We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting For Both The Content And The Structure It’s Housed In”

La Vallette Underground Military Museum
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Interesting For Both The Content And The Structure It’s Housed In”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This museum is within easy walking distance of central St Peter Port, the castle, and is near the aquarium.

It’s housed in a series if tunnels constructed during the German occupation of the Channel Islands in World War 2. One of the tunnels was unfinished, and its interesting to see the conditions that the labourers were forced to work in to construct them.

There is a small display of a few wartime vehicles, predominantly a German truck and some motorcycles, but the bulk of the displays concern the German occupation and the lives of the islanders during that time. There is a great deal of material packed into this museum and, depending on your level of interest in WW2, could easily take an hour to see. There are many displays dedicated to German and Allied weaponry, uniforms and equipment, mock up displays of things like a machine gun and radio post, and original decrees / documentation from the occupation.

There are also some displays dedicated to World War 1 and earlier, but the strength of the museum is the fascinating insight it provides into the lives of the occupiers and islanders during this time, with material from predominantly Jersey and Guernsey, but also some items from the other islands. One thing that I thought could have been represented in more detail would be the labour camps that existed at the time.

A very interesting museum. The island also has an excellent German Occupation museum which is not far from the airport, and is also well worth a visit for those interested in WW2.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    160
    70
    23
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a little war emporium”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we a family of 6, 4 adults and 2 children visited the museum,it is only small but is packed with occupation history. you can buy trinkets ,medals, old postcards from germans with a hitler stamp on them, all genuine. lots of medals and coins and notes for sale stamps and a host of other memorabilia all at very reasonable prices which cuts down the cost of going in because there are bargains to be had. if you just want to look at what the museum has that is also worth the visit, we all enjoyed the visit and opposite there is a bathing lido with a cafe attached, with very good views. also close by is an old battery station with 4 cannons and good views from up high so to get there you have to climb 60 steps,2 of us are over 60 and we managed.its a nice short stroll from the port and we all enjoyed it and recommend all 3 places mentioned.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HARTLEPUDLIAN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“World War II”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This little gem literally hides underground. In a short period of time, you get the feel of what it was like to have been occupied territory in WW II. Worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This underground museum is home to a fabulous collection and well worth a visit. When we arrived and had paid, a group of children turned up, so we asked if we could pop back later. This wasn't a problem at all, and so we wondered off to look at the Victorian Bathing pools and popped back when the school party had left. We were able to wander around at our leisure. There aren't any facilities here, no cafe or toilets, but there is a cafe along the road if desperate for either.

A good little museum, really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was interesting,but a bit confusing going round the museum, although you had a map it seemed to go back on it's self.There was no one to serve you in the cafe, and the stairs were steep to go to the upstairs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vallette Underground Military Museum also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to La Vallette Underground Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing