon as this was mentioned to the reception staff we were dealt with politely & efficiently and shown to a suite (we then negotiated on the price). The room was spacious with a stunning view and a balcolny large enough to host a drinks do for a friends birthday. The staff provided us with champagne buckets and glasses and plates for the nibbles, all with charm and efficiency. We ate in the hotel on three occasions. The food is delicious with the entertainment provided by a great singer/organ player. Tea & cakes can be served by the very sheltered pool area which is kept beautifully. Valet parking just added to our overall excellent experience. Also Guernsey is a beautiful place to visit - when you do - just stay at the OGH & you will have a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear veterantravellers, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you found our staff and service so friendly and efficient and the food delicious. My team will be delighted to hear that their efforts to provide exceptional guest service were appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Guernsey and the OGH in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at the OGH last July for our 20th wedding anniversary. We had an excellent time in all respects and promised ourselves to write a review but like so many things, it slipped us by until we were reminded by the fact that we are going back in two months time..... It's a measure of how much we enjoyed ourselves that we are returning this July for our 21st anniversary. The thing that stood out for us more than anything last time (and the time before) was the quality of service from every single member of staff - and how friendly and kind they were to our six-year-old daughter - which really made a big difference to our stay. We'd also highly recommend the tasting menu in the Governer's restaurant - a memorable meal for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear GordonandJane, I was delighted to read your review and so pleased that your stay with us for such a special occasion was a memorable one. I will be sharing your kind comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in July.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Nice hotel, great location, staff friendly. Annoyingly we arrived early and were unable to check in, the receptionist said we would have to wait for our roo , unless we wanted to pay for an upgrade and could then check into a room now! What a con, obviously the way the hotel makes profit but trying this with guests! When checked into the room, it was ting, the smallest hotel room, I have eve stayed in. Great view ove the pool but room tiny and could not walk properly around the bed without walking into the wall. The tv on the wall was hanging off the bracket and had to be fixed a could have easily fallen off and injured us, sadly the hotel were not concerned by health and safety and di not offe us another room t move too. Tv was fixed the following day as promised by a helpful and polite. Restaurant staff helpful and polite with my food allergies. Although no chance of a romantic night in the restaurant as although there was only 2 other tables occupied, we got stuck righ on top on them and could hear the conversations word for ward, hardly romantic at all and very unnecessary as the restaurant was empt. Spa staff helpful, I had a shellac treatment which went wrong and they corrected it no problem at all and were lovely. Would def recommend the spa but not the hotel, fo the price of the rooms, they are far too small and not worth it,

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank n4pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear n4pla, I was very disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay with us and, whilst I have raised these with our team, I would be pleased to have the opportunity of discussing these issues with you personally. We appreciate your feedback since it is only through hearing about the areas where we fail to meet the expectations of our guests that we can take whatever action may be necessary to address the issues raised.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing