We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not do better on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You will not do better on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have stayed at some good hotels on Guernsey, but after discovering the de Havelet a few years ago we will not be looking for anwhere else to stay on the island.
What makes it so good? The location: it is on the edge of town at the top of a hill. A bit of a stretch to walk up, but then you are rewarded by a great view and have the satisfaction of having worked off some of the calories you will gain if eating there.
The rooms: Spotlessly clean, well equipped and with character. Some have views to the castle and, on a clear day, over to France, others look out over the garden.
Whilst those could be shared by other establishments, what makes it stand out from the crowd are two things, the staff and the food that is served.
The staff are a group of people who are cheerful, look as if they are enjoying their work, making sure that their guests are happy and it goes without saying that nothing is too much trouble for them. Then there is the food. The menu is imaginative and tempting and when the food arrives at your table it more than lives up to its promise. Over the Christmas period, the very good kitchen team excelled themselves.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period. It is always encouraging to hear such kind comments regarding the hotel, restaurants and staff. I have passed these comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    120
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
84
429
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for a Christmas and New Year's Eve break – just like “coming home”. Excellent value for money and no cooking and washing up! A real country house Christmas party feel followed by a fun New Year’s Eve.
Staff incredibly friendly and helpful – a great team throughout.
The room was full of character but had all modern conveniences, a brand new bathroom and a great view.
Food throughout was excellent with lots of choice.
We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this fantastic hotel and can’t wait to return! Why don't you join us this year?

Room Tip: For a great view ask for a front of house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandD2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the festive season break with us and enjoyed the room’s facilities along with the food in our restaurants. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back in near future to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed for a New Year's Eve short break for the first time, having previously stayed for a week during the summer. Fantastic value for money... less for 3 nights half board than we payed for New Year's Eve dinner dance in London!
Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Room we had was full of character -as you would expect from house where Duke of Wellington's mistress lived... but had all modern conveniences and a new bathroom.
Food on all 3 nights was excellent with lots of choice... you could even ask for something else if you didn't fancy anything from the extensive selection on the 5 course set menu! Breakfasts were cooked to order and were so substantial you didn't need lunch!
Have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this fantastic jewel of a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbaparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our New Year package including the dinner dance in our Wellington Boot Restaurant. I have passed your kind comments unto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I live in Guernsey and stayed in the hotel some years ago when moving house. i have also had excellent meals and brekafasts in the hotel. The views are spectacular. The staff really seem to enjoy working at the hotel and they are a credit to he management.

Recently I have moved again and stayed at the hotel. It really is quite excellent. I am also a "member" of the swimming pool so i can use it throughout the year and have been doing so for a number of years.

The indoor pool is not big but it is kept exceptionally clean. The area around the pool is inviting and always kept very clean.

If i had friends visiting Guernsey who for some reason could not stay with me I would highly recommend the hotel. It may be old fashioned but that is no loss when it provides old fashioned , excellent service so rarely found anywhere in the world nowadays.

Please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Bring your bathers as it has an excellent pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear GGGSarnia,

As a valued member of our Health Suite it’s great to learn that you have also enjoyed yourself in our restaurants, along with your stay in our Hotel. Our Housekeeping Team do work very hard trying to keep the Hotel spotless, so I will pass on your comments and I’m sure they will be greatly appreciated.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.


Kindest regards,




Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Welcoming and very helpful staff. Nice location and from Wellington Boot restaurant a lovely view to the castle. Possible to walk into St Peter Port for those that don't mind inclines (but then Guernsey not flat!). Nice pool, jacuzzi and steam room area. Water is at 28C so possible to use the pool in the winter months. During the summer there is access to the garden from the pool.

A grill and bar as well as the more formal Wellington Boot restaurant offer good meals with excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet and the use of our facilities. I shall be passing on your kind comment on to our staff.

Once again thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was working in the centre of St Peter Port. The hotel is situated only 5-10 mins walk from the centre so the location was ideal. I spent many a childhood holiday in Guernsey, so know and love the island. Now I have a hotel to love too! Everything from the service to the restaurant food is 5 Star. All the staff are professional and courteous, and are only too willing to help. And for the cost, I've paid double at other hotels and received only a fraction of the quality I received here.

Special mention goes to Sam on the front desk when I arrived. Great service and a great attitude. Despite being a little early I was allowed into my room straight away and made to feel very welcome. He also sorted out a taxi and some breakfast for my very early departure on my last day, as there wouldn't have been anyone around that early.

I will be back in Guernsey soon, and again next year, so I have no hesitation in staying here again. I recommend the hotel to anyone, whether it be for business or leisure.

A huge thank you for being a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and service. I have passed on your comments to the staff and I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed n business for 1 night last week, and what a fantastic hotel, pleasing, clean and good food. I would definitely come back and stay again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennarof, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor following your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the hotel and that you found the food excellent.

Once again thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing