We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality and service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel overlooks St Peter's Bay and it's Wellington Boot restaurant offers diners a stunning view. The restaurant as well as the Grill room provide superb food which is well-served by a team of dedicated professionals. Dinner and breakfast were freshly cooked to order. The service of all staff is high quality, personal and friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable, and extremely clean and well-managed. We were in a ground floor room overlooking a pretty courtyard with water feature and can honestly say that it was one of the quietest rooms we have stayed in which was really good. As others have said, the pool area is delightful, spotlessly clean and never overcrowded despite the hotel being fairly busy. Free internet access throughout the hotel is also a welcome added bonus. The hotel offers free courtesy transport to the town centre several times a day although because we like to walk we didn't make use of this, they also offer a free bus tour on a couple of afternoons a week. The staff here are truly outstanding and if we make a return trip to Guernsey we would definitely like to book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post such a detailed review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! As so many of our guests use TripAdvisor when planning their visits, the expectation is always high based on previous guest experiences. I am so delighted that your expectations were exceeded during your stay with us.
As you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and I can assure you they will appreciate your kind comments you have made.
Please feel free to contact us again when you planning your next visit to Guernsey it would be our pleasure to assist where at all possible. Look forward to welcoming you both back for another memorable holiday!

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    124
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
88
443
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a fabulous week at this hotel. Its was perfect for us in every way.
Great location, good hotel, excellent staff, fantastic food and weather was glorious.
Our room was fabulous - spacious, with balcony giving easy access to the great view from its location on the hill. Nice steady walk into town meant we could leave the car behind if going shopping or taking the ferries to Herm and Sark.

The 3 star rating does not convey the hotels true high standards. The food is fantastic, great choice and variety – all cooked to order. Wonderful combinations of flavours – chef is a genius. This applies to standard and A la carte menus.

As for the staff, they are all brilliant, they make you feel they are there to make your stay perfect for YOU , done with pleasure and a smile. This comes from the manager who is very friendly but also hands on. Outstanding. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and my wife’s birthday which the staff made each occasion special by adding some personal touches.

I am a keen cyclist and took one of my bikes. The hotel not only stored my bike but the restaurant manager took me round the island showing me great locations. Its only 24 miles round and fairly flat so excellent way to see hidden coves.

Cannot recommend the hotel high enough

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but for that special event the room with the balcony is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Another glorious review, thank you very much! I was delighted to read your feedback and glad that you had a most enjoyable stay and your expectations were met in all areas of our service and in the facilities we provide. I am also glad that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and you were happy with the range of choices. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the staff too, as you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and will be pleased to read your kind compliments.

Thank you once again for your time and effort to review our hotel and for your recommendation. We all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another enjoyable stay.



Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for our Silver Wedding last week. Excellent accommodation, superb food, caring staff who without exception from the Manager down make you feel very welcome. The extra touches, wine in our room for our anniversary, flowers picked from the garden with a personally made birthday card courtesy of the housekeeper on my birthday. Beautiful harbour view location, the rest of the Island is easily accessible St.Peterport within a short walking distance with a courtesy bus from the hotel for those who don't want to take the hill.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but there is a balcony room if want something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! I appreciate your overall excellent rating and delighted to read that you had such a memorable holiday. While it is certainly very important to us to provide a comfortable stay it will always remain our main interest to build meaningful relationships with our Guests. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the Havelet for a week at the end of June on Half Board. The hotel arranged for a taxi to collect us at the airport and also for our car hire. On arrival at 12noon our room was ready which was great because we had had an early start and two flights to get to the island. We had chosen the Junior Suite (Room 20) and were really pleased with it. It was set aside from the rest of the rooms and had an outside door which led to the terrace and the garden. It was exceptionally clean with a super comfortable king sized bed and a large walk-in shower and a bath. Because we had booked a suite there was a bunch of red roses, a bottle of wine and some handmade chocolates waiting for us on arrival.
As other reviewers have noted the staff are outstanding, their attitude to customer care is excellent, nothing is too much trouble, from the girl on reception to the waiting staff (esp. Stoyche, Gosia, Victor and Laura). Either the Gennaro Festivo the General manager or his deputy checked with us daily when we were in the dining room that everything was fine.
We ate each morning and evening in the Wellington Boot which was up a tricky spiral staircase but with wonderful views over the harbour. The menu changed daily and the food was beautifully cooked. There was a slight glitch on a couple of night when the service was very slow – taking some 2 ½ hours for the meal – this was at the weekend and I think they are a victim of their own success however the homemade bread was so good, as was the view, we didn’t mind.
Lunch in the Saddle bar was also excellent and very reasonable.
Overall a brilliant hotel, well managed and with delightful staff who are focused on pleasing the customer. Highly Recommended!
Now – “the Hill” there is no doubt that this would be an issue for the less fit of us. However from our point of view it was well worth it to find such a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 20, the Junior Suite - your own front door direct to the terrace and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! I was delighted to read your feedback and glad that the two of you had a most relaxing stay with us, enjoying the comfort and the “little extras” of our Junior Suite. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of the hotel, it is nice for our ‘behind the scenes’ staff to feel appreciated too. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great dining experience and the meals were up to your complete satisfaction. As you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and will be pleased to read your kind compliments. I will pass your personal notes onto Stoyche, Gosia, Victor and Laura.

Thank you once again for your time and effort to review our hotel and we all look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another memorable stay.


Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
Genneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel de Havelet a couple of time. Lovely warm welcome from the very friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable rooms standard and superior and would recommend either of them. Good facilities. Great deals available, give it a try.

Room Tip: Standard and superior very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brnotyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at our property. It is always a great pleasure to read reviews like yours! I am pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your recommendation.

I have passed your kind words on to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet, hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very comfortable hotel, with excellent rooms and good food. We particularly enjoyed the droll American gentleman, Bobby, who provides a taxi service up and down the hill to the centre of St Peter Port. Would highly recommend his half day tour round the island - a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_cG8084GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments and posting them on TripAdvisor following your recent stay! I am pleased to read that you were happy with all the features and service provided by the hotel, specially our free daily service and island tour. I will share this lovely review with the team and especially with Bobby. We are all looking forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another memorable stay.
Kind Regards


Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed on a business trip but look forward to returning on HOLIDAY.
A first class stay at Hotel de Havelet. Excellent, helpful and very friendly service from all the staff in particular Reception. The room was very clean, comfortable and serviced to a high standard. Food excellent well presented and served. The hotel is very peaceful set in well kept tranquil gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you had a first class stay with us and that you found the hotel grounds and location with the stunning views ideal. It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback on our service too and as I always do, I will pass your kind compliments on to the team.
I would like thank you once again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing