We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel on a beautiful island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The hotel staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble, which is why it is very hard to make a complaint.
We opted to stay for seven nights in a Queen room with the one night free package.
The room posted on there website bore no resemblance to the tiny room the large bed was sqeezed into. I had requested sheets and blankets instead of a duvet and thats precicely what we got no sign of a suptuous throw, just a brown blanket.
They go to great lengths prior to your arrival to make your stay enjoyable, a request for an iron and ironing board in the room was over looked but on request one was duly sent.
I also had to request more hangers as there were only 8 in the wardrobe, this request was met with, " i'm sorry madam but we have a wedding and all the hangers are being used", they did however say that they would see what they could do and some hours later another four were sent.
We had also requested a table be reserved for the night of our arrival in the restaurant, asuming this to be the govenors as opposed to the more casual brasserie. So we were a little surprised to be told that they did not have a table for us, evidently this was because we had not been specific in our request ( why did they not ask for clarification when we first made the request), so we were given a table with apologies in the brasserie.
Overall the food was pretty good, the first meal in the brasserie was excellent but the degustation menu which we opted for on the second evening was fairly average( mushrooms on burnt toast) but billed as something exceptional. Breakfast however was a very hit and miss affair. The first morning we were placed in a very chilly part of the garden as all the tables were full inside and within minutes of our food and drinks being served they were as cold as we were. The second morning we insisted on waiting for a table inside and had to wait twenty minutes. The chef is a big lover of the heat lamp and my husband gave up having the full english as the eggs were always dried up, as for my eggs benedict which i decided to have as a treat on the last morning, which consisted of soggy muffin (because the poached egg had been placed on it wet) hard poached egg and toasted benedict sauce, which instead of being a nice creamy yellow sauce was a dried brown glaze.
Overall an excellent hotel with fantastic staff let down by an "acclaimed chef " who is far from it. If you are a foodie this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    127
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
138
622
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We spent five nights at The Old Government House Hotel on a pay for four, get one extra for free basis. The OGH, as it is called, is a five minute gallop down to the harbour front, or a 7 minute wheeze uphill. I'd forgotten that Guernsey is hilly, especially St Peter Port.

Everyone was helpful, friendly and cheerful. The Hotel has a pleasant air of stately charm about it, but it is rather easy to lose direction when heading for the rooms: corridors rise, fall, twist and turn, but that is part of the charm.

Faults? The sash cords in two of our three windows had broken, but with quiet and efficient air con, you could argue that you do not need to open anything. However, the bathroom had no extractor fan, so we propped the window open with a deodorant pack! Shows up nicely in our photos....We reported this, and the failed lamp above the shower, to the front desk after they gave us a welcoming courtesy call. Nothing was done about it. No great problem, but, if you are asked if everything is OK, and you say something isn't, then either fix it, or don't ask in the first place!

The cosy and pleasant bar had good staff; Sky Sportsonly on TV, but with no sound, and canned musak emanating from behind the screen somewhere. One day, they opened the door to the garden, where a young saxophonist was playing soothing airs for those partaking of tea in the garden. The curious stereo effect of him v. the musak when sitting in part of the bar near the door soon required a request to kill one or the other. Musak lost, but the staff looked terribly surprised that it should be necessary. You just need to ask. And folk don't go to the OGH for the musak. At least, I never saw any faces fall when it went off.

Breakfast was excellent, though the area used had a capacity well below that of the Hotel when full. Which it was. Early or late was OK, but around 9-15/9-30 a wait of over 30 minutes for a table was the norm on 2 days. I had much fun watching the plaintive Mrs Two Eggs, as I christened her, for whom nothing was right. "I always have two soft boiled eggs, my husband always has one". You can guess, can't you? She got one egg. When two came, they were hard.She needed two more. Meanwhile, grumpy husband didn't get his toast. Nor milk for his tea. The next day I was inadvertaently shown to the table that they had briefly vacated to get their starters. "Oh, didn't you see my handbag?" Nope, not when it was hidden behind the curtain on the window ledge! Place settings had to be relaid after I'd moved. Then the eggs appear - but "We are still eating our fruit, you'll have to take them away." They went. For a very long time. "Now our toast is cold..."She and her husband would not be writing kindly to Trip Adviser! Great fun.

We never ate in the two restaurants, apart from breakfast. The plush one seemed to be very small: the other was bistro style and was used for breakfast as well.

I used the swimming pool: OK, but you can only swim in circles. Whilst there is a shower nearby,and towels, there are no changing facilities, so you have to wander the corridors in a bathrobe

We liked the place: it was fine for us, it was in an ideal spot, and we'd happily go there again. Might take spare light bulbs, though. I think that my captions match the photos: I had a struggle with these, so apologies if they get mixed up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halon1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreaterManchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 days having stayed at another hotel on the other side of the island for 4 days. Great location only minutes into the capital St Peters Port yet on a quiet street.
Beautiful hotel oozing luxury well worth paying that little extra for the sumptious surroundings this hotel offers from the exquisite decor inside the hotel to the beautful gardens and pool area. We stayed in the newly refurbished Herme Suite which had a balcony with magnificent views of the Island. Truly a luxurious room more than enough storage and extra's like the beautiful aroma of Oriental Lillies which we passed on the way to and from our Suite that made this a truly memorable stay. Extremley friendly and attentive staff. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Enchanting hotel with excellent facilities conveniently located in St. Peter Port. Very courteous, friendly staff all paying extra attention to refer to you by name. One of the waiters even tracked us down in the garden having breakfast on Sunday morning to deliver our newspaper. Very nice atmosphere in the bar and choice of dining in The Brasserie or the small intimate fine dining Governors Restaurant which only accommodates 14 diners so be sure to pre-book your table. We also enjoyed a tour of Victor Hugo's house - guided tours only but worth it - house closes 4pm. Also enjoyed a delicious meal at La Nautique, up a side street at Quayside - fabulous menu. Again, very busy so pre-book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen186315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Just spent a 10-day break at the OGH. We had a balcony with wonderful views over Herm and Sark, although the stalactite/stalagmite that was being formed from the above room spoiled things a touch as did the fact that the air-con in the room was either all or nothing. However these small gripes are just that and did not detract from our stay. The food in the Brasserie was of a very good standard and the service always excellent. No matter how rude and awkward some diners seemed to be, the staff were always happy to oblige and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as an excellent place to stay, relax and explore from.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2010

OGH is the pinnacle of Hospitality on this beautiful Island ! All aspects of our stay was perfect. The staff are amazing and the rooms exquisitely done. If you are looking for that perfect place to unwind and be rejuvenated then I highly recommend the OGH. The Spa is truly a treat and once again the attentiveness of the staff and the excellent products offered completely blew us away. OGH is a gem and we can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We have stayed in many classic American beach resorts that cost $500 to $1000 a day. The Old Government House is a reminder of what service used to be like for the resort traveler. The front staff was very attentive to our needs. Special mention for Donotas, who made us feel like family. The restaurant offers local food that is very well prepared. The breakfast buffet was full of delicious and healthy fruits, cereals and pastries. The formal tea was a delight. Do splurge on the picnic lunch package – ours consisted of a lovely insulated backpack filled with scrumptious goodies. We took our picnic to Moulin Huet Bay – it made for a magical sunset! The room service (24 hours) was very fast and convenient. The housekeeping staff kept our room in superb order and quickly responded to our requests. All this service and just a 1-minute walk to the heart of St. Peter Port. We highly recommend The Old Government House!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing