We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOTEL AND EXCELLENT SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This hotel is a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. Rooms are clean and well furnished and designed. Food is of a very high standard. All the staff are courteous and very caring, looking after everyone's needs. They certainly take a great deal of pride in their work. Do not miss out on this hotel, convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieCountyAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

We spent just three nights at the OGH after an absence of about fifteen years. The new owners have plainly spared little expense in rejuvenating this old gem. The public rooms are beautifully furnished and generate an air of calm. We dined out but noticed that the prices in the two-rosette restaurant are high. The brasserie prices looked much more manageable and, judging by the splendid breakfasts and lunchtime snacks, is of high standard. Our bedroom (312) was of the basic variety (there is a wide choice) and was small but splendidly fitted and furnished. The bathroom was brand-nrew and immacuilate. There's an excellent gym and spa. Kindly staff abound. We paid £480 for three nights and felt we had good value. Just one moan - the outdoor pool is small with too few loungers for the number of guests. We arrived at lunchtime on a lovely sunny day, just wanting to lie and read. There was a body or a towel on every lounger. The managements have promised to seek to address this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkesdenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This was a wonderful hotel to stay in - nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were all extremely courteous and went the extra mile on everything. Even though the hotel is more for adults than children, the hotel spa was luxurious and welcomed well-behaved children and the staff were wonderful with our 9 and 11 year old boys. The outdoor swimming pool was cold but set in lovely gardens. Parking was very tight around the back of the hotel but it was in a fantastic location in the heart of St Peter Port. In our eyes, this hotel totally deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davewilliams234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I can only say what a wonderful weekend we had. Your staff are truly second to none.

We dined in both restaurants and both were lovely.

Well done to you and your staff and we have recommended you to all our friends and family.

We most certainly will not be staying anywhere else when we come back to Guernsey. This was my first time to Guernsey and I loved it.

Spa was lovely, pool area relaxing and really everything was perfect .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Pleasant and friendly staff, well trained, lovely garden for breakfast, with great views to Herm, nice Brasserie for dinner (didn't make Governors- saving up), heated outdoor pool with comfy loungers, fine Spa room and steamroom/gym/sauna, close to town for shopping and further good restaurants plus all the transport you could want for sightseeing! Relaxing and great

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The whole ambience of this hotel strikes one on entering the reception.The staff have a pride in their hotel and their standard of service reflects this.They will help in any situation and in sorting out bookings or any other service.The Governor's Room Restaurant serves the most exquisite food any is highly recommended. We found the whole Hotel experience relaxing and rewarding.
P.T.Coles

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viewpoint_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just like to say what a wonderful time we had on our recent stay at the OGH. The staff were wonderfully attentive. We arrived in the morning , knowing that we would be too early to book into our suite. No problem! We were taken care of. Harry - Guest Relations took us for morning coffee and stayed to chat a while. We had chosen to stay at the OGH for our 35th Wedding Anniversary and the staff in every department of the Hotel made our stay extremely memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and always came with a smile. We will certainly stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
852 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £163 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing