We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“splendour”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was impressed by the sheer number of antiques in the ODG.The ambiance was fantastic. The hotel had areal old world classy feel. The temperature of the outdoor pool was equivalent to bath water but the best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were amazingly helpful and well informed.

Room Tip: 107 was handy for the pool and had great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Margery G,

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the pool, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    130
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
143
643
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I took my mum to the OGH in May for 4nights and it did not disappoint!
The hotel is expensive but you definitely get what you pay for!!
The staff were all amazing and couldn't do enough for you!
The food was amazing- especially breakfast.
If I went back to St. Peter's port, I definitely wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Rebecca S,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your holiday in May, and we will pass your compliments onto the team, especially the kitchen. We hope to see you again at The OGH in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On a recent day trip return to Guernsey after some forty years we made a short lunch time visit to the OGH for drinks, I must reiterate that this was only for drinks however I am delighted to say that the Hospitality bit had not deserted the OGH. The hotel is wonderfully arranged in what I would describe as Chic Opulence the staff were equally well presented with an easy attentive presence, we thoroughly enjoyed our brief visit and plan to make a return with more available time in which to sample more of the hotels offerings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Gordon M,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your drinks, and we look forward to your next visit to The OGH.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay and once again found the OGH to be faultless on every level. The service was perfect and incredibly attentive on both an individual and collective level. The Brasserie menu and food was quite delicious , and our daughter will never forget Ken's Flambé pancake - a perfect ending to her stay! The Crown Club is a most welcomed addition since our last visit and fits in superbly. I must mention the fabulous housekeeping staff who quietly and unobtrusively maintain, service and replenish the rooms to such a high standard - this is a vital aspect of ones stay and again, accomplished superbly. A fabulous week was had by all - the weather was perfect, the pool temperature was perfect, the OGH is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear GordonandJane,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will pass your compliments on to the teams, particularly housekeeping and Ken. We look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH in the near future, and will be sure to have more flambé pancakes ready for your return.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Got here after a gruelling two hour delay at Stansted (where building hammering work, crowds of noisy families and not enough seating areas had us frazzellled). Then entered paradise! The hotel is luxurious, staff attentive and friendly (not one is snobby!), gorgeous room with balcony seating area, view of the sea, air conditioning and lots of lovely touches. Wonderful lounges, heated outdoor pool....classic furniture... It's hard to leave the hotel each day to get out and see beautiful Guernsey and surrounding Islands! But we do, knowing that a warm welcome awaits when we return.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view, a balcony and. King size room, go for it! The restaurant is not expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear bren055,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope that your journey back suffered no similar delays! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Some hotels are plush and well-appointed; some provide excellent customer service and some make you feel very much at home and relaxed. The OGH does all three, and does all three very well indeed.

We took a 5-day break to Guernsey and found the OGH to be an ideal base for Guernsey, St Peter Port and visits to the nearby island of Herm. What really made it great was that, without exception, any member of the hotel staff was very friendly and really wanted to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. All the staff can all be justifiably proud of the hotel and the experience they provide to their guests.

In all honesty, we'd have liked our queen room to be a little larger, but it had a really good bed and mattress, a well fitted bathroom with both bath and shower and the room was well serviced throughout our stay.

The restaurant provided an great choice for breakfast each day and, like the rest of the hotel, was run very efficiently and with just the right mix of professionalism and friendliness.

The outdoor pool was perfect for our visit, as we were fortunate to have a series of really warm sunny days.

All in all, we really loved this hotel and the way it operates and provides for it's guests; they paid a large part in making our stay in Guernsey a great experience. Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughOutLoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LaughOutLoud2,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found the staff friendly and helpful – our excellent customer service has just been recognised by VisitGuernsey which has this week announced that we have achieved its highest accolade of a Gold Award for our visitor experience. We are delighted that the weather was good for you, and that you enjoyed the restaurant and pool, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 wonderful nights. We loved everything about the hotel. A great breakfast is included. I loved the location up on a hill. Easy walking access to everything in St. Peter Port. Great views. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nancy D,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the OGH on another occasion.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing