We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay looking forward to returning next week”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My colleague & I have chosen this hotel as our hotel of choice when we are on business in Guernsey. The facilities for the business traveller are excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a small, well run and well appointed hotel with high personal service, then you could not do better than choose this hotel.

The breakfast is fabulous!

Looking forward to arriving back on Monday afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyWHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2009

We've just returned from a two night stay at la Fregate hotel. We were lucky enough to win a two night stay in the suite with a meal and champagne thrown in, in a charity auction by the owner - look out for special deals on their website.

The views over the bay and castle cornet from our suite were stunning, helped by the addition of the tripod mounted telescope, supplied by the hotel.

The breakfast and evening meals, together with the service in the restaurant were top notch and well worthy of the awards they have won.

The hotel is in a nice location and is a 5 minute walk into town.

We are planning to return to Guernsey in the future. We will return to La Fregate and may even consider paying full price to stay here next time!!

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Dalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I travel to Guernsey a lot on business and La Fregate was suggested by someone who had eaten in the restaurant. After looking at the website I was looking forward to my stay. After checking in I went to my room and was totally shocked at what I found. It was like a broom cupboard that was converted into a bedroom. Analgypta Wall paper. Marks on the ceiling where spotlights had been removed and not filled in correctly. A chip in the bath the size of a 10p piece and the room was tiny (see picture).

Wireless Internet didn't work and was provided by units on the floor of the corridors just plugged in and left there!

I was due to go straight out so didn't have time to say anything but e-mailed them after my visit. Still waiting for a response....

If you book, make sure you avoid room 106!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed in room 110 which was fantastic. The view was wonderful and all the finishing touches like tea tray were wonderful. The service was excellent efficient and friendly that made you feel cossetted in a relaxed informal way. The brteakfast was delicious as was all the food and much better value and quality than places in town. the web site underplays the hotel!

Like another guest the only gripe i would have was the quality of the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnh282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Sadly we were only in Guernsey for one night, but we sure made the right choice to stay in a Deluxe Room at La Fregate Hotel! A large, comfortable, room with a fantastic, HUGE, balcony overlooking St Peter Port and the harbour.

The staff have been friendly and generally superb, allowing for a very relaxed stay to be possible and ensuring that little things such as allowing us to take our brekkie on our balcony were possible without charge.

We literally did not leave our room for 24 hours, as we wanted to make the most of a "feet-up" weekend. The hotel restaurant is superb and well priced, helping us not have need to step foot outside ;)

If I had to nitpick, I'd say that for a deluxe room the TV was a touch on the small side (19inch screen in such a big room?!) and that the bathroom was lacking a proper shower (a bath/shower combo).

We are definitely coming back here in the summer and will be recommending to all our friends and family. The La Fregate is a real gem! if you come here make sure to get a Deluxe Room with balcony (Room 110 is recommended!),

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

I chose this hotel as I had heard great things about it, its location was great but we were very disappointed by the room. The room we were allocated was not what you would expect from this hotel, it was very run down. The bathroom was awful, the shower cubicle tiny with barely enough room to turn around. The décor needs updating. Would only recommend this hotel if you can guarantee your stay is in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1059Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Friendly and exellent staff. fantastic hotel with the best views and best restaurant in the island. rooms very comfortable with a modern interior design. Without the best hotel in Guernsey

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuernseyScruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £129 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing