We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of history, great RAF museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Cornet

Castle Cornet
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loads of history, great RAF museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful location, great gardens and walls, loads of military installations. Arrive after 4 and only pay £1. Easy walk from the esplanade.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emendyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    304
    38
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“plenty of interest in a castle setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent the afternoon going around the castle. Plenty to see & do including four museums and battlement walks. Great views of the harbour & town from the top. The history of Guernsey & Maritime museums were the best. I would say well worth a visit and good value for money.Be sure to visit if you have time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is fascinating castle with several museums, gardens, cafe, and gift shop.
It's history is long and eventful, more than I can write here, so follow this link:
http://www.visitguernsey.com/-castle-cornet-and-its-museums
Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting, allow enough time!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday, lucky enough to arrive in time for the noon gun (beware, loud)! Also had a display by the regency dancers in the great hall, they looked like they enjoyed as much as the audience! There are at least 4 museums there Inc military, raf, Castle history, and more!! So many parts to explore we couldn't believe we spent over 3 hours here! Worth the £10 entrance fee!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to go have a look around the castle, as the weather was really good. As I got nearer to the castle I realised that this could be a really interesting place. Went into the shop to buy a ticket and because it was coming up to 4pm in the afternoon I only paid £1 which I thought was great. We went off to see the various rooms with all the information and sound effects enabling you to get a feel of what it was like in the history of the time. I love history, so I found it really interesting. Each day the castle has The Noon Day Gun which is fired when the castle is open. The castle is really for all ages, so well worth a visit. There is a tea room for refreshments, but did not get a chance to go in. I spent so much time in the rooms around the castle as there was so much to see. The gardens are fabulous and well kept too. The row of guns I thought were really good and got a great photo of then all in a row. A great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cornet also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Castle Cornet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing