We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Faultless Hotel in beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Faultless Hotel in beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment one arrives until departure this hotel lives up to every expectatiom, the breakfast choice and quality is superb, the staff are attemtive, the management are on the ball amd the building itself if a wonderful colonial building that makes one fee the Governer is still in residence. Great relaxing areas both indoors and outdoors and the swimming pool area is a real sun trap even if you dont want to actually brave the water!

Room Tip: A room looking out onto the harbour should be compulsory, why stay here and not be able to see the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Paulikon,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the swimming pool - and thank you for your kind words about the sea view rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    128
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
138
623
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was fabulous. The staff were excellent,friendly and professional. We were made very welcome as was our little Jack Russell dog! Our room overlooked the islands of Herm and Jethou and was very comfortable and tastefully decorated.We did have a problem one night with a loud television in the room next to ours but this was dealt with efficiently by the night concierge. The food was delicious and we particularly enjoyed our Indian meal in an additional atmospheric Indian dining room. All food in the main dining room was also delicious. We loved the heated outdoor pool and having had a massage in the spa I can thoroughly recommend that too. This a five star hotel but with a relaxed,though very professional,country house feel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and there are many thoughtful and extra touches. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiner450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear nadiner450,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay (both you and your Jack Russell!) and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Indian cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent staff and mouthwatering food.

They even picked up on the fact it was our wedding anniversary and when we got back to our room that night we had a tray of decorated fruit and a bottle of pink bubbly waiting for us and the bed was decorated with white Rose petals.

Ok it has been 40 years since my last visit somehow I don't think it will be that long before we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlunX404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear AlunX404,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your wedding anniversary, and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We came to Guernsey to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and OGH gave us all an experience we will not forget. My son, his girlfriend, my husband and I were made so welcome and the complementary birthday cake and candle was such a lovely surprise. The food was excellent, pool area superb and gym and spa facilities. Our rooms, with sea views, were so comfortable and well maintained we could not fault anything at all. We can all recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again in (hopefuilly) the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for king size rooms which have sea views, you can spend hours watching the activities in the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Janet H,

Many thanks for your kind review. We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday with us, and we are glad that you enjoyed the cake. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed a week of utter luxury, with breakfast and dinner. Food top notch, staff are so welcoming and efficient. Wonderful location. Fully equipped gym and the most relaxing pool area. Room a little small. We were so looked after and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: chose the largest room you can, we stayed in a Queen Double and it was a little small for a week, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Christina B,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We came to Guernsey for one day via the ferry from Poole to see whether it is somewhere we could come for a long weekend. We had Sunday lunch at OGH and it was great. I am pretty sure the sunshine helped, as did the pleasure of sitting outside in the olive grove, and the great service from Naru, but most of all the food was really quite special. And the set £25 menu is just excellent. We will likely come back at stay at the OGH.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Donald2002,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we have passed your compliments onto the restaurant team. We look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we stayed the eve before the wedding .the staff are amazing and the bedroom was great nothing was too much trouble fab time x from checking in to checking out we were treated as if we were really important !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for your kind response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a fabulous time at Scott's wedding. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing