We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 4 days from June 23rd to celebrate my 60th birthday and it was absolutelly wonderful ! Staff were most weloming and had left a bottle of Prosecco on ice in our room which was a lovely gesture and much appreciated! Our room was spacious and comfortable The food was outstanding excellent quality , wide variety beautifully presented in fact the best Hotel food ever! Nothing seems too much trouble for any of the staff Thank-you for a wonderful "birthday break"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our hotel. I am very happy to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy to celebrate your birthday in our property. I was also happy that you liked the food and facilities provided. I have passed your kind comments onto staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    129
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
93
459
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
913 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked a four night stay in a Deluxe some ten months ago and expected a better view than over rooftops at the back of the hotel (Room 22). Having said that the room was large, clean and serviced every day. It could however have benefited from a coat of gloss paint on the woodwork as it looked rather tired. The Flat Screen TV on the wall had an excellent picture but there was no guide indicating what channels were received! The Tea and Coffee Tray was supplemented with a Sachet of Hot Chocolate and Six (sometimes eight) small chocolate squares each day. We had a large Bathroom with an over the bath shower. This had a handle on the wall which I found a great help. I thought that I had booked Bed and Breakfast but was told that I hadn't and to upgrade would be £16 per day. This I consider to be excessive for our usual Continental Breakfast but there was no negotiation with this figure. As a result we ate breakfast in Waitrose on two mornings and had croissants in our room on the other days. The hotel could do with Air Conditioning throughout. The WiFi is one of the fastest I have had for free anywhere I have stayed.

Outside, the car park is quite small only having parking for about thirty vehicles and has two Disabled Spaces that were not properly policed, as there was a BMW parked for two days without moving. This should be policed more strictly. There is a separate in and out drive for the car park which was obviously a great help as the road outside (in common with most roads) was narrow. There are many tables and chairs in the courtyard and appropriate Garden Umbrellas that are wonderful for sitting in the balmy evenings.

We ate in the hotel on each of the four evenings, two nights in the Grill off the Bar and two in the Wellington Boot upstairs.Each night we ate off the Summer Menu that advertised a Three Course Meal For Two including Wine and coffee for £45. This was exceptional value as the wine alone was priced at £19.50! We both agreed that the Wellington Boot Chefs were better than the Chefs in The Grill despite working to identical menus! In particular my Steak in the Grill cooked Medium Well was slightly under cooked, whereas in the 'Boot' was perfect, except that my Tomatoes were missing. My wife's Tapenade was totally different in both restaurants, with the 'Boot' winning hands down! Vegetables were served in a side dish instead of being placed on plates. My Fruit Chutney was missed off my Port Terraine. My Mint Chocolate Fondant was more like Chocolate Sponge in the Grill, whereas in the 'Boot' it had a delicious runny inside. Finally we received a Pot of Coffee instead of individual cups! I would therefore recommend booking a table in the Wellington Boot the night before.

All of the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful. Two Restaurant Staff in particular Pietro and Laura (who was a Trainee) stood out. The General Manager visited the 'Boot' on the two evening we dined and spoke to everyone but we did not see him in The Grill on the other two. He was interested in our opinions and was very approachable.

As already stated in previous reviews, the hotel stands on a hill which is rather steep. There is however a Mini Bus down to the town and back several times each morning starting at 09.00 until the last morning return at 12.30. In addition there is one late afternoon return at 17.30 from the town. On Tuesdays and Thursdays there is a free three hour tour of the island in the Mini Bus. This is a lottery as the eight seats cannot be booked in advance and they are booked between the three hotels in the Sarnia Hotels Group. Unfortunately we did not manage to go!

Room Tip: A Deluxe Room is larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. The team and I are obviously disappointed to see that we did not exceed your expectations in a few areas. We are all extremely proud of our hotel and will use your comments to review the areas you have raised comments about.
Our staff will be pleased to see that you have mentioned them as friendly and helpful; they do pride themselves on providing excellent customer service. I will pass on your compliments to Pietro and Laura and the rest of the team and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet again for a second visit.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We visited the De Havelet in June of this year. The location at the top of a rather steep hill was not perfect but without the climb there wouldn't have been the lovely view over the Port, and we could have made use of the hotel shuttle service had we wished.
The room we had was quite adequate for our needs and close to the leisure facilities .It was a was well and show interest in ,and help with guests plans for the day .
We ate dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food ,so much so that instead of sampling the fare at local restaurants as we normally do ,we dined at the hotel most evenings,
The fixed price dinner which included a bottle of good house wine was at £50 for two excellent value.
All this coupled with a team who were invariably friendly and polite made our weeks holiday most pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room comfortable. I’m also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed all the facilities in the hotel and the meals offered in our restaurants. I have passed your comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have visited Guernsey for many years, sometimes twice a year, and stayed in a variety of hotels and self catering. I have never considered this hotel before nor even seen it as it is tucked away at one end of St Peter Port but it was highly rated on Trip Advisor so thought we would try it. What a great find - it was excellent value for money and I will definitely stay there again. It is up a steep hill from the town and is a quiet road but is only about a 10/15 minute walk from town and has its own car park which is a big plus as parking in the town can be difficult. The staff were excellent - they were very friendly and genuinely wanted to do what they could to ensure you enjoyed your stay. The manager was always around talking to guests and has clearly set high standards at the hotel. Two good restaurants and a bar menu so plenty of choice and excellent breakfasts. There is a great little leisure area of heated indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, shower and changing rooms and a small garden for relaxing or sunbathing which is sheltered from the wind - plenty of towels and swimming goggles available. Bedroom was a good size and kept clean daily - it had tea/coffee, trouser press, iron and a little sun room - no air con but plenty of air via the sun room. Free wifi everywhere was very useful. This is listed as a 3 star hotel but it is much more than that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the facilities which we offer. It is a pleasure to know that after trying many establishments you have found us. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We are local to Guernsey and chose the Hotel because of the warm welcome and exceptional staff that the hotel has. We regularly visit for food and drinks and are always greeted like friends. Genero is a first class general manager and attended to our every wish for our wedding reception and stay. Our Wedding Reception was held outside on the terrace with exceptional views and an informal ambiance which is excatly what we wanted. We were helped by the weather however the day was just fabulous and the Management and Staff are amazing. We cannot recommend the Hotel and its staff enough to anyone for either a stay or a function at this Hotel - you will not be disappointed. The food was amazing, the service outstanding and the whole day was an absolute joy. No other word for it exceptional.

Room Tip: Every room is beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and has all the amenities you could wish fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. Firstly, let me thank for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for your wedding venue. It was a pleasure to be of your service on this special occasion and I am pleased to read that you have had a wonderful day and we could make it a memorable one. I have passed your kind comments on to the team.
Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.

Kind regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

a large group of friends (24) of us spent 3/4 nights at this hotel. the rooms are comfortable clean and have everything you need including free wi-fi. the restaurant has the most amazing views, is relaxing while serving excellent food, at reasonable prices.
But the STAFF are amongst the best i have ever encountered. friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
if you are going to Guernsey, and this hotel falls within your price bracket,i recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Guernsey and BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet. I am very pleased that your friends and yourself have enjoyed the facilities and food provided in the hotel and I have passed your kind comments onto our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Words really aren't enough to describe how great this hotel is, true, it's up a steep hill, but the views over the harbour are worth it. the staff are exceptional, very attentive, polite and knowledgeable. The food was fantastic, a great deal on the set menu for 2 people, three courses and a bottle of house wine for £45, there was also a great selection of other foods and for informal dining, there was a bar menu. the hotel has a courtesy bus to the town which was handy and ran at regular times. They even had a free round the island trip on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons, an extra added bonus. I cannot express how truly wonderful the staff are at this hotel, words really cannot convey how great they all made our holiday and we hope to return as soon an we possibly can

Room Tip: rooms to the front and right side as you are facing the hotel have the better views although no room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Wow what a great review, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am so happy to read that you have enjoyed the island tour, food and service in our restaurants, I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we all at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet are looking forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
842 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing