We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile visit!!”
Review of Guernsey Aquarium

Guernsey Aquarium
Attraction details
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very friendly & Helpful staff that have a Great Knowledge of the wonderful display of sealife that are on view here!!
The surroundings add a Great deal to the exhibits & the star of the show was for me the tiny seahorse which was rescued from the road in the parish of Vale!
For under a fiver I thought it was well worth a visit!
Will Visit again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    53
    63
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just visited this aquarium for the first time and wanted to balance some of the reviews. My son loves sea life so we have visited quite a few aquariums around UK and overseas. We thought this one was good; atmospheric in the dripping, low light of the tunnel complex, with some charming examples of local marine life. Raymond the seahorse and the squat lobsters were our favourites! My son (9yrs) was also delighted with the Pacu, who was interacting at the glass and seemed to be copying facial expressions!
Some of the reptile enclosures looked a bit stark, and the tortoise did look stressed and bent on escape, but overall the place was clean and no dead exhibits. We were charged £15 for a family of 4.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sad”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Damp, dank and dingy. I felt depressed for the animals in captivity, no room to move nor stimulation. The tortoise was particularly upsetting, pacing back and forth on a bit of dirty carpet. Very little information on display about the creatures within, dirty tanks and poor lighting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SherrieTrifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guernsey Aquaruim”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Went with a family for a day out and must say its a nice fish shop not an Aquarium...there are nice species to look at, friendly staff but we felt that the place was over rated and it cost us £20 for 30 min the place it's self not that big either.its. It much nicer to walk around the coast. Be better for kids and lots of boats around to entertain children if they like marine.

If an entrance fee was free I would bring my child back again to look at the same fish but won't pay for it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SexyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Aquarium - but not too exciting!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sorry - but if you want to go to an aquarium - you expect more than this!!Been there several times and unfortunately, never saw any improvement in either the exhibits nor the actual place - it really needs some money spent on the place in order to upgrade it and provide - the very few interesting exhibits - with a more appropriate tank to be stored in!!
Not really worth the entrance fee!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guernsey Aquarium also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Guernsey Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing