We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I have ever eaten”
Review of HoJos - CLOSED

HoJos
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A social hub offering home-cooked meals, using the freshest seafood & locally ingredients wherever possible. Enjoy a coffee or light breakfast from 8-10am, exciting salads or sandwiches from 12-2.30pm, alfresco lunches or taps style meals and dinners 6.30-9.30pm. Available to hire out for functions of 30-60 people for canapés, meals & more. Open all year round.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal I have ever eaten”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

What can I say. The food was amazing, The waiter explained all the dishes to us so we knew what we were ordering. He was very nice and informative.
atmosphere was lovely
We had the soy & ginger chicken with sweet chilli, pork in breadcrumbs the lamb and asparagus kebabs and the chicken teryaki OMG the flavours were out of this world. The meat so tender and cooked perfect. We also treated our selves to a few cocktails after a few G&T's. My Basil Grande was the winner. We then had one of each of the desserts and they were jyst heaven..All was an out of this world meal for our 14th wedding anniversary. Shame we live so far away.

My perfect night out

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellynstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
One Hyde park, London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive and yuck”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We went there for the 1st time ever last week and it was so expensive for awful food. Not recommended, as well as rude staff who are ignorant and arrogant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Britishairwaysfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely Japanese food, excellent sashimi”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

we had a really lovely meal and the service was excellent - we selected some sashimi and a fried fish dish - all very good, we would definitely go again next time we go to Guernsey

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank greggjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine food & wines”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Always great food & fine wines linked to an extremely professional service. Always happy to oblige & go that extra mile!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildthing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant. Or coffee shop. Or sushi bar.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hojos doesn't post a menu outside, and it's hard to even tell what sort of food it serves; if you walk past during the day you're most likely to see people enjoying coffee and paninis, so it can be confusing to see it referred to as a Japanese restaurant. The reason for this confusion is twofold - one is that it seems to be well-enough known locally that it doesn't need to advertise, and the second is that is changes roles during the day. In the morning it appears to be a coffee bar, in the afternoon it serves sushi, and in the evening it really is a Japanese restaurant - and a very good one, which also serves a pretty decent mojito.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HoJos also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing