We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OGH Guernsey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OGH Guernsey”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A fantastic week at the OGH. Accommodation, food, service, location all absolutely superb. Room was kept beautifully clean throughout. Cannot find fault in any way.

Room Tip: We went for a sea view which was lovely, but I suspect all roooms are immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    128
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
138
623
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Easily the best meal was at the brasserie at the OGH. The service was impeccable, the food beautiful and the place itself gave a further taste of luxury. This is the second year we have been to Guernsey for the Tennerfest, so have sampled a good range of restaurants, hotels etc with the OGH very much standing out. We would be tempted to eat there every time - defeating the object of the exercise! The staff clearly realised they were part of a great experience and had the confidence to be relaxed and friendly, while ensuring everything was done in exactly the right way - a great balance. The place itself perfectly combined comfort with luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGF458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We are a couple who found romance later in life and recently spent our honeymoon at the OGH. Many friends had told us that this would be a hotel to remember but the reality exceeded all expectations.From the moment that we arrived at the OGH the staff made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Their "can do" attitude made such a welcome change from the indifference that is now so common in the service industry. Once you enter the reception area you travel back into a timelessly elegant setting and the dream really starts from there. The dining rooms are beautifully decorated and the views of the nearby islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark are stunning. We travel a lot and the breakfasts matched the best that we've had anywhere and with a far better choice. With its history and impressive decor the OGH could be a bit intimidating but the staff run the establishment with such panache and have such a sense of fun that you immediately feel part of a club and very much at home. The location is ideal for exploring St Peter's Port and the car parking system works well. We will be going back for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

OGH is something of a Guernsey institution and has a slightly colonial air to it. This is not a cutting-edge boutique hotel but apparently doesn't aim to be so; instead, it revels in its history and traditions. A set of sherry glasses and a decanter by the front door on arrival (help yourself!) was a nice touch. Staff were unpretentious and very friendly and the public areas well furnished in traditional style.

My double bedroom had been recently refurbished in creams and taupes with heavy drapes and cloth wallpaper; it had a luxurious feel. The room was, however, L-shaped and quite small and I suspect that a couple staying there would feel a little cramped.

There is a small terrace and pretty garden which, on a sunny day, would be a lovely place to eat breakfast or afternoon tea. Unfortunately, it rained on my visit but the views across St Peter Port were still lovely. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catananche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at The OGH Hotel and we did not want to leave. From the time you arrive you are treated like royalty. Nothing is to much trouble. The restaurants wonderful and the food fantastic. The staff friendly and just wonderful. This is a lovely hotel and we cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtraspesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We are a slightly elderly couple taking a break from a trip in France. Took the fast ferry over from St.Malo and checked in for one night. Staff super without being intrusive. Obvious focus on what the guest wants/needs. Room wonderful, well worth the extra cost for a harbor view. Best internet/wifi connection in weeks. Afternoon tea a delight. Overall the OGHH is at the high end of the cost curve for Guernsey but well worth it! Way better in every dimension than a highly recommended Relais Chateau we stayed in in Normandy for twice the price!

Room Tip: We found the view overlooking the harbour well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

On arrival I gave reception my shoes to be polished. This was not a problem and they arrived in my room in an excellent condition.

The hotel has a great gym with up to date machines.

Room services breakfast was perfect.

Room 219 over looks the pool and sea, but bathroom could do with s refurb. Better shower please.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing