We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

De Havelet Hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever been to. We were given a warm welcome from the minute we set foot in the hotel until the moment we left. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The Wellington Boot restaurant was excellent - the staff and the food are all to be commended. Under the direction of the young maitre d', the staff worked as a team, providing superior service, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious, with plenty of choice - both at breakfast and the evening. We had 3 breakfasts and 3 evening meals and all were of the same high standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    131
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
97
467
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limousin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Probably the best hotel in the UK we have stayed at. The staff were wonderful - nothing too much trouble and always smiling. The food in the Wellington Boot Restaurant was very high quality. Our only complaint was that the portions were so big. The waiting staff were so professional - we felt pampered. The hotel is up a steep hill so its difficult if you have health issues, but parking was easy there if not so easy in the town. Wonderful view of a walled garden from our room - very tranquil. Also the views from the grounds and the restaurant were of Castle Cornet and the harbour - very nice lit up at night. We were so impressed we decided it was our only choice for Guernsey and we would always consider Best Western Hotels for anywhere else. The standards are high at reasonable prices. Also a great swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here for five nights over Christmas. Everything from the initial welcome to the final farewell made us appreciate the friendly and helpful staff. Our room in the main building, a good size with a spotless and well-equipped bathroom. Meals are taken in the Wellington Boot restaurant which is across the courtyard in a newer building with great views over the bay and castle. Food was excellent and the chef made himself known to guests, as did the management staff. There is an indoor pool. You can walk to the centre of St Peter Port in 15-20 minutes (it's uphill coming back, but nothing too terrible in terms of gradient). We will certainly return here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My daughter and I had a lovely five days at this hotel. It is up a steep hill about ten minutes' walk from the sea front in St Peter Port. It has beautiful views over the port and lovely gardens. We enjoyed the food - the chef caters well for vegetarians. Nice fish. Good vegetables. Lovely breakfasts. Staff in the restaurant are amazing - speedy, cheerful, and everything you could want. We enjoyed the small swimming pool using it before breakfast and again in the evening when we came back from excursions. Comfy lounge with amazing 1960s radiogram! Nice flowers round the hotel (except in the hall, where for some curious reason, they had decided to have artificial arrangements). Our bedroom had a lovely view too although there was a slight lapse of taste with the nasty picture - a print of a dog (quite unnecessary!).

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Delightfully located in quiet position 10 minutes walk from centre of St Peter Port up steepish hill lined with attractive old buildings. View from the restaurant of the splendid Castle Cornet and the island of Herm (you can check your watch at breakfast by the ferry). Bus station at bottom of hill with excellent services throughout island (with such good and reasonably priced services there seemed little point in hiring a car or taxi. The No. 7 bus every half hour takes you to the airport forecourt in 15 minutes.) The hotel courtesy mini bus makes timed runs around the town and if you are nice to the driver you can be dropped off where you like! Having stayed in stereotype hotels throughout the world, the Hotel de Havelet has character and is a breath of slightly old fashioned fresh air. It suited us with our two young children admirably. The place is very clean, rooms well equipped and the staff very helpful and friendly - they smile! My wife and I were on half board and at dinner the children, who didn't want to stay up late, could eat a simple supper, very reasonably priced, and then go safely to their room. The food in the restaurant was excellent. There is also a bar which provides a good 'pub' lunch. There is a super swimming pool, with jacuzzi and sauna, leading onto a secluded terrace and spacious garden. The hotel’s three night autumn package worked out very reasonably cost-wise. Do visit Herm - frequent ferry and lovely walks, beaches and views. Castle Cornet is well worth a visit with a great deal to see and history to learn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoomOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The hotel was at the top of a very steep hill overlooking the harbour, so the views were lovely. It was spotlessly clean and had a beautiful indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room. There were two restaurants attached which were reached by an underground tunnel. The food in both restaurants was superb and the service was excellent. The bar had a friendly feel to it and all the staff were great. The decor of the rooms was a little dated but it had tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. The hair dryer was not very powerful so I would recommend you take your own. Overall we had a fabulous time and would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-t09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Me and my partner have just spent a couple of days at this hotel. We enjoyed are time here very much. Convenient location for town (although up a big hill!), friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The pool is very good as well, and we enjoyed having afternoon tea in the drawing room!

It's a bit tired in places, although it didn't affect our enjoyment at all. It also has very green carpets in places.

Overall, very good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing