We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on business - extremely efficient, warm & friendly front desk staff, nothing was too much trouble and everything has been thought of and anticipated.

I have stayed here a few times on business and leisure and each time I have had a different room, all have been lovely. Try and get a sea view if you can, as the views over the port and over to the outlying islands is lovely especially first thing in the morning.Great bedding and the BEST pillows.

There's a great selection at breakfast and the food in the brasserie at lunch and dinner was yummy too.

It's great not to have to pay for wifi in a 5* hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently stayed at the 'OGH' for 3 nights. Its a wonderful traditional hotel, with warm and welcoming staff, my room card was ready on check in and the free wi-fi works very well. The rooms are big and very comfortable, fanatastic bedding !!! Breakfast was wonderful, with a great choice, its not buffet service, which I really appreciated. I recommend afternoon tea, its seems to be a location tradition ! and its delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evansadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights-warm welcome,car taken and parked for us, room with sea view was lovely. Ate in restaurant one night and breakfast every day-quality of food was top notch. Not cheap but we felt we got value for money. Would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Almost gave this 3 blobs rather than 4 on account of the steep cost of this hotel. In reality, the staff are good and attentive and the bedroom although small was fairly opulent. Breakfast was excellent - great eggs benedict and the orange juice was freshly pressed and tasted great. So lots of good things. Just seems an extraordinary price - almost London rates - for the five star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pierotlunaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very impressed with the welcome we received at this hotel. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean which all added up to a most enjoyable weekend break for my wife and myself. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Beryl & Colin Murray Bournemouth

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights.

Lots of old fashioned luxury, with a modern twist. So nice to have the room key ready and the free Wifi code waiting for me.

The eggs benedict for breakfast were fabulous, with proper waiter service and no buffet.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed for four nights in a suite with a balcony. The suite we were in was comfy, spotlessly clean and well appointed, as was the rest of the hotel. The view from the balcony was spectacular and caught most of the harbour. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided service that was second to none. We never actually ate in the hotel at night but the breakfast was delicious. Thank you OGH Hotel and all the staff that work there for making our stay so pleasant. We will be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
835 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £161 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing