We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best-of place for beef, wine and cocktails”

Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #12 of 131 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best-of place for beef, wine and cocktails”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

One has to go far on that planet to find a restaurant like the Red in SPP. The food, especially the beef fillet and the burgers are excellent and the meat of an outstanding quality. Dave's knowledge about wine is amazing so you always get the perfect bottle on your table. All the staff is very friendly and attentive and make sure that you have a good time. The cocktails served in the cocktail bar are great, you can get almost every drink you can imagine and if your imagination has come to an end then the bar staff around Alex will come up with another tasty suggestion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vayacongroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    53
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herm, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best there is.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Got stuck in the UK due to snow storm so was relieved to finally get home. As ever had a wonderful meal at Red. Wine knowledge of owner simply amazing and always gets it just right with my steak, recommending exactly what goes with my meal and more importantly my mood.
Service great. New manager brings air of confidence to the floor and knowledge of menu was great, as well, waitress seemed more attentive than ever before. Cannot speak highly enough of Red. For me, there is nowhere else to eat on the Island. Big Red has got it right all round, AGAIN.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el dorado hills
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Got better.”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Probably Guernsey's best steak house. This place has come along way since its opening. A very pleasant place to dine with 2, a party or even with the children. They do great mac and cheese!! Awesome wine list be it a little OTT.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guernseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The only place for steak and the best wine-list in Guernsey”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We never fail to be impressed by Red - particularly when eating in a group. It may not be the cheapest place to eat in Guernsey (although one can still have a mouth watering steak for £10 at lunch-time or be selective in their choices for dinner) - but it is in a class of its own for its steak and wines. When sharing as a group - we always get a mixed platter - served on black slate and providing a tasting of 6 different dishes. For the main, we share different cuts of steaks from the middle of table and a selection of sides (the truffle mac cheese is like nothing else you've ever tasted!). For desert - it has to be the stick toffee pudding and salted caramel ice-cream - or the cheese platter - and combined with a sticky wine, you will be rolling happily all the way home!

As for the wine list - it is simply the best in Guernsey. The knowlege of 'Big Red' is outstanding and he can recommend any wine to suit your taste, budget and mood. We are about to check out the Monday night 25% off special this evening so hopefully will get to sample one of the more expensive bottles of red on the menu as a special treat!

All in all - Red is great for corporate entertaining of an evening, small group functions or even a romantic meal for two (like tonight!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We went to this restaurant for a family birthday and were thoroughly disappointed. We went for the family style large sharing platters, on the promise we would get a variety of cuts to try, and ended up with plain sirloin and ribeye. The sides were also very average, the fries were greasy and not very pleasant at all. The bill was confusing and certainly looked like we were billed for more steaks than we actually had, despite the managers protestations that he had actually undercharged us. It came in at £45 per head (not artificially inflated by alcohol as only 3 out of 8 were drinking). In summary, we'll not be going back. Oh, I should mention the spinach, Parmesan and hazelnut salad, which was actually really nice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloFlorenceFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing