We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this wonderful hotel, dining in both nights. The restaurant is superb with a wide choice of set or a la carte dishes prepared and presented to a very high standard - so delicious.
The hotel is well positioned, nestled above St.Peter Port with amazing views of the other Channel Islands, which can be enjoyed from both the bedrooms and the dining area.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, always on hand without being intrusive. We were made extremely welcome.
This is a special hotel without feeling stuffy, we will be returning but with our family next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToshGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for La Fregate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family and I were only there for breakfast on a short trip to the island. We were greeted my the most accommodating staff. Breakfast was really good, and the service superb. Our daughter asked for the fully cooked breakfast, so they brought her one just like mine, just each part was smaller - beautiful.

The views over St Peter Port are great, but the fact that you can see (most of) the other Channel Islands from the restaurant is spectacular.

We will be returning, next time for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Business lunch as a guest in a party of four. Arrived to be told we had not booked, we had. The surly Eastern European waiter huffed and puffed and clicked furiously on the computer and I asked, 'should we go elsewhere?'.
Waiter: No, you like drink or go to table?
Me: Go to table please
Waiter: You are following me
Me: OK
The table of course wasn't ready as we 'hadn't booked' so we were made to stand and wait next to the tables of other diners in the restaurant whilst the waiter prepared the table. It was very awkward for both my party and the other diners. After what seemed like some minutes we sat at the table.

We did not order wine and were content with our drinks. During the meal empty drinks glasses were removed with no enquiry as to whether we wanted another. We had to ask.
The food was average, nothing more, but the service was surly, abrupt and delivered without an ounce of warmth. We have many good restaurants in Guernsey with Eastern European staff and they are by and large well trained, friendly and a pleasure to be served by. Not in this restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank SolsticeSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Not only does La Fregate have a modern fresh interior, fabulous views, excellent food, top class waiters and a wonderful chef, it is also affordable. A lot of people think it will be too expensive to eat here, but if you choose the set menu it's no more than anywhere else and you know you'll get a good meal every time. We regulrly meet friends for lunch or supper, and take the family for Sunday lunch when they are on the island. You will need to book for Sunday lunch and Fri/Sat evenings as these are very popular times with the island residents.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. Similar to other reviews, it was tricky finding the hotel as we arrived in the dark by hire car from the airport..
Very nice welcome at reception and initially impressed. The room was a good size, modern and perhaps more biased towards the business traveller in decor/furnishings. Small balcony which had great views over the port to Herm and Sark.
I would mention that after the nice reception at check-in, any subsequent passing of reception desk was quite the opposite. No greeting and no eye contact. We tried saying good morning and hello a few times in passing but gave up as there was never any response. The only time we got a friendly greeting was from an older gentleman on our last day who I assumed was either the manager or the owner.
Apart from the bad manners at reception, there was nothing else particularly wrong, it just didn't tick all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view. the higher the better as the lower levels can have part of their...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CannyScotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at La Fregate. Fine hotel with smiley, helpful staff. Food wonderful. We had a seaview room with balcony which was excellent, very clean and modern. Hotel very central for ferries to Sark and Herm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coco255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

During a recent business trip I was fortunate to stay here with colleagues, where we took over the whole hotel. It is simply lovely with an elegant timeless style and welcome which immediately makes one feel at home and relaxed.

My room was very comfortable with simple but thoughtful furnishings, a nice sofa to relax on and a terrace with a fantastic view over St Peter Port, Herm and the harbour. Spotless with lots of storage, digital radio (hurrah!) and iPod dock, original watercolours, dressing gown, tea tray with biccies, newspaper when you want it - all touches which made the room a place you wanted to be.

Common areas are also pleasant with comfy seating and a good blend of privacy and conviviality. In the bar lobby are some rather special woodcuts from Frans Masereel's book 'Passionate Journey' - I wonder if they know they've got them.

We dined on one evening and had lunch on two days - with good coffee in the inevitable 'break-outs'. Everything was exceptionally well-prepared and presented with many of us enviously inspecting others' plates and plenty of food being exchanged to enjoy. Good weather meant we were able to drift in and out from the terrace to eat buffet lunches which was really relaxed and enjoyable.

Simon and his staff are warm, professional and hospitable - a rare combination in hoteliers nowadays. La Fregate is very, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: It seems all the rooms have harbour and sea views with a terrace - how fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
872 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
658 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £143 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing