We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have just returned from a week at The Old Government House Hotel. A beautiful and charming hotel situated just a few minutes walk from the seafront in St Peter Port. Our Queen room was very smart, equipped with everything you could want and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with a never ending supply of luxurious toiletries.

Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive, remembering names and preferences, etc. Our hire car was spirited away on our return each day and returned to us within minutes whenever required.

The food was excellent - breakfast was a particularly delightful experience with an extensive choice (smoked salmon eggs Benedict a particular favourite!)

The spa has a sauna, steam room and two jacuzzis as well as a wonderful relaxation room.

I could go on for ages but suffice to say would not hesitate in recommending the OGH to anyone visiting Guernsey! Many thanks - will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just back to Australia after a trip including four nights at the OGH. My adult daughter and I were lucky enough to have the Herm Suite (pictured) and what a treat that was. It was spacious and comfortable, extremely quiet, and we felt very much "at home". We also enjoyed the view from the balcony, the attentive and friendly (yet unobtrusive) service, and a delicious dinner in the Curry Room. Breakfast each day was delightful and the Olive Grove was the perfect spot to relax in the sun...yes, there was sun!....with a book. We even hurried back from the Sark ferry one afternoon so we wouldn't miss afternoon tea. All in all a wonderful visit and if ever I'm passing that way again, I will certainly return to this grand old lady of Guernsey. It really is like coming home.
One small thought for management: due to varying winds, it might be an idea to put a little latch on the balcony door so one can close it from the outside as well. [I am a smoker so I wanted to make sure the door stayed closed while I was out on the balcony.] Apart from that, it's praise all the way.

Room Tip: Can't fault the Herm Suite...especially if you like watching telly in the bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Cherie C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and to share your thoughts with other travellers. I waspleased to read that you were able to take advantage of everything the hotel has to offer and that the team made you feel welcome and comfortable. As a Red Carnation Hotel our aim is always to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience and that they feel that each of our properties is truly a home away from home so it is wonderful to know that we achieved this for you.

Thank you for the suggestion about adding a latch to the balcony door which I have asked my maintenance team to look at.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The OGH and I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel have great staff, nothing is to much trouble.Excellent brasserie, great choice of food and wine. They also have a resident pianist who plays Sunday lunch and during dinner several nights. If you have a special occasion room 111 is very spacious also have a look at the suites . Due to the bad weather in the channel we stayed for extra couple of nights.The staff were so obliging as our luggage was all ready to leave.Where else would you want to be the OGH it offers the best of everything .Can't Waite to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear amdocker,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent visit to Guernsey.

I am sorry that the bad weather meant that your return travel plans were disrupted but pleased that we were able to ensure that your additional days on the Island were comfortable. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed dining in The Brasserie and and the whole team will be happy to know that they were able to ensure that your stay was a memorable one.

Thank you for choosing The OGH and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Booked hotel as part of a romantic break and decided to hire a car for the weekend instead of taxis from and to the hotel. Worked out much cheaper, not to mention the lack of taxis on the island make getting from a to b a bit hit and miss. The hotel was reasonably easy to find. Hint: park outside the hotel in the loading bay and concierge will happily take your car to their barriered car park.
We decided not to upgrade our room, settling for the 'classic' room. A little on the small side, but very comfortable and a good quality mattress. The staff throughout our stay were friendly and genuinely helpful, with none of the snobbery you often find in good quality hotels.
An excellent breakfast choice of cold meats, through to a full English. My fiancée had eggs benedict, and were truly exceptional.
Overall, an excellent choice whilst staying on this beautiful island. If staying for a longer period you might want to upgrade to a larger room though.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RichandKathy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear RichandKathy2012,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The OGH. The whole team are thrilled that they were able to help ensure that your romantic weekend break was a memorable one.

Thank you for choosing The OGH and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Island and The OGH again very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Old Government House Hotel is full of old fashioned charm and excellent service. The rooms are lovely in period style furniture newly refurbished and immaculate. The bathrooms are wonderful with new fixtures including a separate shower and tub. The standard room is a bit small, but for a short stay is adequate. For anything longer, I recommend upgrading to a larger room. The Brasserie restaurant is light and cheerful, overlooking the gardens and sea in the distance. Our dinner there was delicious, and the breakfasts were delightful English style with all the trimmings. We had a wonderful stay here and would certainly return if we get back to Guernsey.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are on the small side for two people, but lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEDLRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear JEDLRC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The OGH with other travellers. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that my team looked after you well. We are indeed very fortunate to be situated in such a perfect position enjoying spectacular views over the harbour but still within easy walking distance of town.

Thank you for choosing The OGH for your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Island and the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this delightful hotel: old world charm and service sadly lacking in most "modern" hotels of today. Sumptious decor in both public and private areas: our 'King' room was just right and bathroom well furnished. We dined in both Governer's (what a beautiful room), and the Brasserie - great food, perfect for any occasion, again with perfect service. We just don't know why we haven't found OGH before (the complimentary bottle of 'bubbles' for our anniversary helped too), but, when I became unwell on the last day the guys excelled themselves right down to the ''hot toddy' - thank you! All in all, a great stay: we are eagerly anticipating our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmarshall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear gmarshall5,

Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback following your recent stay with us at The OGH. I am delighted that you had a memorable visit and happy that your anniversary was one to remember. I also hope that the hot toddy created by the team worked its magic and that you are now fully recovered.

Thank you for choosing The OGH for this special occasion and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I had the pleasure to be hosted in this hotel for few months in a long term business trip. I can only say it is perfect in term of facilities and services with the professionality of the staff being an authentic value added. I was comfortable as if i would be in my own house and even more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samueleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Samuelson,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to have you staying at the hotel and I am delighted that the team made you feel welcome and at home.

Thank you for choosing The OGH for your visit to Guernsey and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Chantrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £162 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing