We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel shame about the spa.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Nice stay, friendly staff. Spa was very difficult to book for paying guests in favour of day visitors. A bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Learmonthwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    128
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
138
623
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio suite over Easter weekend. We could not fault the room at all - it was excellent... well appointed, large and very comfortable. The bathroom was similarly excellent. I understand that some have sea views but we were perfectly happy in ours without. Dinner in the restaurant is always a treat with a varied and tasty menu. Afternoon tea is the sitting room is also worth having at least once during the stay. The hotel is centrally located in the middle of town, with sufficient parking. The only downside is that there is no indoor pool and the spa area is a little small, with no windows. But there are two jacuzzis, a sauna and steam room, which is all one really needs for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the studio suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was a special long weekend break for my wife’s birthday and simply could not have been bettered by the staff and facilities at this superb hotel. Beautifully furnished and decorated with excellent dining - I could not fault it. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered and were just there when needed without ever being obtrusive.
For anyone wanting something very special this hotel has to be worth a visit. It isn’t cheap but you get very much what you pay for and we loved it.

Room Tip: 323 was large and spacious but without a direct sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEANO615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canons Ashby, Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a proper 5 star hotel: the staff are excellent - attentive withuot being over-bearing; the public areas are very comfortable, superbly furnished and not crowded; the bedrooms are extremely comfortable; the food was also excellent at both dinner and breakfast. thoroughly recommended. We are very pernickity travellers: we do not often give such praise. This is an excellent choice of hotel

Room Tip: none of the rooms is noisy as road traffic is light and what theere is travels at slow speed. Ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channel islands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very disappointing stay . Rooms wonderful to look at but front of house staff most unfriendly . Building work woke us at 8 on Sunday morning not prewarned about works or given discount on very expensive rooms. No 24hour room service and brassiere kitchen closed at two o'clock in the afternoon not what a five star rated hotel should do .sauna in health suite broken all weekend. No one at front door to help with cases . Restaurant staff and bar staff very good please give lesson to reception on how give five star service.

Room Tip: make sure building work has finished if you like to sleep longer than 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoneg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Having stayed on Guernsey many times due to family connections, I have tried several hotels and been bitterly disappointed. You will not be disappointed here. Price wise it is superb value. Rooms are on the small side but service is equal to Four Seasons level and staff cannot do enought to help. There is free valet parking and truly wonderful food both in the Bistro and in the Governors restaurant. Even the Bistro food is top notch and the £75, including wine, tasting menu in the Governors restaurant is an absolute bargain.
Don't stay anywhere else. You can walk stright out of the hotel into the main street in St Peter Port too. Lovely outdoor heated pool for summer breaks and a fantastic spa.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying for an upgrade to get a bigger room and bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have been frequent travellers to Guernsey over the years but this was our first stay at the OGH - We were not disappointed!

We booked the romantic package and this began from the airport when we were collected by an OGH car. Within 20 mins we arrived at the hotel and were greeted warmly by the reception staff.
We decided to upgrade our room to one with a sea view and it was worth every penny. Our room was a mini suite and absolutely gorgeous but the best bit by miles was the balcony and the view over the harbour to Herm and the Castle.

As our package promised champagne, flowers and hand made Sark chocolates arrived promptly in our room as we settled in and unpacked.
Before arriving, I had filled in a guest preference form online. I had requested particular pillows and a powerful hairdryer. These were also waiting for us.
The faultless service continued throughout our stay - Room service champagne breakfast, 2 divine evening meals in the Brasserie restaurant and a first class afternoon tea in the cosy, firelit lounge before we left. Nothing was too much trouble.
The spa was luxurious and although we didn't use the wet facilities or the gym I did have an amazing facial.

My tips for staying at the OGH include;
'Upgrade your room' - The classic rooms are small and the 'view' is disappointing. Room 111 comes highly recommended!
'Fill in your preference form' - The little details will make your stay perfect.
'Use the hotel facilities' - You're paying for them and they're worth it.

To summarise, we had a fantastic stay. We felt rested and looked after. The weather was typically cold and wet and the view was often grey and drizzly but I wouldn't change a thing. We left with a warm, glowing feeling of contentment and a longing to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The hotel is currently being refurbished so ask for a refurbished room as the difference is notable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel51e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing