We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday at Hotel De Havelet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was our ninth stay, and each one gets better thanks to the management and hard working staff in all Departments, nothing being too much trouble
The Wellington Boot Restaurant has recently been refurnished and offers brilliant choices and quality of food with efficient service

Room Tip: Personally we prefer a superior room in the main house, but they are all very well furnished with en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. I have passed your kind comments unto all the staff and we look forward to seeing you soon at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

In this, my second stay at the Hotel de Havelet, I opted for a deluxe room. It was a lovely corner room, with beautiful views of the garden. The hotel itself is perched up on the hillside overlooking the St. Peter Port harbor--the views are gorgeous. And the staff could not have been more helpful. The pool, sauna, steam room are great (though the pool chemicals were a bit strong the day I went.) Breakfast is huge, delicious, and varied. My only suggestion: They might try to hire wait staff who understand English a little bit better.

Room Tip: My corner room had beautiful windows and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Part-timeParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Believe all the positive reviews, just how can you say anything bad about this hotel. It's fantastic value, the rooms were cleaned daily including bank holidays, everything replaced and restocked. All facilities worked. The leisure room was a must for the kids and Dad loved the sauna/steam room, not to mention jacuzzi! plenty of towels, loungers and outside area to sun bathe on, even a spin dryer to dry the cossies after showering.

We went with the kids and thought Guernsey might be a bit sleepy, but this hotel is prime location above St Peter Port with wonderful views out to sea from the restaurants and bar, which we tried and were not disappointed. Ok some of the set meals are in the bar are a little sparse on the plate, but otherwise the service was great and the breakfast offering wide enough for anyone that wants a full stomach before exploring.

The staff will point you out the best places to visit, loads of leaflets around, there is a hotel shuttle bus - we didn't use, because we liked the hill walk and otherwise used car hire again sorted by the hotel reception. Budget £70 to just over a £100 if you want 2-3 days. They booked taxi's to and from the airport which cost between £12-15 depending who's driving. In fact hard to fault any of the many smiling staff on service, they just seem to have a want to please attitude and it really comes across as sincere.

They also advised us where to go for the Sark and herm trips, which you really can't miss when you reach the harbour walk. Herm island is a must in good weather, not only is it a fun crossing(about £33 for a family of 4), but the beaches are sooo quiet and just stunning. Do take a book, something for the kids and suntan lotion though, as little in the way of much else apart from the pubs and hotel. Back to St Peter PortThe harbour is loaded with places to eat and many do promotions for set meals - ideal for kids, between 6-7.00 p.m(odd ones up to 8.00 p.m). Mora is typical of this, as is Smugglers. The Boathouse too though we never ate there. All on the front and i'd say worth a trip for evening meals.

As for trips out, we did the German underground Hospital, the little Chapel(nice if you're into that sort of thing), the occupation museum(bit of culture), Oaklands for crazy golf, more beaches on the west side, Victor Hugo house - now thats real culture for an hour, if that floats your boat, otherwise bit boring for kids after awile Unlike the Castle Cornet - how many museums!! Plenty others we just never got round to. You can practically drive every inch of the island in a day though, just depends how long you want to spend at each stop really.

Anyway, would I recommend Guernsey for a family break, oh yes and as for the hotel... absolutely!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and food provided in the Hotel and on the Island as a whole. I have passed on your kind comments on to the whole team and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just returned from Guernsey where we stayed in the Hotel De Havelet in St Peter Port. This was our first trip to Guernsey so consequently our first stay at the De Havelet hotel, it will not be our last! The island is wonderful and the hotel is superb.
The management and staff have a fantastic can do attitude and it appeared that nothing is too much trouble for them, just ask it's as simple as that, from the general manager down they were all incredibly helpful.
The breakfast had a great choice of food from the full english to the cold ham and cheese and all the choices between which were many. The four course table d'hote evening menu was possibly the best I have seen with a great selection of food which was prepared to a very high standard. Lots of local people eat here which in an island with lots of restaurants speaks for itself
The room was spacious with a very large bed (even got a choice of pillows) and contained all our needs, it was also kept extremely clean and tidy by the house keeping staff. We were in the courtyard near to the swimming pool which was also spotless and an excellent amenity for this wonderful hotel.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for an excellent holiday and we will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am very happy to read that you liked the new look and the food served in the Wellington Boot restaurant once again. I have passed on your kind comments onto the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from a 3N stay. Cant fault anything. All staff in all arears of the hotel were friendly, efficient and helpful. Had a superior room with a lovely comfortable large bed. We were fortunate enough to have a small glazed balcony area which was a delight in the late afternoon sun. The bedroom was cleaned daily to a high standard. The pool area was well looked after with beds, towels, magazines and chilled drinking water. The breakfasts were buffet for your cereals, pastries etc. The hot food was cooked to order. We eat in the Wellington restaurant every night during our stay - the food was most enjoyable with 1st class service from the waiter/ress. The Table D'hote menu was very good value. The bar staff made you feel welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is located a short downhill walk to the bus station and the shops. The walk up the steep hill back to the hotel may not be for all. This is a small 3* hotel which gives its guests a 5* service. Would I return - yes.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a half glazed balcony area - fab for your early morning cuppa and the late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mascarasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor about your recent stay at our property, I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the food and facilities provided and I have passed on your kind comments on to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

...which leaves me with a bit of a problem in rating it, since I'd already given the de Havelet the highest "5* excellent" review back in 2008; if I could improve on this now, I would!

Little more to add to what I reported then: the food is excellent; the staff here are a really big asset to this hotel; the main dining room (with its fantastic view over Castle Cornet and out to Herm) has now been fully refurbished and looks much more attractive. In a rapidly changing world (and not always for the better!), there are many "constants" here - good service, good staff, lots of repeat guests (speaks for itself), and comfortable and immaculately clean rooms and public areas.

We've booked again.
Definitely one of our favourite holiday spots.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am very happy to read that you liked the new look and the food served in the Wellington Boot restaurant once again. I have passed on your kind comments onto the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Mr. & Mrs. Booth. York. We have visited Guernsey a number of times but this was our first time at the De Havelet and we certainly found it to be first class. What a really good hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. The room and hotel in general was spotless. Food was of a very high standard and the service/presentation could not be faulted. The pool area was always clean and well maintained. we would recommend the De Havelet to anyone. A most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Mr and Mrs Booth, thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your first visit at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet.
I have passed your kind comments on to the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £68 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing