We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Adeje, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have just returned from a business trip to Guernsey where I had a wonderful stay at La Fregate Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent position with just a short stroll down the hill in to the centre of St. Peter Port avoiding the necessity and expense of taxis. The spacious room had every facility one could need together with fantastic views over the town. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and is efficiently run by friendly and extremely competent staff. Having grown up in Guernsey I had previously visited the hotel going back 20 years to enjoy the fine dining it offered, followed by a refurbishment the fine dining is now complimented with a fine hotel and in my opinion offers some of the best accommodation and service that you will find in the Channel Islands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenandHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    63
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
119
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay of three nights at this hotel. Clean and spacious room, with a good view; excellent food and good service. The drawback is that it is difficult to access by car ( very narrow approach which is not clearly signposted) or by foot up many steep steps.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

As good a room as I can remember having, spacious, with a balcony and that gorgeous view. The Frégate was a real treat, and our 4-day stay was over too soon. We were concerned about accessibility, and certainly with cases a taxi will be necessary, either from the port or the airport, but we found the steps down to and from the port surprisingly easy (and we are far from young!). How anyone can fault breakfast is beyond me. Courteous, friendly staff who were happy to cater for all needs. OK, here is my slight gripe - why, on the breakfast table, only brown sugar? Surely most who prefer tea would like white sugar or, perhaps, sweeteners?
A fridge or mini-bar in the room would have been nice, but, really, these are minor matters, and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to all and sundry!

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed two nights in "The Suite" in the new wing. This spacious accommodation has a balcony and floor to ceiling windows in both rooms with the most stunning views to the marina,harbour Herm and Sark. Even watching rough sea , rain and clouds is atmospheric and the weather changes so quickly. Breakfast offers a choice of good fruit juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt,porridge, croissants ,toast and full cooked breakfasts - if you are used to a buffet just order what you would usually select.
We dined in the restaurant for dinner - the menu was interesting and our starters of fresh crab and a sushi platter of scallop and bass with a fantastic lime dressing were excellent as were our mains of delicious tender pigeon beautifully presented. We plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on the recommendation of a relative who lives in St Peters Port. The room was fantastic, very clean and spacious with good views of port and islands. Good coffee making facilities. The one letdown was the inconsistency at breakfast. We are used to continental buffet type breakfast so were disappointed with having to pick what we wanted from the menu. On each morning something that we ordered was missed and after getting a funny look from the waitress on the first morning for asking for more toast, we didn't like to keep complaining! On the final morning there was mould on two pieces of toast, on pointing it out to the waitress she said sorry and took those two pieces away! If I had been the waitress I would have taken away the full basket of toast and replaced with new! She did come back a few minutes later to see if more toast was required but we declined! We were planning on booking a table for dinner with our relatives but after the fiasco with breakfast we didn't want to risk poor service from the restaurant as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in room 5 for a night before heading off to Herm for a 2 night stay and on our return we stayed in room 201. Both rooms were immaculate and breakfast on both mornings was delicious, with a vast choice. On our first nights stay we ate in the restaurant, the food was fantastic but did not cater for children. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a great view from room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday to be taken to our room in the newer part of the hotel.
The room was spacious and clean and well decorated
As we arrived late due to our flight being delayed by Several hours we dined in the restaurant where the service and food was excellent with a good choice of sea food as you would expect
Next morning breakfast was in the same class.
All the staff were polite and pleasant and our room was cleaned with fresh towels daily.
Just a little awkward to find if driving your own car but the locals were glad to point is in the right direction
Short walk from hotel to the harbour and the ferries to Sark and Herm which are not to be missed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing