We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant hotel with great service and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This is my 3rd trip to the OGH and we are never disappointed. As always the staff are really friendly and make you feel very welcome. The rooms have recently been upgraded which was overdue but appreciated. The quality of the interior decorations are very high and the small touches on the accessories eg towels etc are what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. A bit disapointed that the shower cubicles had been removed and replaced by a shower attachment over the bath. The splash screen in the bath meant that you had to lean right round to reach the taps. May be tough for someone older. The food as always is excellent and served well. There is a great choice on the menu for both breakfast and dinner. Haven't eaten at the Governors restaurant yet but will do some day. It's a great hotel with super staff who know how to look after you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMS666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We much enjoyed our stay at OGH, a first. Our visit was partly inspired by the Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society book, to which we were introduced by two American friends with whom we will return to the Hotel next May, and partly the excuse for a recce for that 2011 visit.

All the Hotel staff looked after us very well and we thoroughly enjoyed the haute cuisine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We were very impressed with the kindness, courtesy and genuinely friendly manner in which were treated by all members of the staff and management. Nothing was too much trouble, and the meals in the hotel were excellent. The location of the hotel was a bonus - within easy access to the harbour and town.
We will definitely return for a holiday break there - just to be looked after so efficiently whilst chilling out!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had a great holiday. The hotel was very good with my toddler and older kids. Felt very at home and cared about. The decor is very clean and lovely old feel to it whilst still clean and fresh. The food, especially breakfast was delicious and the service was good too.

The Island just feels safe and this hotel is well located for visiting the small capital

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkimarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

What a terrific place. First impression created by welcoming, helpful front desk - and high quality, attentive service was maintained over the course of our stay. We sampled - and were impressed by: afternoon tea (great if you can have it outside), breakfast, and the superb degustation menu, with wine, in the Governor's (excellent food, unique setting, really good value). Very good gym and spa facilities (treatments get a 4 out of 5 from the other half, who sampled two for her birthday). We dad to wait a while to be served drinks on occasion (the bar is a bit removed from the indoor lounge) and our bathroom would probably benefit from a little modernising - but this is nitpicking (it would be 5 out of 5's across the board otherwise). If we come back to Guernsey, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnagumaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We travelled with three children aged between 11 and 15. We were given two rooms, both recently redecorated and very elegant. We also brought our dog, who was allowed to stay in our bedroom and was treated with great tolerance. The hotel is wonderfully quiet at night thanks to thick carpets and padded silk walls and has a lovely garden with a swimming pool. There were several families staying with young children, who also appeared to be well looked after. The food was very good, if fairly pricey. Everywhere in Peter Port is within easy walking distance. Like Guernsey generally, there is a slightly anachronistic feel to the place in a good way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary and were greeted with a bottle of champagne and fruit in our room. Beautiful decoration and attentive service was second to none. Ate in the Brasserie one evening and it was wonderful. All in all nothing was too much trouble for the staff in all areas of the otel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £160 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing