We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bevyann”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hauteville House

Hauteville House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Author Victor Hugo's home while living in Guernsey during a 15-year self-imposed exile.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bevyann”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

No wonder Victor Hugo had heat success with his writings.
His wonderful glass room at the top of his home with the excellent sea view would certainly inspire anyone to write great works

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beveyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    95
    16
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Incredible House For An Incredible Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

As we discovered, Victor Hugo was not just a talented writer but also a talented interior designer. The result is a house that is big on style, cover and history that you get a feel for the man himself. We booked in advance via the website and everything went smoothly. Go and visit - you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Victor Hugo home while he was in exile on Guernsey Is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I'm a history buff, so I was fascinated to see the unusual home of Victor Hugo. It was also great to see his rooftop office where he wrote Les Miserable and Toilers of the Sea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

An excellent guided tour of the house, with good expainations of what we were seeing. Good valuefor money

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eclectic - from Renaissance to Arts and Crafts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We didn't know much about Hugo the man and so a guided tour of the house was just what we needed, to gain some sense of what influenced his writing. The guide was excellent. Gothic, Arts and Crafts, Belgian tapestries, Chinoiserie, Venetian glass ... it's all here and more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darzet-Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hauteville House also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Hauteville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing