We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and service was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The food and service was great”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has 3 great restaurant options for meals and they are all very high quality. The staff are so nice it is lovely to walk in and have a bar meal after a busy day exploring Herm, Sark or Guernsey. If like us you want a bit more fancy for your wedding anniversary they have that covered the food and great cocktails are just what we wanted.
The pool and jacuzzi are great we used it at the end of our day before dinner so relaxing and such a nice area.
The hotel is very clean in all areas and our soom was great.
The location is up a hill that took me 7 minutes to walk up but I am not fit and use a stick to walk but as the holiday went by it got easier to get up. If you just can't face it a taxi is about £5.00 from the town center & they also have a hotel bus that runs a few times a day apart from Sunday. We had the best 6 nights and I would go there again anytime it was lovely.

Room Tip: Room 9 is great large & very quiet also near the pool perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed the food and facilities which we provide. I have passed your kind comments unto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    125
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
90
452
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have just stayed at the De Havelet for four nights on a half board basis. It is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. The service and attention to detail could not be faulted. Breakfast and Dinner were excellent, not only the quality and variety of the food but also the excellent service.
The Hotel is in a very nice location and is very well maintained.
Overall this was a most enjoyable trip thanks to the de Havelet.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnToncent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the food and service in our restaurant. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wow! My first stay at this hotel and it was very good indeed. My room was overlooking the pond & fountains just across from the Pool area which was impressive. The room was spacious and the en-suite very good, all staff very attentive and helpful. The walk down the hill to the waterfront is around 10 minutes and if you like to keep fit the challenge of walking back up certainly dosn't disappoint!
So all in all - very good and yes i'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the staff and I will be looking forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
269 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just back from another visit to Guernsey for a family wedding and again stayed at De Havelet. This time I was with other family members and we had three double bedrooms. As on my previous visit the staff very friendly and helpful and arranged for gluten free bread/toast for my breakfast. The hotel also arranged car hire via Hertz and as promised the car was waiting for collection at the airport. An excellent buffet breakfast is served together with a choice of items for those wanting a cooked meal. We had booked three double rooms and while 2 of them had heating problems, this matter was attended to immediately and there were no problems. The only negative thing was a quick lunch we had in the Bar & Restaurant. Perhaps we made a bad choice, but the buffet lunch was very disappointing. We should perhaps have eaten at the Wellington Boot restaurant which served an excellent lunch on my last visit. The pool area is clean and warm and we all enjoyed an afternoon there either in the pool, steam room, sauna or jacuzzi.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor I have passed your kind comments on to the staff and I am glad to hear that your heating problems were attended efficiently. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your bar lunch in our saddle bar, I have taken on board your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex. England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hi.

We have visited and stayed in Guernsey a few times. Based on the good reviews that this hotel gets on tripadvisor we decided to give this hotel a try for the first time. We stayed in this hotel over the Easter weekend (Friday and Saturday night) on a B&B basis and have to say that we were a little disappointed.

To start with when we booked we were not made aware of the very steep hill climb to get to the hotel although I understand now that they do run a minibus from the hotel to the bus terminal. The hill climb did not worry us but I can see it might be a problem for other guests.
The room, number 20, was called a superior room. It was a good size, clean, comfortable but in need of some basic refurbishment. Some of the wallpaper was starting to peel of the walls and some paint was coming off the radiators in the room and bathroom in places. Our main complaint was the noise that was made by people walking around the room above ours and talking. This was especially bad at 5am in the morning. Also, the noise of the plumbing which we found very annoying again early in the morning.
The food. On the first morning that we had breakfast it seemed to be disorganised in the restaurant also the service seemed slow. We heard one guest complaining that he had been waiting 25minutes for his breakfast. The second morning that we had breakfast seemed to be more organised. We eat at the hotel on one evening in the Grill Room. The food was Ok but nothing special.
Overall The Hotel De Havelet was ok and the staff were good but I find it difficult to see how it comes Number 2 of hotels in Guernsey and listed higher than "The Old Government House Hotel" and "The Fermain Valley Hotel".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet. I am sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed, please be assured that your feedback is important to us. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show the quality and service which we are known for.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our third visit to the hotel and it certainly won't be our last. Since our last visit there has obviously been a lot of money spent in redecorating the dining room, which has a fresh, new appearance. As usual, the room was of an excellent standard and spotlessly clean.

The best assets of the hotel have to be the excellent, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble and the excellent food that is served in the restaurant. Another reviewer commented on how the staff remember guests from year to year and we have definitely found this to be the case.

A nice touch at Christmas was the Christmas card we received from the hotel which was signed by many members of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor, I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay once again with us. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and I appreciate your nice comments about the refurbishment too and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Lovely old manor house full of charm with quality and tranquil lounge areas for sitting and reading. Great views from the breakfast/dining room over Castle Cornet with an excellent selection of breakfast items, good coffee and attentive staff. We did not eat in the restaurant but the menu looked very tempting. Although it is definitely a sharp pull back up the hill from a 10 minute walk into the town this should not give you any problems unless you are not very fit.Friendly and helpful staff. Indoor pool nice but a little on the small side and the changing areas very small. Otherwise a lovely stay and a very comfortable bed in a quiet area. It was a pity there was scaffolding up whilst we there which spoiled the view somewhat but we had been informed on our invoice but hadn't noticed.

Room Tip: At the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLilian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as you mention in your review I am happy to announce that the maintenance work has been completed and that the scaffolding is coming down this week and as for the steep hill we do run a shuttle bus from April to October to and from the hotel. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind regards



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing