We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old-fashioned service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. In particular we enjoyed the good old-fashioned service which is sadly lacking in many establishments today. Nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive and polite staff. The other thing worth mentioning, which in itself was worth five stars, is the fact that there was no TV in the bar! Wonderful to be able to have a drink and hear yourself speak!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendybee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have just spent one week at Havelet Hotel in Guernsey with our three kids.
The two rooms were very nice and spacious, just near the swimming pool the kids loved to go every day.
We were on half board basis. It was wonderfull. Dinners were very good and varied.
The breakfast were fabulous specialy the "Smaller English breakfast".
Hotel' s staff was very nice and helpful.
A very nice week indeed !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfleury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed here for five days for a short break. Very walkable into the town of St Peter's Port - although the hill on return is a challenge - not for the less mobile. We upgraded to a superior room which had everything we could possibly want and was very comfortable. The bar and restaurants are well appointed and the food excellent. The thing that is most outstanding in this well above average hotel is the staff - all the staff - nothing is too much trouble. Nice indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and wet room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This was our second trip to Guernsey and also to this hotel - we would choose no other. We were really hoping that it lived up to our expectations having enjoyed our first visit so much. We were not disappointed in any way. We had a very nice, clean room. The staff in the Wellington Boot restaurant were as brilliant as last year - nothing is too much trouble. Most were the same staff as last year and work well as a team. If there had been any changes in the kitchen staff, nothing was obvious as all the food was the same high quality as on our previous visit. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely be visiting again and would look for no other hotel when in Guernsey.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I have stayed at this hotel over 70 times. It is easily the best value for money hotel that I know. The staff are well trained, friendly and efficient. The management are visible, approachable and on top of the job. Food is of a high standard in both the main dining room and the more relaxed grill room. Half board applies to the main dinning room but is good value and if you wish to dine out you can get a chit which allows you to get a bar meal instead of dinner. You also get a discount off a grill room dinner. The bar is perhaps a little dark for some people's taste but is very comfortable and as well as the usual wide range of drinks has its own bar menu. It is used by both guests and locals. There is the "Old Git's Corner" where you will often see Frank, Brian and Noel, three locals who live near by. It has a list of members on a strangely punctuated board on the wall with categories for locals and regular visitors. But it is like the Masons; you can't apply to join, you have to wait to be invited. Who knows, if you are over 45 and join in the, sometimes odd, conversations, you may get, after your eighth or so visit, an invtation to join. Brian is the one with the badges on his cap and Frank usually wears a jacket and tie. Noel is the one with the glasses and cardigan. If you see him you should ask after Mitzi his cat. If everyone is on form it can make for an entertaining evening. The hotel also does excellent Christmas and New Year packages.
I have been staying at the Hotel de Havelet since 1978 and there are many of us regulars. If you are planning a hotel based visit to Guernsey this really is the place to choose.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We went to Guernsey for a relaxing getaway and that is exactly waht we got. This hotel is old and some of the bedrooms could do witha re-vamp but they are all imaculately clean and have all the mod-cons you would expect. The staff were beyond excellent with their friendliness and attention to detail - always there but never overbearing or false....just old-school!
I cannot recommend this hotel enough - yes it is up a steep slope, but it is St. Peters Port so everything is up a slope.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Friendly welcome on arrival,lovely room with everything you need for a relaxingstay.Small spa complex is clean and kept at a comfertable temperature.
Bar and restaurants are in a seperate building but linked via reception.
Food is of a high quality wether eating in the bar or restaurant, with a fine selection of wines.
Staff very helpful if problems or accidents occur.
Ther is a steep hillto reach the hotel which may be a downside for those who like a easy level stroll after dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £60 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing