We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correctly named, a restaurant gem hidden away.”
Review of The Hideaway

The Hideaway
Ranked #29 of 130 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Correctly named, a restaurant gem hidden away.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Well worth seeking out for service and indoor or patio searing options.

Minor downside...
Because Guernsey use their own 'pound' we needed to pay by debit card. However, we were charged a 50p 'surcharge', because the bill was below £10. Accepted of course, but this not good business practice, hence mentioned here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor salads”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have been to The Hideaway a handful of times, normally outside on a sunny day with a glass of wine. But on this occasion I met a friend for lunch and we sat inside. The acoustics were awful to the point we could not hear each other talk, the waiting staff were tipping cutlery out on the surface and generally making a right old clatter. We both ordered a salad, Ceaser and Waldorf. Very poor attempt at a fresh salad and both were missing the main ingredients of what made them what they were. If I go again I will stick to a glass of chilled wone and a small 'bucket' of fries as you can't go wrong with this!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarnieW578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea with an Austrian twist”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Not quite as hidden as its name suggests, although it's off the main drag. Some of the nicest cakes in town make it a great stop for afternoon tea; we were sorry we couldn't go back and try their signature Strudel as the place closed for Easter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“favourite cafe”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Always a warm welcome and the place where we go when we get off the boat or plane for that matter of fact! Burner wurstell is delicious and Annie is lovely. Perfect for ought lunch on the terrace

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Totally ignored by staff. Given a menu after ten minutes left after half an hour as nobody came to take our order!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were passing and popped in here to sit on the terrace in the sunshine.

It took about 10 minutes to get a menu. We tried to attract the attention of the waiting staff to place an order for even a drink without success.

Some other tables were waving frantically to try and get their attention to no avail as well. After half an hour we gave up and left having not been able to order a thing.

Shocking service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_IPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing