We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting, great food, great sleep, terrible internet - not good enough for 2014 business traveller”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very good food and charming service, the breakfast was particularly noteworthy, best full English I've had in years. Beautiful room, very comfortable bed, nice touches like biscuits and a rubber duck - only problem the complimentary internet rarely stayed connected for more than a few minutes - spent half the night sitting by reception trying to communicate with my colleagues. If they invest in better wifi I'd definitely go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank AdmosfearMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for one night 14th Feb. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. It was a lovely break and very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and breakfast delivered to the room was very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent hotel and restaurant, situated in a great spot overlooking St Peter Port. We dined and stayed there to celebrate a family milestone(!), and we were very well looked after indeed. Great rooms (large and comfortable), excellent food and drink, and warm, friendly service from start to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have to say from my first contact ( struggling to find the hotel !! ) to my last the service, friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff has been exceptional . Simon ,had talked me in to their car park , and my first glimpse of that stunning view over St Peter Port. A very warm welcome, and checking in was very simple, and then that view from the room over the port and the local islands is just stunning. My room , was very spacious, superbly comfortable with memory foam mattress beds and luxurious bedding. The bathrooms have Rituals toiletries , very fluffy towels, and just very , very comfortable. Breakfast is freshly cooked and devine , really could not fault anything at all , and I need to find another excuse to come back!

Room Tip: I believe they all have the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

As the attentive staff welcomed us, we immediately knew that we were going to have an enjoyable stay at La Frégate. The breathtaking view of the other Channel Islands from our room just enhanced the luxury surroundings we felt so comfortable in. The restaurant was as good as any in the Channel Islands and we felt totally at ease with our friends as we studied the carefully thought-out menu and wine list. Everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed what they had ordered and the service was superb. We thoroughly recommend the Hotel to all future guests.

Ian & Caroline, Jersey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this wonderful hotel, dining in both nights. The restaurant is superb with a wide choice of set or a la carte dishes prepared and presented to a very high standard - so delicious.
The hotel is well positioned, nestled above St.Peter Port with amazing views of the other Channel Islands, which can be enjoyed from both the bedrooms and the dining area.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, always on hand without being intrusive. We were made extremely welcome.
This is a special hotel without feeling stuffy, we will be returning but with our family next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToshGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family and I were only there for breakfast on a short trip to the island. We were greeted my the most accommodating staff. Breakfast was really good, and the service superb. Our daughter asked for the fully cooked breakfast, so they brought her one just like mine, just each part was smaller - beautiful.

The views over St Peter Port are great, but the fact that you can see (most of) the other Channel Islands from the restaurant is spectacular.

We will be returning, next time for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £130 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing