We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most elegant, classy and comfortable hotel imaginable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most elegant, classy and comfortable hotel imaginable!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Bea Tollman (the founder and president of Red Carnation Hotels) promotes "no request is too large, no detail too small" and her manager and staff maintain this throughout the hotel. The furniture and fittings are wonderfully tasteful, the service, rooms and food are outstanding. The facilities are fabulous and we look forward to booking room 107 which over looks the harbour next year. It was a fantastic experience staying at the OGH!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sinclair12345,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on Mrs Tollman's service standards, and are pleased that you recognised our attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you back to room 107 next year.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    129
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
143
636
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for my brothers wedding, fantastic service from start to finish, very helpful staff. Room was comfortable with lovely decor. Dinner and breakfast was very good. Also a great location if you are visiting the island as it's right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSurfer2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear SilverSurfer2607,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that the wedding was enjoyable. We shall pass your kind words on to the teams, and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Virgin Islands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We loved everything about The Old Government House Hotel: our beautiful room with a balcony and sea view, the lovely public spaces and gardens, tea in the garden, piano music in the evening. What makes the hotel a stand-out, though, is the service. It is perfect. Special kudos to the concierge staff, especially Jaro, for making OGH and Guernsey a place we hope to return to! Not only is no request too much trouble but you are made to feel as if helping you gives the staff real pleasure. It's clear that the staff loves Guernsey and wants their guests to love it too. OGH is part of the Red Carnation group. I will definitely seek out their other hotels in my travels based on our stay at OGH.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bviwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear bviwmn,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the room and the public spaces. We will pass your kind words onto the teams, in particular to Jaro, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Guernsey, and to The OGH on another occasion.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

we stayed here in the herm suite for our wedding and had our reception here. Firstly all I can say is positive things about the OGH.

The staff are wonderful and ensured our stay was comfortable and harry is a real credit to the hotel. He really made our day so special as he constantly asked if there was anything he could do for us and was more than happy to show us what the hotel had to offer.

The food was perfect and all of our guests really enjoyed their meals, everything was made to perfection and the whole day ran ever so smoothly. The staff were so attentive throughout the meal and remembered our names which really made our day.

The suite is beautiful with superb views from the balcony and flower petals on the bed, we were greeted with champagne and chocolates and a courtesy call making sure we were comfortable. our stay really was made so special. Again harry asked if we wanted to be shown where the heath club was and personally took us round the hotel for photographs.

our guests and I were really impressed with how friendly and welcoming the staff are and this really shone through our stay!!! The OGH definitely lives up to its slogan.

we will be certainly coming back!!!!

Rhiannon & Tony

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Rhiannon and Tony,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased that we were able to be a part of your special day, and we shall pass all of your compliments onto the entire team, in particular to the events team, the banqueting team, and to Harry.

Thank you for choosing The OGH to celebrate your wedding, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We didn't stay here, we attended a wedding. What a fantastic wedding it was. The food was lovely, the staff professional but friendly, the views were breath taking. A fabulous venue and a brilliant day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brimsy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Helen S,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the wedding, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH, hopefully for a longer visit.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel is excellent and the service definitely 5 star, nothing is too much trouble, you are really made to feel welcome. The location is good although nothing is far away in this small island. The only criticism I would have, is that the beds are too hard. In a hotel of this standard I would expect to sink into a lovely soft but firm bed and this only had the firm aspect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry that you did not find the mattress comfortable. We do have mattress toppers, which are available on request. We have made a note in your guest profile to supply one should you return to us.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

What a superb hotel and location. Heated outdoor pool. Met at the airport. Champagne chocs and flowers in room. Very comfortable. The staff were chatty, friendly but always slick and professional. Dale seemed to do a bit of everything, remembered our names and was a wonderful ambassador for the hotel. Thank you all for a wonderful anniversary weekend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Drink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AChantrell, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 1Tweenie,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make your anniversary weekend special. We will pass your compliments onto the staff, particularly to Dale, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Chantrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing