We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an amazingly designed hotel, excellent food and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's an amazingly designed hotel, excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have sailing this year in England and then went to Channel islands. I have been there for a first time. On Guernsey We were walking and looking for a place for diner. I have noticed a lovely hotel and we came in. We have had diner at the brasserie Everything was perfect there, interior,
lovely terrace, food and the excellent service. The member of the staff Marius was very kind to tell us more about the second hotel on Guernsey of the Red Carnation hotel chain and next day we went for diner there. It was the same nice ambiance. I highly recommend everyone to go at least for diner to these hotels while visiting Guernsey. They are for sure best places on the island!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadya7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nadya7799,

Thank you very much for your kind words about The Brasserie. We are delighted that you were able to visit both our hotels during your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    131
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
646
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We decided to for go lunch and have afternoon tea instead at the Old Government House as a treat for my parents whilst on a shirt break in Guernsey. After spending the day touring around the island, we were all ready for a cup of tea and some delicious food. And that's just what we got! The men also indulged in a glass of excellent champagne. We opted for the deluxe afternoon tea package, sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and a selection of cakes. All prepared that day and the scones freshly cooked and still warm when they arrived. Heaven, especially when sitting in the fine surroundings of the OGH. We all left happy, if slightly full and were restrained enough to decline the offer of a doggy box for our leftovers (we did manage to leave a couple of cakes un eaten!). Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelterCowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear MelterCowbridge,

Many thanks for your kind words about our afternoon tea. We are glad that you enjoyed your afternoon spent with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more Champagne and cakes in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a week in this fabulous hotel and were truly sad to leave. The property itself is beautiful and the staff were so friendly, efficient and really seemed to enjoy making our stay one to remember.
On our second night we celebrated my husbands birthday in the Brasserie restaurant. The food was great & at the end of the meal we were presented with a special dessert and a hand writen birthday card.
The one and only negative thing about staying at this hotel is that it has spoiled us for everywhere else. We will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghayet-patino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear ghayet-patino,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and pleased that we were able to assist in making your husband's birthday special. We look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH next year.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I spent two days and one night in Guernsey for our wedding anniversary on 25th June this year. Booking the trip as a surprise, I made sure we took full advantage of our visit so needed a hotel which could offer fine dining and great spa treatments.

Upon booking, I contacted the general manager, Andrew, and asked him for dining/pampering suggestions. He got back to me very quickly and offered me a bespoke package to include a treatment for us both in their couples room, a private wine tasting session and a meal at their Indian restaurant.

When we checked in, the hotel seemed a little out-dated in the reception lobby and at this point we weren't sure how it would be throughout the rest of the hotel. That said however, the reception staff were so attentive, we knew we weren't going to have an issue with service levels. When booking, I took the second from basic option - I think this was called a king room as opposed to a standard room and when checking in I upgraded again to the same style room but with a sea (harbour) view. This was only a additional £30 and well worth it.

The hotel is a lot bigger than it looks from the front and when being shown to our rooms we were wondering how on earth we were going to find our way back to reception- there are lots of staircases which strangely went up to go down again! Our room was a good size and I have to say, spotlessly clean along with the rest of the hotel. The decor was pleasant if not a little 'different' with most of the walls in the hotel being padded and fabric covered. We did manage to see the smaller rooms on offer and they were extremely compact- we would have found it a little claustrophobic had we have booked this type of room.

A few hours into our stay we went for our 'his and hers' massage which was lovely. Again, the staff were great. We did however have to cancel our wine tasting as all we were capable of doing after 75 mins of relaxation was... Sleep!

When we returned to our room, we were greeted by a bottle of fizz, some hand made chocolates and strawberries and a personally written card from the hotel manager wishing us a happy anniversary. This was a very nice touch and not expected but very much appreciated. We also returned to our room that night to a bed scattered with petals- again, so very personal and made us feel great. It was clear that Andrew had noted our occasion and communicated it with the staff.

The weather, contrary to the forecast, was fabulous and had we have packed anything other than jeans and light jumpers, we would have made full use of the outside pool. That said, we did enjoy a few cocktails on the terrace overlooking the pool and one could have been mistaken for being in the riviera it was so lovely with great views of St Peters Port.

To surmise, in my opinion, this hotel is worthy of its five stars. Granted, it's in need of a little renovation here and there and the Indian restaurant has room for improvement, but the service, cleanliness and overall attentiveness offered at the OGH far outweighs its minor negatives. We will certainly return.

Thank you Andrew and staff, for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Go for a king room as the basic rooms are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeandclaireabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear mikeandclaireabell,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make your anniversary special. Thank you for your valued feedback about the reception and the Indian restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Enjoyed my stay at OGH with a beautiful room with a view of the port and ocean, attentive and friendly staff, great location to access everything in town via a short walk, and very nice restaurants on site. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rimohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear rimohamed,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Once again we were made to feel very welcome. It was nice to see some familiar faces, Keith and Paul in the Crown Club. Big Ken who Iv'e named the New Steak man who cooked an amazing Steak Dianne for me (you must try it). I must also mention Oliver, Sophie and Zoe who really looked after us round the pool. My only slight niggle was confusion whether you are allowed scones round the pool or not, this seemed to depend on which manager was on duty and caused irritation to some guests.
Anyway all in all we had a great time and intend to be back next year.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are more than good enough if you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stev057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Stev057,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be sure to pass on your thanks to Keith, Paul, Ken, Oliver, Sophie and Zoe. We apologise for the confusion with the scones - these can be served around the pool, and we will make an effort to communicate this to all staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fantastic hotel that we come back to time after time, the service is excellent and the recent refurb has made it even better, 5*. We usually book the Herm Suite which has beautiful views over St Peter Port. You can't beat the location so handy to stroll into the town and the food is superb. We have been coming here for 10 years and its always my first choice in Guernsey. The staff are so attentive and friendly, always service with a smile!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Clare N,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and pleased that you like all the refurbishments to the hotel. We will pass your compliments onto the teams, and look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH for years to come.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
559 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing