We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Staff”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Staff”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Had a wonderful weekend break at La Fregate. The staff are so polite and friendly it made the weekend even more special. Breakfast wonderful with fantastic views and our 'bay room' was spacious with large balcony. Recommend evening meal, what a treat. Thank you La Fregate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    67
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
125
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in La Fregate recently and had a really relaxing break in this lovely hotel. We had one of the new wing rooms which was spacious, clean, warm and quiet. The bathroom was spotless and warm with fluffy towels (no face cloths). The location is high above St Peter's Port with lovely sea views. You can easlily walk to the main areas through the grounds but if you are a bit wary of steps there is a flat path too. The staff are polite and helpful if you need directions. The food is good and the breakfast plentiful and freshly cooked to order. The shops sell a good variety of products to suit all tastes and as well as some chain stores there are many independents. Guernsey is a pretty island, less commercialised than Jersey, with lots of attractions but is you have not been before many do not open until April and close on Sundays. If you like walking there are some excellent scenic routes with beautiful scenery.A car is recommended to see the island and drivers are very good at giving way there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminigirlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlands Castle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for many years now and have always had a good experience here; in fact it is so good that I booked it for my wedding reception. I have stayed at several other hotels in Guernsey over the years and this one is head and shoulders above the rest. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and the restaurant, run by Neil and his team, is the best I have eaten in - the quality of the food really is superb.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IloveGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed one night for business - rooms spotless and a decent size. Liked the fact that there was bottled water in the room. Awesome power shower in the bathroom - was a little surprised that the shower was over the bath given the size of the room - plenty of space for it to be separate but forgave it for the great shower.

Amazing view - although the blind does need looking at - there was a bit of a gap between panels - no issue for me in winter but could be a problem in summer.

Best bit - the magazine selection in the room included a copy of Evo magazine - at last a hotel that accomodates us blokes with a magazine that's not poncy lifestyle or shopping based.

Food was excellent as was the service in the restaurant .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank island__exile50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I am fortunate enough to visit Guernsey regularly and always stay at La Fregate. The accommodation is second to none and the staff could not be more helpful.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are an absolute pleasure to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveSmith247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A thoroughly enjoyable short business trip. Rooms are large, comfortable and spacious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. My room had a lovely view over the rooftops to the sea and harbour.
Room 304 is very nicely located at the end of a corridor and is very peaceful.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.
It was a business trip and we used the conference rooms. One had no windows and the other is in a conservatory. At the risk of seeking perfection, one had not enough natural light and the other too many.
Conference catering was also good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I just spent one night in this beautiful hotel. From arrival to departure we were in awe of this picture perfect place.
The hotel is placed on the hills overlooking the capital and the port , the view is almost perfect. Our room was amazing with everything required for a very relaxing stay including a seperate lounge with tv tea and coffee and view.

The only down side is the very narrow road to the hotel , we had to turn the mirrors inwards or they would have been destroyed. If my friend had not taken us to the hotel we would have had difficulty finding it.

Overrall I would reccomend this hotel for business or a holiday and will use it on any future visits.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a map or you will not find it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evoNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
619 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing