We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very smart hotel”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very smart hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I didn't choose La Fregate, it chose me; due to the short notice of my trip there was nowhere else available in central St Peter Port. At £205 per night it was really more than I wanted to pay, but I was in no way disappointed. The location is fabulous with views over the town and bay, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was included and was of very high quality.
My only negative comment is that due to the pelmets the windows in the room would not stay open unless wedged with something, which made the room rather hot and stuffy.
Overall I was very happy and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    65
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
121
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. The staff are unobtrusive but totally efficient. The restaurant is excellent. Our room had a balcony with views over St Peter Port. Comfortable bed and very clean room. Nothing seems too much trouble. Definitely would stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Guernsey, and our choice of the La Fregate could not have been better. Our room with balcony over looking the harbour was very comfortable. The dining room was delightful, again with views to the sea and the nearby islands, and served a high quality dinner. Breakfast was also just what was needed and surprisingly these days was all waiter service, no buffet.

The hotel is situated very close to the centre of St Peter Port, a short walk downhill, to the other attractions.

A very good hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been going to Guernsey-and to the Fregate- for umpteen years, and watched changes to the reception, the Dining room, and the building of the 'new wing'. I'm pleased to say nothing has (really) changed.....the service is excellent, the food was as good as ever (although what has happened to Guernsey gache, no longer on the breakfast menu) and we slept wonderfully, woken by the sun shining in our window. It is difficult to find, even maps don't help, but worth it!
Four marvellous days.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4519Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first visit to Guernsey and it was enhanced by our stay at la Fregate. It is a well situated hotel for walking into town. It is fresh and light with very good food, breakfast and dinner. The staff are all very welcoming and pleasant. Any problems were dealt with efficiently. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The internet was a little inconsistent and the actual approach to the hotel by car is a little difficult but then a lot of the roads on the island are challenging !!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the marina with a balcony is very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

La Fregate is an excellent hotel - the décor is fantastic, the views are superb and the staff are professional an wonderful!

The breakfast is superb with a perfect setting!

Thank you for this opportunity to stay with you!

PS Finding the hotel can be a challenge.

Chris

Room Tip: A sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_B312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was a bit more expensive than I would normally stay in but utterly lovely - my friend and I had a huge twin view with amazing views over the bay of St Peter Port - my only sadness that I did not have a balcony as well (lots of rooms do) as it was beautiful weather. Really comfortabel beds. The breakfast was lovely - all fresh food delivered straight to your table and as much as you wanted to eat. Beautiful garden path down to the town. Fantastic location. If I can afford it I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueborwicknicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing