We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, friendly hotel but shame about the hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty, friendly hotel but shame about the hill.”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed three nights and cannot fault the helpfulness of the staff. Evening meals were excellent and breakfast freshly cooked. The views from restaurant were amazing. Only downside was the hill! We took a taxi from town at £4.40 which was worth it. Swimming pool was lovely - with jacuzzi, sauna & steam room. We had downstairs suite which was a very nice room opening onto the terrace. The greatest bargain of the trip was the 60p bus ride round the island - take number 7 from town - bus goes clockwise right round the island. You can get off and on where you like (but have to pay 60p to get back on).

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    129
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
93
459
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2009

From the day we arrived to thye day we left we found the hotel and its staff first class.
The meals on offer each day were outstanding in choise and quality.

The room was exelent and was cleaned to perfection .

Overall we could not fault anything and we thank you for the wonderful stay with you

Mr and Mrs J Gordon

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnwwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This hotel has it all; close to town but quiet; the friendliest staff I have ever encountered; the rooms are exeptional; the food is destructive to the diet but wonderful for the taste buds with extensive choices every night; relaxed; highly recommended. Our sixth visit in five years and if it were closer to home it would have been more.
Can't praise it highly enough

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verybusylady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

It may be up hill from the town and the decor may be a little old fashioned but the service, cleanliness and food more than make up for this. If you want super modern go to London ! The staff were always very pleasant and helpful. The indoor pool was spotlessly clean and warm. We would certainly visit here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasider-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My parents, sister and I stayed at the De Havelet Hotel from Friday 27 March to Monday 30 March 2009 on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Check-in was quick and the staff very friendly and helpful. They asked if we wanted newspapers delivered, wake-up calls, etc. and explained when the main door closed at night and what we needed to do to get back into the hotel.

The hotel is located at the top of a steep road, with excellent views across the bay. It is about a 12 minute gentle walk downhill to the High Street in St Peter Port, but can be a tiring walk back up to the hotel.

We had a double room each. My mother, sister and I were in three adjacent rooms (rooms 7, 8, 9) on the ground floor. These almost identical rooms were spacious with a king-size bed (or possibly two single beds pushed together). The bed was comfortable, with four pillows. In addition, each room had a small fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer, colour TV, clock/radio and direct-dial telephone. There was sufficient lighting in the room to enable you to read at night. The full-length wardrobe had a good supply of hangers and there were plenty of drawers. The bathroom was of a good size (with bath and overhead shower), was clean, bright and airy. In each bathroom there were good quality white towels and complimentary toiletries.

My father was in room 20, also on the ground floor. This was as stunningly huge room, with a separate area with a sofa-bed, large rectangular coffee table and private access to a small patio leading to the garden. (This was handy for my father who could nip out for a cigarette, as smoking is not permitted in the rooms or other communal areas). The bathroom was larger, with bidet, and equipped with all the essentials.

The hotel had a pool and Jacuzzi, which we did not use, but which were well used by the other guests.

Breakfast and dinner were served in the Wellington Boot Restaurant, on the first floor of a building next to the hotel. The Havelet Grill is on the ground floor, where lunch is served to guests and locals. Breakfast and dinner can only be described as excellent and plentiful. For breakfast, there is ample choice of cereals, croissants, fruit, conserves and juices, from the self-service buffet. The waiters take orders for tea and coffee and cooked breakfast (full English, omelettes, toast, grilled haddock, boiled eggs, whatever your choice). It is best to help yourself to the self-service buffet, as it can take a good while for the cooked breakfast to arrive. If you're in a hurry, don't order a cooked breakfast. Dinner is from a set menu (which changed daily when we were there), with a choice of two entrees, two starters, thee/four main courses, and a slection of desserts. The food is very good, although we thought that some of the main dishes were too large. The waiters were extremely attentive, friendly, polite and helpful.

Okay, so what are the down points? Some of the paintwork around the windows in the bedrooms need touching up. The carpet in the undercover courtyard hallway was water stained. The heating in room 9 was inconsistent (this was reported to the management when we left). However, the standard of the carpet elsewhere was good and the hotel grounds and garden well-kept.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venezia1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

nice location on a hill with some nice views. Not great if you're walking though as it's quite a killer hill.

The decor is outdated, like a lot of Guernsey hotels it's a bit like England was about 25 years ago in terms of service and decoration. I stayed in a very peculiar wood clad austrian ski hut type room with rather primitive facilities.

The restaurant was alright i spose, wouldn't personally choose to eat there again though, much better places in Guernsey to eat. Staff were friendly enough. It had an indoor pool with jacuzzi and a smallish sauna.

I seem to recall it was fairly quiet.

Depends on your budget i guess, but it's an average hotel, which, with a bit more updating, could be well above average.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
842 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing