We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special birthday treat - well worth the extravagance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Special birthday treat - well worth the extravagance”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

On a whim we visited Guernsey for 1 night for my boyfriend's birthday and booked a room in this fabulous hotel just that afternoon. We never normally stay at such expensive and exclusive hotels but as it has had such good reviews and been top of the Tripadvisor list for so long, we decided to give it a go for this special occasion.
And we were so glad we did as we agree with all the positive remarks. Our room - 321 - was apparently newly refrbished which was reflected in the price but it was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable we had a great nights sleep. The service from the staff was impeccable and they couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was fine and the common rooms tastefully decorated but we didn't have time to enjoy them.
I would highly recommend you try this hotel - even if its only once like us!
Thanks again to them for a memorable night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinexxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear CarolinexxW,
I was delighted to read the review of your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with my team who, I know will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I hope that we may welcome you both back to the OGH in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    127
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
138
620
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This was our first visit to the island and It feels churlish to offer any criticism of this hotel in view of the almost endless accolades given by previous reviewers. We would agree with almost all of them regarding the attentiveness of the staff and the general ambience of the hotel. I assume these previous reviewers did not book a standard double room. We however did and although we read the review of Bob1949 from November 2010 we thought he possibly might have exaggerated. Wrong! The hotel has a small corridor of rooms that are narrow, cramped and dark. Concierge staff took us and our suitcases to our room and three in the room with suitcase was some what overcrowded. When he offered to put the suitcase on the stand provided we burst into laughter. We stayed four nights and were stir crazy by the time we checked out.
The TV signal was also out of order for the length of our stay -not a huge problem to us but it would have been nice to watch the weather forecast.
The Olive Garden is a lovely room for breakfast with excellent service from the staff. I couldn't understand why when offering a menu service that many items were pre cooked and kept warm so were delivered dry and overcooked. Black pudding biscuit is not what one expects and Eggs Benedict with solid yolks and Hollandaise Sauce with a crust lessens the experience.
Our stay was therefore full of conflicts. We loved the genteel and attentive ambience together with the comfortable feel of the public rooms. We detested our room. Our very strong view is that a standard room at £153 a night is extremely poor value for money. If you want to stay here for either business or leisure you must book a better room and take the hit on price and make a judgement on value for money. We investigated alternatives for when we return for our second visit to Guernsey in September and there are several.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ALG027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear ALG027,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you found our staff to be attentive and the ambience pleasant but was however disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with the size of your room and . Due to the nature and age of the property we do have a number of smaller rooms but we have made a note on your guest profile and sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back to the OGH again. Thank you also for your comments regarding our breakfast offering which we have discussed with our kitchen team.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuddenham Ipswich Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

A great location and always a delightful reception by all the " OGH Team" Rebooked as soon as we arrived home.A litter free and courteous Guernsey makes such a difference.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey5234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear harvey5234,
Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay at the OGH. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Guernsey and The OGH later in the year.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

What a wonderful hotel for our first visit to the island. We were made extremely welcome by all, and the facilities, service, & especially the food were first class.A thoroughly enjoyable stay with a thoroughly enjoyable island.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregjmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Gregjmason, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay at the OGH. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Guernsey and that you found the staff, service and food first class. I know that my team will be pleased to hear that their efforts to provide an exception experience have been appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the OGH in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

From the moment we were collected by the Hotel car at the dock to being dropped off by the same means two days later at the airport this Hotel was a delightful experience.

Located in the centre of St Peter Port but at the top of a short hill the Panoramic views from the Seaview Bedrooms are absolutely exceptional and well worth the higher rate.

The room we stayed in (220) was a picture with a mixture of gold & white furniture & fittings plus a chandelier for good measure. My only minor negative was that the 2 bedside chairs could do with a little cosmetic repair but this most definitely did not affect our stay.

Try "Govenors" the small Fine Dining Restaurant (seats less than 20 so intimate); the 7 course dinner is an option but don't be fooled; it is so well balanced it should suit most diners as will the wine selection.

A leisurely Breakfast in the Brasserie is also a pleasure and the attentive & efficient staff add to the overall pleasant ambiance of the dining room.

The outside pool even when windy is well protected by hedging and is a very pleasant sun trap.

We are only sorry that our stay was just 2 nights but we will return and I commend the standards of service that Red Carnation Hotels have obviously instilled in the staff .

So if you like hotels in classic style, some history & a feeling of personal service that makes everybody feel special then "OGH" as it is affectionately called locally is for you.

Room Tip: Higher the better for good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Adamatt, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay with us at the OGH. I am delighed to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit to Guernsey and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Guernsey and the OGH for a longer visit in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I had been told by a number of people that this was Guernsey's premier hotel. That may be so, but it certainly did not apply in my case.

My room was very disappointing for the astronomical price paid for it. The views were likewise underwhelming: a small window overlooking the car park.

Generally, the hotel itself was fine. It is a grand old building with very classy common parts and the food, while expensive, was very good. However, the fact is that hotels like this have to realise that there is a discrepancy in the quality of the rooms they provide and they should not be charging full prices for the low quality rooms.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear TommyLip, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am pleased that you found the food to be good and the public areas to be comfortable but was very sorry to hear that you were disapointed with your room. I do hope that, should you decide to return to Guernsey, you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and I would be pleased to make the necessary arrangements for you.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My husband and I had just one night staying at the OGH. We had a very relaxing 24 hours and wish it could have been longer. The staff were all very attentive and pleasant. The bed linen was luxury - 200 thread count Egyptian Cotton.
We had an excellent 3 course meal in the Brasserie and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha2011488314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Samantha2011488314, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that we were able to ensure that your brief stay with us was a relaxing one. I will be pleased to share your comments with my team and look forward to welcoming you back to the OGH in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Chantrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing