We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary service and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent three days at the OGH for a special occasion. This was our fourth visit to Guernsey and our first stay at The OGH - it certainly will not be the last. The service was exemplary -precise, painstaking, and caring without being overwhelming. We honestly felt that the staff actually cared about our stay at their hotel - this applied to all staff. It was also welcoming to be spoken to by name - a real effort was made to make us at home. Being centrally located there is immediate access to all the shops and restaurants of St Peter Port. Having said that, the hotel's cuisine is exceptional, notably the freshly prepared and wide ranging breakfast available. Our compliments to the management and staff and we look forward to our next visit in the not too distant future. Incidentally, we found no negatives to call - perhaps the best hotel we have stayed in on our wide travels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

A disappointing break in all, chiefly due to the small size of our room and unhelpful attitude at the reception desk and other staff members.
This 2 night break was booked by the Co-Operative Travel company which was unusual for me as I normally tend to do things independantly via the web or phone. Their local service was exemplary I have to say and we set off with short local flights, private transfers and a 'Classic Double' room with breakfast tucked under our belt all for the princely sum of £715 via Premier holidays. I had been shown a picture of what to expect in their brochure, a large, spacious, light filled, high ceilinged, long windowed, room with a large ensuite to boot.. however, what we actually were given was an unacceptable small room at the side of the hotel via a long corridor walk, even if you took the lift...with one small high window without a decent view, low ceilings as it was at the very top floor in the eaves and a badly designed tiny bathroom that two people could not share comfortably at any time! The TV screen was badly positioned so that when in use it blocked the door to the bathroom ! Disappointed bleats to reception gained us zero response and lame excuses. The double wardrobe was placed adjacent to my side of the bed and we couldn't access our belongings easily once the doors were open!! It was a joke but as this was a corporate/ pleasure visit we had little time to address the problems as we had places to be at and schedules to keep.
Please could someone responsible for this place take note! It was such a shame as we had met the South African owners there during last years stay, from Carnation hotels; a charming couple who had high hopes for this beautiful building in it's refurbishment and fresh start. They had just taken over this historic place and were revamping the pool and spa area which meant yet again we didn't get what we'd hoped for but we were understanding on that occasion despite not being informed of this when we booked. To have it happen twice is careless!
Sorry to be a grouch but some of the staff were dreadful...we had booked dinner at their expensive in- house restaurant but decided to take champagne on the terrace beforehand...our waiter didn't approve and made some sarcastic remark as we ordered! WHAT was that all about! When we finally entered the dining area in a small intimate room full of clients except for one visibly empty table (ours) the server let us walk in and promptly left us to suddenly attend to others before seating us!! We were just left standing in the midst of people eating... What was that all about???!!
Perturbed, uneasy,disgusted springs to mind! Who trains these people? Are they in the right job.. it begs the question... on a positive note there was a lovely young chatty waitress who looked after us beautifully during our stay, usually at breakfast and she made the difference along with the pleasant barman.
We visit Guernsey every single year and the problem is that there is little choice for quality hotels near the Port where we have to be for business but I doubt I would return here sadly unless I was given certain assurances.I couldn't even arrange anything in the spa as it was fully booked up ;-(
In total the expense with all meals, beverages and incidentals at the hotel by far exceeded the original price and it still irks me months later that I didn't have a pleasant experience to warrant it. It could be so wonderful in so many ways, sad.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Another fabulous stay at the OGH. We were lucky to catch the 'Tenner Fest' and had two wonderful meals in the brasserie. A very nice touch now is the staff greeting us by name, very reminiscent of Raffles in Singapore, wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridachick2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

* OUR EVENT: We celebrated our 25th over four days within this beautiful, well maintained Hotel; our room was excellent, decorative, clean and very comfortable with a balcony and a lovely sea view.
* DINING: We dined in both the sunny Brassiere and refined Governor’s Restaurant, both very pleasant surroundings. Within the plush Governor’s restaurant we were seated into a private intimate booth. We both enjoy good quality food and this food is mouth wateringly delicious, superb standard of presentation and outstanding service; the A La Carte, “Degustation menu,” was fabulous, exceptional high standard of culinary art, the chefs know their stuff and our individual tastes were catered for. They have a good selection of wines to choose from. Even our taste in music was catered for, playing low-key in the background. Good old fashioned afternoon tea in the lounge is a must!
* RECEPTION: The reception staff are very pleasant and accommodating, we arrived at 08:30 and were able to check in earlier and on departure we were able to check out later at no extra cost.
* ALL STAFF: They are pleasant and friendly; each showed a high standard of professionalism, from Jane in reservations, Arun’s service in the Governor’s restaurant Gino in the restaurants and bar. A special thank you to Harry, director of guest services for a delightful surprise of bubbly and fruit dips served in our room on our special day.
* SPA: The facilities of the Spa along with steam room, sauna and chill out room was included within our price and we enjoyed these very refreshing facilities.
* SUM UP: Our every need was catered for. Our stay was an absolute pleasure, we highly recommend the OGH and we will have no hesitation in returning. If ever the Red Carnation Group want me to be a mystery guest in one of their hotels, please don't hesitate to contact me! :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimelessContentment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The service at the OGH is second to none; the staff seem to know what you need before you do. The room was large and plush, the bed was massive and so comfortable. The bathroom had shower and bath, excellent complimentary toiletries too. The hotel is located right in the centre of town with great views over St Peter Port and close to good restaurants, brassieres and bars, should you need them as the hotel restaurants are superb. The overall atmosphere and style of this hotel makes your stay wonderful. The only down side I can see is it’s a good walk up the hill to the OGH after a good night out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demeter208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Old Government House Hotel is in a fantastic location a couple of minutes from the marina, 100m from the main shopping centre in St Peter Port and with stunning views from the terraced gardens across the harbour. It combines sumptious decor, with outstanding customer service. The rooms are lovely with crisp sheets (turned down in the evening and sweets and newspapers left for ones return), L'Occitane toiletries and plentiful tea and coffee. Afternoon tea in the library is a delight (or you can have it on the terrace or by the swimming pool after a swim) but the most outstanding thing about this hotel is the staff. Staff went out of their way at every opportunity to be helpful, courteous and attentive . Red Carnation hotels pride themselves on luxury and attention to detail and our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micra038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

on arrival at the OGH we were greeted with a warm welcome, our room was a good size and very comfortable, the food is quality and a night in the guvoners restuarant is a must for anyone, the interior has a very warm and relaxed feel to it and take a visit to the spa, the hotel is in a prime location and ideal walking distance to the main town, we absolutely loved it at the OGH and we will most definately make this our hotel choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariexw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £162 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing