We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A great hotel with wonderful views over the bay from the restaurant. Rooms spacious and bathrooms a joy to behold. Beware the climb up to the hotel from the Esplanade if you are walking, it is steep. That being said, there is a courtesy bus and taxis abound, so you should be well served. The food is terrific and the staff courteous and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We always take great pleasure in reading wonderful reviews like yours and knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we do appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave your comments.
I am also pleased to know that the size of your Bedroom made it a very comfortable experience for both of you and thank you for mentioning the staff as courteous and friendly. I will pass your kind words on to them and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    121
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
88
438
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
In the country
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and had booked based on the reviews we'd seen on Tripadvisor. They didn't let us down as the hotel was lovely and the welcome from the staff and service for the rest of our stay was superb. We hadn't planned on eating at the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants in St Peter Port but the menu looked good, so we gave it a go - twice! Our first meal was in the bar restaurant. The barman (I think he was called Jan) was really welcoming and helped make it a very enjoyable evening. A couple of days later we tried their other restaurant, The Wellington Boot and had their fixed price summer menu which was fantastic value for money. The breakfasts were really good too.

The only downside for some people would be that the walk to the town involves a very steep hill which on a hot day can feel like quite a challenge. That said, it probably did us some good to get the exercise.

A charming hotel, with wonderful staff - we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshiregirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! I am pleased that you chose BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet based on other guests reviews and that the hotel lived up to your expectations and had a very comfortable stay.
I am also glad to read that you received welcoming service from the staff especially from Jan, I have already passed on your kind words to them, who genuinely enjoy assisting our guests and pride themselves in providing the very best level of customer service and are very proud of being St Peter Port’s No1 hotel.
We would like to thank you once again for your wonderful review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My family and I have just returned from a stay at the De Havelet, the location is good, the spa is great , the food excellent and the staff very helpful. I had the misfortune to break my ankle shortly after my arrival and the management and the staff could not have done more for me. They even collected my Husband from the hospital at 2 am Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am really sorry for the misfortune accident, however I am delighted to read that we managed to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and that the entire team left a positive impression with you. I am also pleased that the hotel facilities and the location were up to your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for your kind compliments and recommendation and look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another visit.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very enjoyable stay at this well maintained and comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good choice of meals available and cooked to perfection! Excellent leisure facilities, indoor pool etc. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Allocated room at the top of the house quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet and share it with other travellers. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, you found the location and the grounds of the hotel along with our health suite pleasant and the meals served in the dinning rooms were up to your satisfaction.

We really appreciate all the great comments you have made and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another visit.

Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel location is brilliant for those who want to explore St peter port. The hotel is very well looked after the building and it grounds are beautiful. The service was excellent all staff were attentive to our needs. The Food was brilliant as I have been on lots of cruises found the food to be of that standard if not better. Room was very spacious had a great view of very well tended garden. The hotel has a great spa area for rainy days not that we had any but the facilities were excellent. Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank demonicmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food and service in our restaurants along with all our facilities. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we all at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet are looking forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great room with fabulous views. The hotel is very conveniently located and the staff is friendly and always helpful. We ate dinner at the hotel several times as well as breakfast every day and the food was consistantly delicious. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scheub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Another glorious review, thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to post this lovely review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am pleased to know that you had a very comfortable visit and the features and amenities of the hotel met your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation and mentioning the staff as friendly and helpful, they will be delighted to read your kind comments and we all look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another great visit!

Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our second visit to the hotel. This time we had rooms facing the sea which were lovely. Another very pleasant stay, staff all attentive, good breakfasts and an enjoyable meal in the Havelt Grill.
Children enjoyed daily swims in the swimming pool.
Last time we visited was in the Autumn, this time it was really good to be able to sit on the terrace and have lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
I am pleased to read that you and your family had another enjoyable visit with us, and we very much appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel. Your feedback on the service, the food is much appreciated. I am glad that the little ones enjoyed the swimming pool and also that you had a wonderful weather too! I can ensure that your kind comments will be passed on the team and we look forward to welcome you all back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another holiday.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing