We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to eat great sevice”

The Old Quarter Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A warm Guernsey welcome awaits you at the Old Quarter Restaurant from Paddy, Dana and the staff. This is honest, no nonsense food with a slight Irish slant as you would only expect from Paddy's home roots. The Restaurant prides itself on using as much locally sourced ingredients as possible; fresh from the land and the sea the taste of Guernsey comes out in every dish. Paddy and the team are keen to show off the best of what Guernsey has on offer each season and the menu changes to reflect this. Our cosy restaurant caters for parties up to fifty people, so whether its a business meeting over lunch or an intimate dinner for two we will always do everything to meet your expectations. We are also very flexible with our menus and happy to adapt to your needs where possible. You will find us at the centre of the Old Quarter among a mixture of antique dealers, art gallery's, craft shops, fashion boutiques and unique privately run shops of all types and descriptions. With its narrow cobbled streets it really is like going back in time to what most of the town of St Peter Port once looked like, but with a modern twist of quaint little shops. Any stroll around town is not complete without a trip up Mill and Mansell Street, why not cap it off with a light lunch or and early evening meal.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab place to eat great sevice”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We all had a great meal here when I visited my daughter and her family at Easter.We had the early dinner and it was fab,portion size was good I could not eat all of mine as there was to much and the onion rings are to die for they are gigantic.Well done Paddy you and your staff deserve it. Hip Hip Horayyyyyyy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    92
    26
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
248 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The decor felt a bit dated, but we hoped the food would live up to the good reviews we had read. We were served bread and a starter quite quickly, but the the mains took over an hour to arrive. The food itself was ok, but not special, the flavours were just not very subtle (the salad dressing, for example, was rather overpowering). The service was pleasant,but in all we were disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent meal, excellent staff. Only downside was that is was a little quiet. That probably due to it being a little off beaten track.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carib_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Solid!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Located in the old quarter of St Peter Port this is a warm, welcoming pub, frequented by locals and tourists alike. The proprietors are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere engenders a neighborly feeling.
We had a delicious crab pasta as a starter and the Brill seafood special which was fine, but not exceptional. They were having a lobster special this evening and it was priced very reasonably. The wine list is compact and very affordable and the selection of beers is sure to please the beer lovers. If I lived here I could see myself visiting from time to time. Cost should run about $35-40 per person without drinks. Reservations are a must as this place can get very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Gem - Off the beaten track - Don't miss this one”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you visit St Peters Port, then this is a must visit place.
Initial impressions are warm & inviting, we were offered some bread,butter & some chicken liver pate whilst we waited for our starter- A nice gesture. The food was prepared with style & real flavour- Really fresh fish, & very very tender beef- The staff were very friendly & attentive, very much "on the ball". Good to see Paddy the owner/chef taking time to chat to the customers- very personable. Overall Excellent Quality & Value for Money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknSue1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Quarter Restaurant also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Old Quarter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing