We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is well located with views of the harbour .Although not actually in the town centre, it is in easy walking distance.The room was large and attractive and had all the usual facilities one would expect.The restaurant offered good service and choice.The breakfast selection and quality were excellent. The hotel has a lovely pool with steam room ,sauna and jacuzzi and provides robes and towels for hotel guests.This hotel has enormous potential and is in the process of some selective improvements which it will benefit from .The superb customer service is this hotels great strength.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khill02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time sharing your great experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet with other TripAdvisor site readers. I am glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us, and the hotel facilities, amenities and the location lived up to your complete satisfaction. We appreciate your kind words regarding our customer service too, and would like to say thank you on behalf of the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet!

Kind Regards


Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a relaxing break. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the beds were so comfortable. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much bother. Ate in both the Grill Room and the Wellington Boot for 2 nights and the food could not be faulted. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in St Peter Port.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jakdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments and especially for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. I am delighted to read that your overall stay was an enjoyable one and you were happy with all our facilities and service provided. I am happy to read that you found your room comfortable and clean, and the food was also up to your satisfaction. Thank you very much once again for this wonderful review and recommendation, it will be my pleasure to share it with my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another memorable stay.
Kind Regards


Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel thanks to Sandis and his excellent team. The room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The leisure facilities (swimming pool) was the first stop after long days going around the island. The staff were as helpful as always, which makes the stay a pleasure. Thanks for making our stay great. Sandra Morgan

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your great experience with other fellow travellers. It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning Guests, especially when we know how much they have enjoyed their stay on each occasions. I am also happy to learn that you really liked the refurbishments, as we always strive to exceed our Guests’ satisfaction by improving our standards and deliver the best service possible.
Thank you once again for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet, hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel overlooks St Peter's Bay and it's Wellington Boot restaurant offers diners a stunning view. The restaurant as well as the Grill room provide superb food which is well-served by a team of dedicated professionals. Dinner and breakfast were freshly cooked to order. The service of all staff is high quality, personal and friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable, and extremely clean and well-managed. We were in a ground floor room overlooking a pretty courtyard with water feature and can honestly say that it was one of the quietest rooms we have stayed in which was really good. As others have said, the pool area is delightful, spotlessly clean and never overcrowded despite the hotel being fairly busy. Free internet access throughout the hotel is also a welcome added bonus. The hotel offers free courtesy transport to the town centre several times a day although because we like to walk we didn't make use of this, they also offer a free bus tour on a couple of afternoons a week. The staff here are truly outstanding and if we make a return trip to Guernsey we would definitely like to book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post such a detailed review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! As so many of our guests use TripAdvisor when planning their visits, the expectation is always high based on previous guest experiences. I am so delighted that your expectations were exceeded during your stay with us.
As you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and I can assure you they will appreciate your kind comments you have made.
Please feel free to contact us again when you planning your next visit to Guernsey it would be our pleasure to assist where at all possible. Look forward to welcoming you both back for another memorable holiday!

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a fabulous week at this hotel. Its was perfect for us in every way.
Great location, good hotel, excellent staff, fantastic food and weather was glorious.
Our room was fabulous - spacious, with balcony giving easy access to the great view from its location on the hill. Nice steady walk into town meant we could leave the car behind if going shopping or taking the ferries to Herm and Sark.

The 3 star rating does not convey the hotels true high standards. The food is fantastic, great choice and variety – all cooked to order. Wonderful combinations of flavours – chef is a genius. This applies to standard and A la carte menus.

As for the staff, they are all brilliant, they make you feel they are there to make your stay perfect for YOU , done with pleasure and a smile. This comes from the manager who is very friendly but also hands on. Outstanding. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and my wife’s birthday which the staff made each occasion special by adding some personal touches.

I am a keen cyclist and took one of my bikes. The hotel not only stored my bike but the restaurant manager took me round the island showing me great locations. Its only 24 miles round and fairly flat so excellent way to see hidden coves.

Cannot recommend the hotel high enough

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but for that special event the room with the balcony is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Another glorious review, thank you very much! I was delighted to read your feedback and glad that you had a most enjoyable stay and your expectations were met in all areas of our service and in the facilities we provide. I am also glad that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and you were happy with the range of choices. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the staff too, as you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and will be pleased to read your kind compliments.

Thank you once again for your time and effort to review our hotel and for your recommendation. We all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another enjoyable stay.



Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for our Silver Wedding last week. Excellent accommodation, superb food, caring staff who without exception from the Manager down make you feel very welcome. The extra touches, wine in our room for our anniversary, flowers picked from the garden with a personally made birthday card courtesy of the housekeeper on my birthday. Beautiful harbour view location, the rest of the Island is easily accessible St.Peterport within a short walking distance with a courtesy bus from the hotel for those who don't want to take the hill.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but there is a balcony room if want something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! I appreciate your overall excellent rating and delighted to read that you had such a memorable holiday. While it is certainly very important to us to provide a comfortable stay it will always remain our main interest to build meaningful relationships with our Guests. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the Havelet for a week at the end of June on Half Board. The hotel arranged for a taxi to collect us at the airport and also for our car hire. On arrival at 12noon our room was ready which was great because we had had an early start and two flights to get to the island. We had chosen the Junior Suite (Room 20) and were really pleased with it. It was set aside from the rest of the rooms and had an outside door which led to the terrace and the garden. It was exceptionally clean with a super comfortable king sized bed and a large walk-in shower and a bath. Because we had booked a suite there was a bunch of red roses, a bottle of wine and some handmade chocolates waiting for us on arrival.
As other reviewers have noted the staff are outstanding, their attitude to customer care is excellent, nothing is too much trouble, from the girl on reception to the waiting staff (esp. Stoyche, Gosia, Victor and Laura). Either the Gennaro Festivo the General manager or his deputy checked with us daily when we were in the dining room that everything was fine.
We ate each morning and evening in the Wellington Boot which was up a tricky spiral staircase but with wonderful views over the harbour. The menu changed daily and the food was beautifully cooked. There was a slight glitch on a couple of night when the service was very slow – taking some 2 ½ hours for the meal – this was at the weekend and I think they are a victim of their own success however the homemade bread was so good, as was the view, we didn’t mind.
Lunch in the Saddle bar was also excellent and very reasonable.
Overall a brilliant hotel, well managed and with delightful staff who are focused on pleasing the customer. Highly Recommended!
Now – “the Hill” there is no doubt that this would be an issue for the less fit of us. However from our point of view it was well worth it to find such a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 20, the Junior Suite - your own front door direct to the terrace and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for the fabulous review! I was delighted to read your feedback and glad that the two of you had a most relaxing stay with us, enjoying the comfort and the “little extras” of our Junior Suite. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of the hotel, it is nice for our ‘behind the scenes’ staff to feel appreciated too. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great dining experience and the meals were up to your complete satisfaction. As you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help and will be pleased to read your kind compliments. I will pass your personal notes onto Stoyche, Gosia, Victor and Laura.

Thank you once again for your time and effort to review our hotel and we all look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another memorable stay.


Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
Genneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £65 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing