We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a hotel with customer service second to none.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We have just returned from a three night stay at the OGH and felt we must write a review
to spread the word on what a fabulous hotel this is. Firstly the customer service is to be highly commended, with nothing being too much trouble and that goes for every member of staff we encountered. You are made to feel very special and not just a number like many large hotels, by the second day most of the staff were refering to us by name. We booked a suit and what a treat that was with fine tasteful decor with old world charm, very spacious and clean with a huge bed. The food was excellent too we had also booked the degustation menu which is a seven course dinner with wine to match every course...one word Sumptuous a very special evening indeed one which we would recommend to anyone who enjoys the fine dining experience. The brasserie was excellent too even though we were within easy walking distance of the town we ate at the hotel all three nights again with excellent service and waiter recommendations. After a days walking the coast which was beautiful by the way we arrived back at the hotel to a well deserved afternoon tea, another option not to missed full of sumptuous elegance. The location of the hotel is also a bonus just a short walk down into St Peters Port with many shops, a large harbour and castle so a car is not neccesary although we did hire one for 2 days (arranged by the hotel) so we could see all the sights and get around the coast. All in all a lovely three days on a beautiful little island full of charm and romance. This hotel really is a hidden gem and we would highly recommend it to anyone. We would like to thank all staff and management for giving us such a memorable experience. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoopers070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 March 2011

Dear Hoopers070
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be highly commended. Our mission statement is, "no request too large, no detail too small," and I was delighted to know your felt this to be the case. We look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH in the not too distant future. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

Yet another wonderful visit to Guernsey, for a special occasion which was made extra special by our wonderful stay at the OGH.

We have stayed at the OGH on previous occasions and knothing changes.The staff are friendy,polite and courteous, knothing is to much trouble.The Hotel has a relaxed, but efficient atmosphere, which refects on the standards it has achieved and been rewarded for.

The refurbishment, which is ongoing has provided very elegant and tasteful rooms with excellent facilites.

We are aready to looking forward to our next stay at the OGH.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Perry and Valerie Roles

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerryVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 February 2011

Dear Mr & Mrs Roles,
We were delighted to hear you enjoyed another visit to The OGH and that you found the staff to be polite and couteous. We were also pleased to hear your praise for our refurbishment and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future for anothing relaxing stay. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Slick, professional and friendly. It's a delight to stay here. Quiet and relaxing. It's a treat and a privilege. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank For_the_discerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 February 2011

Dear for_the_discerning
Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to hear you enjoy your visits to The OGH and you find them to be a treat and a privilege. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future for anothing relaxing stay. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Had a weekend in town for a party - great hotel, good food, excellent service fantastic value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2011

Dear Ians2008
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The OGH and found the food and the service to be great. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Old Government House Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We enjoyed a relaxing few days stay at the OGH. The attention to detail and presentation of the suites / rooms is exceptional.....as is the presentation of the main hotel areas and dining rooms. The staff are to be totally congratulated on this superb standard . They are friendly ,accomodating, highly effecient, knowledgeable and just so 'very nice' , nothing was ever too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed dining and can truthfully recommend both restaurants..... The Governor's Dining Room was a treat of 'fine dining'. The Brasserie equally excellent.
It was just so very enjoyable to have pre dinner drinks in the Sir John Coward sitting room with canapes, a gin and tonic, the Telegraph crossword and a roaring log fire.
Our experience was like staying in a jolly good country house for the weekend BUT with first class amenities!
If you want relaxing first class surroundings, good food, lovely presented luxury bedrooms, attentive staff, and to be totally looked after you can do no better.... My vote is the OGH ! A treat for a few days away or any special occasion....it cannot be faulted.......try it .....you will not regret it !
I'm actually thinking of organising our next "Ladies Luncheon' which happen once a month, and flying a group of us over from Exeter to Guernsey for the day ......A little shopping , VAT free ! and a wonderful lunch at the OGH. I am sure the Manager, Andrew Chantrell will be only to happy to organise this occasion for us. In anticipation , thank you Andrew !...... and may I congratulate you on the high standard, old world luxury charm that you have managed to achieve and maintain at the OGH.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devoncorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2011

Dear devoncorkers
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food, service and decor. We would be delighted to welcome your “Ladies Luncheon,” to The OGH and please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will be more than happy to make all the necessary arrangements for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The OGH very soon. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed here for a routine business trip - third time here actually. Vry nice, charming hotel, near port, Victoria Tower. Good service, lovely room and beautiful sitting rooms. Highly recommended for all sorts of travellers to Guernsey.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2011

Dear Michael01UK
Thank you very much for your review, I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your third stay with us and I hope there will be many more to come. Thank you for choosing to stay at The OGH and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back for your next stay in the not too distant future. King regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at the OGH for 3 nights over New Year 2011. The hotel was excellent in every aspect. The staff, service and food were all exemplary. This is a very special hotel, that I would certainly go back to.

The decor and the rooms were all very tastefully done and were kept in immaculate condition.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2011

Dear MalMcPhail
Thank you very much for your review, I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year particularly as it was for such a special occasion. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £166 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing