We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very classy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A very classy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Guernsey, and our choice of the La Fregate could not have been better. Our room with balcony over looking the harbour was very comfortable. The dining room was delightful, again with views to the sea and the nearby islands, and served a high quality dinner. Breakfast was also just what was needed and surprisingly these days was all waiter service, no buffet.

The hotel is situated very close to the centre of St Peter Port, a short walk downhill, to the other attractions.

A very good hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    63
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
117
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been going to Guernsey-and to the Fregate- for umpteen years, and watched changes to the reception, the Dining room, and the building of the 'new wing'. I'm pleased to say nothing has (really) changed.....the service is excellent, the food was as good as ever (although what has happened to Guernsey gache, no longer on the breakfast menu) and we slept wonderfully, woken by the sun shining in our window. It is difficult to find, even maps don't help, but worth it!
Four marvellous days.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4519Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first visit to Guernsey and it was enhanced by our stay at la Fregate. It is a well situated hotel for walking into town. It is fresh and light with very good food, breakfast and dinner. The staff are all very welcoming and pleasant. Any problems were dealt with efficiently. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The internet was a little inconsistent and the actual approach to the hotel by car is a little difficult but then a lot of the roads on the island are challenging !!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the marina with a balcony is very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

La Fregate is an excellent hotel - the décor is fantastic, the views are superb and the staff are professional an wonderful!

The breakfast is superb with a perfect setting!

Thank you for this opportunity to stay with you!

PS Finding the hotel can be a challenge.

Chris

Room Tip: A sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_B312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was a bit more expensive than I would normally stay in but utterly lovely - my friend and I had a huge twin view with amazing views over the bay of St Peter Port - my only sadness that I did not have a balcony as well (lots of rooms do) as it was beautiful weather. Really comfortabel beds. The breakfast was lovely - all fresh food delivered straight to your table and as much as you wanted to eat. Beautiful garden path down to the town. Fantastic location. If I can afford it I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueborwicknicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin,Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wonderful hotel,very friendly and top quality.Fantastic view over the harbour from our lovely balcony.Staff very attentive.Loved the breakfast and the fresh fruit salad.
Only downside was the wifi was rubbish,that should be addressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamphray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel. The view from our room was great, overlooking St Peter port. The room was very clean and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was really good although a little expensive, but it was worth it. The hotel is about five minutes walk to the port, although beware there are steps. We had nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. Our room didnt have one and it would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing