We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Adeje, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been visiting this hotel for nearly 30 years having grown up in Guernsey. It has always been top tier from a culinary perspective and I am pleased that it has evolved in terms of provision of accommodation to a top shelf 4 star hotel in the center of St. Peter Port. Room was spacious with every possible amenity and spectacular view over St. Peter Port Harbour. Staff and Management are top rate being both competent and friendly and clearly willing to stretch the extra mile to ensure your stay is as pleasurable as possible. It is easy to see why my friends and business associates in Guernsey rate this as the number one hotel in Guernsey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrenandHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    71
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
133
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with great views. Reception was quaint located up one set of stairs and almost between floors but the service was quick and very good. Rooms were excellent quality one of the best I have stayed in when I have been in Guernsey. Very flexible as well I needed a late check out and they gave me until 1.30pm even though they were fully booked that night and needed to service the room. Getting taxis was done very quickly as was bill payment so can thoroughly recommend this hotel, it benefits from being a very short walk from the centre of activities which gives you options on evenings out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just come back from a Easter break the room for a single person was lovely clean and bright very spacious for a single room you didn't feel like you have been shuffled in the broom cupboard liked some hotel l have visited and the view was to die for and the staff were very friendly even the hotel manager was very welcoming the only problem was 70% of the time there was no one to great you when you came down to breakfast it seemed like the staff just stayed in the kitchen and could be very slow to take your order for breakfast but the food was lovely when you got it mind you the best part when l returned to my room on Easter Sunday they had left a Easter egg in my room l thought that was a lovely touch and homely

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBrouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Very good food and charming service, the breakfast was particularly noteworthy, best full English I've had in years. Beautiful room, very comfortable bed, nice touches like biscuits and a rubber duck - only problem the complimentary internet rarely stayed connected for more than a few minutes - spent half the night sitting by reception trying to communicate with my colleagues. If they invest in better wifi I'd definitely go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdmosfearMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for one night 14th Feb. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. It was a lovely break and very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and breakfast delivered to the room was very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent hotel and restaurant, situated in a great spot overlooking St Peter Port. We dined and stayed there to celebrate a family milestone(!), and we were very well looked after indeed. Great rooms (large and comfortable), excellent food and drink, and warm, friendly service from start to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have to say from my first contact ( struggling to find the hotel !! ) to my last the service, friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff has been exceptional . Simon ,had talked me in to their car park , and my first glimpse of that stunning view over St Peter Port. A very warm welcome, and checking in was very simple, and then that view from the room over the port and the local islands is just stunning. My room , was very spacious, superbly comfortable with memory foam mattress beds and luxurious bedding. The bathrooms have Rituals toiletries , very fluffy towels, and just very , very comfortable. Breakfast is freshly cooked and devine , really could not fault anything at all , and I need to find another excuse to come back!

Room Tip: I believe they all have the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing