We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in April this year. I was allocated a single room overlooking Peter Port. My view also included the port with all the boats and Castle Cornet. My room was quiet even though the restaurant was one level down and held functions most nights I was there. The breakfasts were cooked to order and delicious. The staff were very courteous and friendly.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDAASouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    68
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
127
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Just completed an 8 day stay here. This was unusual as most people came and went every couple of days; that's if you saw people as it was so relaxed and quiet I have stayed in Guernsey many times and know the island and its hotels very well. This was my first time here and I was blown away. The room with balconies with its views blew my mind away. It was a sheer pleasure to return to the hotel every day.
The breakfast room was gorgeous and classy with the great absence of phe dreaded buffet
Loved having a sundowner on the terrace every night watching the boats and other Islands
Had dinner their one night; excellent.
There was one blip in breakfast service one morning but after my comments was rectified immediately and sublimeness was resumed.
This place definitely deserves full marks; helpful improvements, where I think the hotel was slightly below the overall level it has created, would be fridges in the rooms with fresh milk and a coffee maker in room
Definitely would stay there again if not move in!
I started to feel like the Major in Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Attended a birthday party here and it was brilliant. We had a private room for the 17 of us with beautiful views over the harbour. The service was first class and the food delicious and beautifully presented. We stayed overnight and the breakfast was lovely even smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with no surcharge. Very comfortable rooms with a balcony and sea views. It's the second time we've stayed here and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They're all good with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmley Castle, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

An excellent location near the harbour in St Peter Port. All the rooms have harbour view. They are modern, spacious, have very comfortable beds and good bathrooms with rain showers. The staff, especially reception are excellent and very helpful. The rooms are not the quietest with noise from the corridors and heavy doors banging. Choose a room on the higher floor to get the best harbour view. The access all around the hotel is via steep steps or pathways, so not so good for the immobile.
We only had breakfast at the hotel which was good. There is a big choice of great restaurants close by. We ate the The Hook twice which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtom333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last few year both as a couple and with our young daughter even a as baby. The hotel has fabulous sea view from all of its spacious rooms that have luxury clean and unfussy décor.
The restaurant food is the best I've had on Guernsey or for that matter anywhere and it I always full of local clients. There are also wonderful view from the restaurant and terrace.
I cannot fault the staff and service in any way - even in a hotel not especially geared to families they could not be more helpful. On one occasion the Maitre D even entertained our wide awake 9 month old so we could eat our meal when it arrived.
Location is close to town and financial services whilst being tucked away and off the main roads. The only issue could be for those with impaired mobility given the stairs and steeply terraced gardens. It may also not be so easy to locate by car and access is narrow if you are unfamiliar.

Room Tip: All double room are fabulous with wonderful views. All (I believe) have balconies. Deluxe room are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

In an ideal location overlooking the harbour at St. Peter's Port, the deluxe bedrooms have spectacular views of the harbour and Herm. The hotel was spotless and the food was excellent and consistent all week. A few minutes walk and you are in the Town and close to catching the ferries to Herm and Sark.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was first class. The location overlooking the harbour and a short walk from the town must put it in one of the best locations in St Peter Port. We had a de luxe room in the new wing with a balcony looking out to Herm. It was large, well serviced and extremely clean and comfortable.
The dining room overlooking the harbour was light and welcoming and the food superb all fresh produce and beautifully served. The small bar area and terrace were just right for an aperitif.
All the above would have made a great stay but it was elevated by the exceptional staff. They were all polite, charming and nothing was too much trouble.
My top tip is that as then hotel is difficult to find by car would be to phone the hotel who will mail you directions. If we hadn't of picked up on other comments then we may still be driving around looking for it!!

Room Tip: A room in the new wing with balcony on top two floors. The lower floor not such good views as lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Property: La Fregate Hotel
Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing